Now's the time for a special focus on Flandria cabbages

The advent of autumn also marks the start of the new cabbage season! The trade can look forward to the arrival of firm closed cabbages which keep well. Why not display a nice spread of cabbages to convince buyers of the premium quality offered by Flandria and run some promotional deals.

Flexible in market demand
Supplies to the LAVA auctions got gradually underway last month. In the months ahead, we can expect ample supplies of red cabbage, white cabbage, Savoy and Chinese leaves.
Among the LAVA auctions, REO and BelOrta are the leaders when it comes to marketing closed cabbages. The need to remain innovative is a constant challenge. Together with their growers' cooperatives, they respond flexibly to the wishes of both retail and consumers.
“The demographic trend towards a larger number of small families and single people has really boosted demand for smaller cabbages in recent years”, confirms Jurgen De Braekeleer, sales manager for cabbages at REO Auction. “Flandria cabbage growers are outstanding not just in terms of quality, but also in terms of flexibility. The volume of small cabbages for the fresh market is increasing year on year. As well as meeting demand from the market, this also leads to higher production per hectare, sustainable cultivation and sustainable product storage.”

Flandria cabbages deliver premium quality
The Flemish cabbage producers aim for a product of absolutely top quality that meets the demands of the Flandria specifications, guaranteeing top quality and freshness. To qualify for the Flandria label, cabbages must look perfect and meet the following criteria:
• a handsome colour and fresh leaves
• uniform shape and size
• firm, closed structure
• bracts removed
• no frost damage or bruising
• good keeping properties

Homogenous grading
To qualify for Flandria, the grower must abide by strict grading rules.
Products are graded by size:
• Red and white cabbage: 4-5-6-7-8 units/crate
• Savoy cabbage: 4-5-6 units/crate
• Flandria+: 7.5 kg/crate
• Sweetheart cabbage: 6-8-10-12 units/crate
The same Flandria standards apply in the case of small sizes: only grades of 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 units are permitted. “Having a uniform product per crate is essential for Flandria. Our growers understand that quality is the only way for them to continue to distinguish themselves,” says De Braekeleer.

The clock and daily intermediation
The standard grade on the clock is 6 uniform cabbages in an EPS-H, with Flandria crate card. This enables perfect traceability back to the origins.
The commercial departments offer alternative packs and weights, such as net bags ('bigbags') of 6 cabbages (10 kg), wooden boxes, etc. Other quantities can be supplied by agreement with the trade. Small sizes weigh from 1 to 1.5 kg and are supplied in ET, which saves space on the shelf, offering the shopkeeper a further plus point.
As well as the clock, the daily intermediation option is also available. Deliveries are made to both the industry and the wholesalers. All grades are possible: e.g. 8-10 units (25 kg), 5-6 units (15 kg) and 6-8 units (20 kg).
The LAVA auctions are happy to offer the trade more packaging service by agreement.

A cool display and proper storage
It is a challenge to keep finding original ways to display the range of Flandria cabbages in the greengrocery department. This is how you create a cool image for these super-healthy vegetables. Mix a handsome, fresh array of colours with other Flandria winter vegetables such as turnips, parsnips and so on, to conjure up thoughts of hearty winter stews using these vegetables.
Flandria vegetables store best at 0 to 1 °C, RH of 90-95% and as well-ventilated as possible. Make sure to keep them well away from products which give off ethylene, such as tomatoes, apples, bananas or citrus fruits, and advise your customers to keep them cool at home (-10 °C).

In the top 10 healthy vegetables
Cabbages invariably feature in any list of the top 10 healthy vegetables. They contain high levels of fibre, minerals and vitamins A, B and C. These healthy properties are good reasons to put cabbage on the winter menu. With all the current hype about healthy cooking, there are so many reasons to start rustling up some dishes with this cool vegetable. Give your customers some recipe ideas: first blanch and then stew the cabbage. For a healthy treat, lay on some salads in store featuring raw cabbage. Capitalise on this in store.

Win over your customers
“This vegetable is throwing off its old-fashioned image. Its popularity is also being given a boost by cookery programmes featuring seasonal home-grown cabbage”, reports REO Auction. Tap into this trend and win over your customers thanks to the quality, the wide choice and recipes using Flandria cabbages.
With the weather getting colder, it is certainly a good time for some promotional deals. The peak level of supply for closed cabbages is from mid-November to the end of February.

 

 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Le moment est venu de mettre les choux Flandria à l'honneur

Qui dit arrivée de l'automne dit lancement de la nouvelle saison des choux ! Les commerçants peuvent compter sur une production de choux ordinaires bien fermes, qui se conservent longtemps. Présentez une belle palette de choux pour convaincre vos clients grâce à la qualité supérieure Flandria et à des actions promotionnelles.

La flexibilité en fonction de la demande du marché
L'approvisionnement sur les criées LAVA a progressivement débuté le mois dernier. Pendant les prochains mois, les volumes de chou rouge, blanc, de Savoie et chinois seront importants.
Dans les criées LAVA, REO Veiling et Veiling BelOrta sont les précurseurs de la commercialisation des choux ordinaires. Être novateur est un défi permanent. Avec leurs coopérants producteurs, les criées réagissent avec flexibilité aux souhaits des détaillants et des consommateurs.
" Nous assistons à une tendance sociale à l'augmentation des petites familles, et les célibataires ont fortement fait progresser la demande de petits choux ", confirme Jurgen De Braekeleer, sales-manager choux REO Veiling. " Les producteurs de choux se démarquent non seulement par la qualité de leurs produits, mais aussi par leur flexibilité. Le volume de petits choux destinés au marché du frais progresse d'année en année. En plus de répondre à la demande du marché, cette tendance offre l'avantage d'une production plus importante à l'hectare, d'une culture durable et d'une conservation durable du produit. "

Des choux Flandria de qualité supérieure
Les producteurs flamands de choux misent sur un produit de qualité irréprochable, qui répond aux exigences strictes du cahier des charges Flandria. Ce dernier garantit une qualité supérieure et la fraîcheur. Seuls les choux à l'apparence parfaite peuvent porter le label Flandria :
• une belle couleur et des feuilles fraîches ;
• une forme et un diamètre réguliers ;
• une structure ferme et bien dense ;
• sans leurs feuilles extérieures ;
• pas de dommages et de coups ;
• une durée de conservation étendue.

Calibrage homogène
Pour Flandria, le producteur doit respecter des règles de calibrage strictes.
Le tri se fait en fonction de la taille :
• choux rouges et blancs : 4-5-6-7-8 pièces / caisse.
• chou de Savoie : 4-5-6 pièces / caisse.
• Flandria+ : 7,5 kg / caisse.
• chou pointu : 6-8-10-12 pièces par caisse
Les mêmes normes Flandria sont applicables aux petits calibres Flandria : seuls les calibres de 4, 5, 6, 7 et 8 pièces sont autorisés. " Un produit uniforme par caisse est un must pour Flandria. Nos producteurs sont parfaitement conscients que seule la qualité leur permet de se distinguer ", précise De Braekeleer.

Au cadran et à la négociation
Le calibrage standard au cadran est de 6 choux uniformes dans un EPS-H, avec une fiche Flandria. Cette pratique permet un traçage jusqu'à l'origine du produit.
Les départements commerciaux proposent des emballages et des poids alternatifs comme les filets (bigbags) de 6 choux (10 kg), des caisses en bois, etc. D'autres quantités sont possibles de commun accord avec le commerce. Les plus petits calibres pèsent de 1 à 1,5 kg et ils sont livrés en ET, ce qui permet de gagner de la place dans les rayons, avantage supplémentaire pour le commerçant.
Outre le cadran, il existe aussi le système de négociation au jour le jour. Les produits sont livrés tant à l'industrie qu'aux grossistes. Tous les calibres sont possibles : p. ex. 8-10 pièces (25 kg), 5-6 pièces (15 kg) et 6-8 pièces (20 kg).
Les criées LAVA sont disposées à offrir d'autres services d'emballage au commerce à la demande.

Une apparence " cool " et une conservation adéquate
Présenter la palette des choux Flandria de manière originale dans les rayons des légumes est un défi. Vous créerez ainsi une image " cool " pour ces légumes particulièrement sains. Associez une belle palette de couleurs bien fraîche avec d'autres légumes d'hiver Flandria, par exemple des navets, des panais, etc. Vous suggérez ainsi à vos clients de délicieux plats mijotés réalisés à base de ces légumes.
Conservez les choux Flandria de préférence à 0 à 1 °C, dans une humidité relative de 90 à 95 % et dans un endroit aussi aéré que possible. Ne les placez en aucun cas à proximité de produits qui génèrent de l'éthylène (tomates, pommes, bananes, agrumes, etc.). Conseillez à vos clients de conserver les légumes dans un espace frais (- 10 °C).

Le top 10 des légumes sains
Les choux se classent toujours en tête dans le top 10 des légumes sains. Les choux contiennent des concentrations élevées en fibres, en minéraux et vitamines A, B et C. Les aspects positifs pour la santé sont une excellente raison pour mettre les choux à l'honneur dans leurs plats hivernaux. Dans la lignée de la mode actuelle de la cuisine saine, les raisons d'utiliser ces choux dans la cuisine ne manquent pas. Donnez des conseils de cuisson : d'abord faire blanchir les choux avant de les faire cuire à l'étouffée. Une dégustation en magasin de chou cru en salade offre une véritable bombe de santé.

Incitez vos clients à franchir le pas
" Ce légume est en train de se défaire de son image de vieux légume. Sa popularité croissante se remarque aussi aux programmes culinaires qui font la part belle au chou comme légume de saison et bien de chez nous ", explique-t-on chez REO Veiling. Surfez sur cette tendance et incitez vos clients à franchir le cap en présentant le vaste choix et les nombreuses recettes à base de chou Flandria.
Les actions promotionnelles conviennent parfaitement pendant les périodes plus froides. Le plus gros de la production de choux ordinaires a lieu de la mi-novembre à la fin février.

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact