New Flandria celeriac season gets underway

Cooler weather calls for hearty vegetables. Some people argue that Flandria celeriac is old-fashioned, but no, it's actually surprisingly trendy, and healthy into the bargain! Dispel the old cliché and surprise your customers with careful presentation and some culinary tips. October is a great month for promotional campaigns.

Increasing supplies
The new Flandria celeriac has been available since early September as part of the smooth transition from old to new products. The supply hits its peak between October and March. In weeks 40 to 42, the trade can already expect 150,000 heads per week, and the supplies increase as October advances, reaching 150,000 to 200,000 heads/week in weeks 43-44.
The bulb cannot withstand the frost, so it is harvested before the first frost and chilled immediately. Optimum storage means that demand from the market can be satisfied virtually all year round, with the Flandria guarantee.

Market demand varies, and so does the response
REO Auction meets specific demands from the buyers:
• Fresh market: block sales on the clock, with green leaves, homogeneous quality.
• Supermarkets/fourth range: product without leaves, large volumes grown to contract.
• LAVA intermediation: large volumes at weekly prices.
• One to one: producer and big customer.
• E-intermediation.

Buying Flandria = buying with confidence
REO Auction, the major player for the marketing of Flandria celeriac, has set the bar high in terms of quality and presentation, and this is bearing fruit. What the inspectors rate as perfect Flandria quality means that buyers have the guarantee of knowing in advance how the product they are buying will look:
• firm, heavy bulb; feels dry to the touch
• regular shape, well developed
• fresh leaves indicate the freshness (at the beginning of the season)
• fresh cut close to the bulb
• regular white flesh
• free of damage and germination
• graded by bulb diameter

Differentiation in packaging
The underpinning factor is the producers' willingness to differentiate and specialise:
• standard 6 and 7, ... heads, loose, without leaves, in EH crate.
• limited volume of smaller size, 6 heads in ET crate.
• smaller sizes in 10 kg sacks of 6, 8, 10 heads or 10-12 heads per sack.
• smaller size available on demand, in wooden crate of 6 heads (8 head grading).
• smaller volumes in big bags.
• for the domestic market, on demand in collapsible crates.
• export: big bags, nets (10 kg), crates, etc.
• other packaging types on demand.

Fresh on the shelf
The Flandria quality label is the guarantee of product reputation and homogeneous presentation.
The refrigeration chain is essential in preserving top quality and a guarantee of optimum keeping properties.

This also applies to the shopkeeper:
• The best way to store Flandria celeriac on the shelf is at 2-5 °C and RH of 90 to 95%.
• Temperature fluctuations will inevitably lead to a loss of quality. Try to handle the vegetable as little as possible.
• Mist the leaves and bulbs regularly.
• Tip for clients: when kept in a cool place, this vegetable will keep fresh for a good week; once the celeriac has been cut into, cover it and it will keep in the fridge for several days.

A trendy accompaniment for game
Celeriac has a hearty, rounded, aromatic flavour. It is delicious boiled or steamed in vegetable dishes, soups and stews. Cream of celeriac soup with finely chopped herbs and celeriac gratin to accompany game are gastronomic treats. It also goes wonderfully well as a garnish with fish.
Tell your customers how trendy cooking with celeriac is. As well as being boiled, fried or stir-fried, it can also be served raw, to add a fresh taste in salads or in a sandwich. Surprise your customers with some tasty samples; celeriac batons with a dipping sauce. Give them some culinary tips. For an original twist, why not suggest coarsely grated fried celeriac as a hearty canapé.
The health aspect is also not to be sniffed at! As well as being low in calories (28 kcal per 100 g), this vegetable is a great standby in cooler weather thanks to its high levels of vitamin C and minerals (iron and calcium). A flavoursome vegetable like celeriac is crammed with valuable fibre and oligo-elements such as chromium and selenium.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

C'est parti pour une nouvelle saison du céleri-rave Flandria

Une saison plus fraîche demande des légumes plus réconfortants. Le céleri-rave Flandria, un légume vieux jeu ? Que du contraire, il est très tendance et très sain ! Dépassez le cliché et surprenez vos clients en proposant une présentation soignée et des conseils culinaires. Octobre est le mois idéal pour mener des actions promotionnelles.

Un approvisionnement en progression
Grâce à la transition parfaite entre l'ancien et le nouveau produit, depuis début septembre, le nouveau céleri-rave Flandria a pris le chemin des criées. Le gros de l'approvisionnement arrive toutefois entre octobre et mars. Durant les semaines 40 à 42, le commerce peut d'ores et déjà compter sur un volume de 150 000 pièces par semaine. L'approvisionnement progressera encore dans le courant du mois d'octobre, avec 150 000 à 200 000 pièces par semaine pendant les semaines 43 et 44.
Les céleris-raves qui ne résistent pas au gel sont récoltés avant les premières gelées pour être directement réfrigérés. Une conservation optimale permet de répondre toute l'année à la demande du marché pour des céleris-raves labellisés Flandria pendant toute l'année.

À l'instar de la demande du marché, l'offre s'est diversifiée
Veiling REO répond aux besoins spécifiques des acheteurs :
• Le marché du frais : vente en bloc au cadran, avec feuilles vertes, qualité homogène.
• Supermarchés / quatrième gamme : des produits sans feuilles, grands volumes, culture sous contrat.
• Vente négociée par LAVA : grands volumes à des prix hebdomadaires.
• Un à un : producteurs et grands acheteurs.
• E-négociation.

Acheter Flandria, c'est acheter en toute confiance
Veiling REO, le premier acteur de la commercialisation du céleri-rave Flandria, place la barre haut en matière de qualité et de présentation. Et cette stratégie porte ses fruits. Les produits que les inspecteurs qualifient de qualité Flandria irréprochable sont une garantie pour les acheteurs. Ils connaissent à l'avance le produit :
• il est ferme, lourd et sec ;
• une forme régulière et bien développée ;
• des feuilles fraîches sont signe de fraîcheur (au début de la saison) ;
• une coupe récente à raz du bulbe ;
• une chair blanche régulière ;
• pas de dommages et de coups ;
• un calibrage en fonction du diamètre.

La différenciation par l'emballage
Au départ, il y a la volonté des producteurs de se différencier et de se spécialiser :
• standard 6, 7,... pièces en vrac sans feuilles en boîtes EH ;
• un volume limité de plus petits calibres 6 pièces en boîte ET ;
• plus petits calibres en filets de 10 kg contenant 6, 8, 10 ou 10-12 pièces par filet ;
• à la demande, plus petit format en caisses de bois, par 6 pièces (calibre 8 pièces) ;
• volumes plus importants en bigbags ;
• pour le marché national, à la demande en boîtes à couvercle ;
• exportation : bigbags, filets (10 kg), caisses, etc.
• autres emballages à la demande.

Frais dans le rayon
Le label de qualité Flandria garantit un produit parfait et une présentation homogène.
La chaîne du froid est indispensable pour conserver la qualité supérieure. C'est aussi une garantie de conservation optimale.

Il en va de même pour les commerçants.
• conservez le céleri Flandria de préférence entre 2 et 5 °C, avec une humidité relative de 90 à 95 %.
• Les fluctuations de température provoquent inévitablement une dégradation de la qualité. Limitez autant que possible les manipulations.
• Vaporisez régulièrement de l'eau sur les feuilles et les céleris.
• Conseils à l'intention des clients : placé dans un endroit frais, le céleri-rave se conserve parfaitement pendant une semaine. Une fois coupé et emballé, il se conserve quelques jours au frigo.

Tendance avec le gibier
Le céleri-rave a un goût aromatique relevé et épicé. Cuit à l'eau ou à la vapeur, le céleri-rave est délicieux dans un plat de légumes, dans les soupes et les pot-au-feu. Une crème de céleri-rave aux herbes aromatiques et un gratin de céleri-rave pour accompagner du gibier apporteront une touche gastronomique à tous les repas ! Le céleri-rave fera aussi une garniture parfaite pour accompagner le poisson.
Persuadez vos clients que la cuisine avec le céleri-rave est tendance. Le céleri-rave se déguste cuit à l'eau, à la vapeur ou mijoté, mais aussi cru pour agrémenter une délicieuse salade ou en garniture sur le pain. Étonnez-les en leur proposant des dégustations relevées : des bâtonnets de céleri-rave accompagnés d'une sauce dip. Proposez des suggestions culinaires à vos clients. Les amateurs d'originalité apprécieront le céleri-rave grossièrement râpé puis frit servi, en zakouski relevé.
Sans compter que le céleri-rave offre des avantages non négligeables pour la santé ! Pauvre en calories (28 kcals pour 100 g), grâce à sa forte teneur en vitamine C et en minéraux (fer et calcium), ce légume est un précieux allié pendant les périodes froides. Un légume relevé comme le céleri-rave déborde de fibres et d'oligo-éléments utiles comme le chrome et le sélénium. 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact