Make the difference with Flandria chicory

In late October/early November, the chicory season really gets into its stride and interest in this typical home-grown vegetable begins to increase. Growers and auctions constantly monitor the superior Flandria quality. The fact that there is 'something for everyone' is an extra selling point.

Start of the season
Flandria chicory has been in the top 5 for years at REO Auction and BelOrta Auction, the biggest chicory auctions in the LAVA group. At the start of the season, there were somewhat fewer roots, and the transition from old to new roots for forcing was faster. However, this is no problem: the LAVA auctions can guarantee the trade constant production. At the start of the new chicory season, there is already plenty of new product available. The LAVA auctions expect weekly supplies of between 1 and 1.2 million kg/week in weeks 45-48.

An attractive end product
There are no concessions made by the LAVA auctions and growers when it comes to the image of Flandria. There is a broad consensus around bringing the high-quality product to market. Aspects such as a nicely closed top, symmetrically formed heads, a flawless cut surface and uniform grading are Flandria features which growers and farm workers have to be attentive to in getting a perfect product ready to sell. Sustainability in various forms plays an important role here, under the banner of Responsibly Fresh. The quality inspectors at the auctions look very closely at product freshness, presentation and the correct sizing. Satisfying the demands of buyers and consumers remains a constant endeavour.

A short path from producer to consumer
Loose standard Flandria chicory is sold on the clock in EPS-5 kg. The options of pre-sale and intermediation are also available.
Flandria chicory can be purchased in various grades: short and thin, short and thick, thick and very short, both loose and in (small) packs: so the customer has lots of choice. The LAVA auctions are also eager to find systems to enable them to respond to new demands from the market. Product can be supplied in the buyers' own packaging and in special sizes direct in the correct packaging in order to save additional handling further down the line. The path from producer to consumer remains short in order to guarantee the Flandria quality.

New market trends
BelOrta Auction is detecting a number of striking consumer trends. The finer chicory is buoyant, even within the classic sizes. Belgian consumers buy with their eyes, and prefer a neat, even head. The small head with a slightly milder flavour (less bite) encourages people to opt for chicory. There is also an increasing market for soil-grown chicory (known as 'grondwitloof'), which is regarded as a delicacy. The 'perception' aspect is part of the equation here. Consumers who opt for 'grondwitloof' are buying not just the vegetable but the whole production story around it. The Belgian share in the production of organic chicory is also attracting more attention from the retail side. It is available all year round, and according to BelOrta it offers further growth potential.
REO Auction, a leading chicory auction, also offers pre-cut mixed salads based on chicory: chicory with lamb's lettuce and chicory with radicchio. These typical Belgian winter salads are intended to respond to the growing demand from the market for pre-cut mixed salads.

What are the best storage methods?
The best way to retain Flandria quality in the greengrocery department is to abide by these few rules:

• During the day, Flandria chicory is best kept in a refrigerated counter, in the original packaging
• Overnight, keep it covered in a cool place at 4 to 5 °C
• Flandria chicory must never be placed near products which give off ethylene, such as tomatoes, apples and kiwis
• Put just a few heads out on display, and keep the rest covered in a blue cover sheet to prevent discoloration and keep the product looking attractive

Versatile and sustainable
Flandria quality helps you stand out as a shopkeeper. In store, set up a nice chicory corner and be sure to display all the many options. Help your customers find inspiration by means of some samples: a chicory soup, some vegetable skewers with chicory, a little chicory dessert. These appetizers will definitely be reflected in your sales figures. Advise your customers which type of chicory is best for the recipe they are using. In a nutshell: surprise them with how versatile Flandria chicory is. You can use the sustainability aspect (Responsibly Fresh) as an extra selling point.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Faites la différence avec l'endive Flandria

Fin octobre, début novembre, la saison de l'endive démarre réellement et l'intérêt du consommateur pour ce légume typique de notre terroir redouble. Les producteurs et les criées veillent en permanence à respecter la qualité supérieure qui caractérise Flandria. L'offre " pour tous les goûts " est un excellent outil de vente.

Lancement de la saison
Depuis de nombreuses années, l'endive Flandria est dans le top-5 des criées REO et BelOrta, les premières criées aux endives du groupe LAVA. Au début de la saison, les racines de chicorée sont moins nombreuses et le moment du passage des anciennes aux nouvelles pour le forçage est un peu plus rapide. Cela ne pose toutefois pas de problème : les criées LAVA peuvent assurer une production continue. Dès le début de la nouvelle saison des endives, les nouveaux produits sont disponibles en masse. Les criées LAVA s'attendent à bénéficier d'un approvisionnement hebdomadaire de 1 à 1,2 million de kg par semaine durant les semaines 45 à 48.

Un produit final de qualité
Les criées LAVA et les producteurs ne sont pas disposés à faire la moindre concession à l'image de Flandria. Il existe un consensus important en faveur de la commercialisation d'un produit de qualité supérieure. Les aspects tels qu'une pointe bien fermée, un légume symétrique, un point de section parfait, un calibrage identique, etc. sont autant de caractéristiques distinctives de la qualité Flandria auxquelles les producteurs et les collaborateurs de l'entreprise doivent être particulièrement attentifs s'ils veulent fournir un produit parfait aux criées LAVA. La durabilité sous plusieurs formes joue ici un rôle important, sous le label ResponsiblyFresh. Les contrôleurs qualité de la criée surveillent de très près la fraîcheur du produit, sa présentation et le respect des calibres. Intégrer les attentes des acheteurs et des consommateurs reste un objectif constant.

Un circuit court entre le producteur et le consommateur
L'endive Flandria standard en vrac est proposée au cadran en caisses EPS de 5 kg. Sans oublier le système de prévente et de négociation.
L'endive Flandria est disponible en divers calibres : courte fine, courte grosse, grosse et très courte, en vrac et en (petit) emballage : le client ne manque pas de choix. Les criées LAVA recherchent aussi des systèmes pour répondre aux nouvelles demandes du marché. Dans les emballages des acheteurs et en calibres spéciaux, ils sont directement fournis dans l'emballage adéquat afin d'éviter des manipulations supplémentaires. La ligne entre le producteur et le consommateur reste aussi courte que possible afin de garantir la qualité Flandria. 

Nouvelle tendance du marché
La criée BelOrta distingue quelques tendances marquantes de la consommation. L'endive plus fine a le vent en poupe, même dans les calibres traditionnels. Le consommateur belge achète avec les yeux et il se laisse séduire par un légume soigné et égal. Le petit légume au goût plus doux (trognon moins grand) encourage à choisir l'endive. Le marché de l'endive de pleine terre, considérée comme une délicatesse, est lui aussi en progression. L'aspect " expérience " joue ici un rôle. Les consommateurs qui optent pour l'endive de pleine terre, font le choix d'un légume, mais aussi de l'histoire de la production qui l'entoure. La part de la production belge d'endives bio jouit également d'une popularité accrue chez les détaillants. Elle est proposée toute l'année et offre encore un potentiel de croissance, dixit Veiling BelOrta.

En sa qualité de criée créatrice de tendance, REO Veiling propose également des salades mélangées pré-coupées à base d'endive : endive - mâche et endive - radicchio. Ces salades hivernales typiquement belges apportent une réponse à la demande croissante du marché pour des salades mixtes pré-coupées.

Comment les conserver dans les meilleures conditions ?
Pour conserver la qualité Flandria dans des conditions optimales dans le rayon des légumes, il est préférable de suivre quelques règles.

• il est préférable de conserver l'endive Flandria dans son emballage d'origine, dans le comptoir frigorifique ;
• la nuit, elle se conserve couverte, dans un espace frigorifique à 4 à 5 °C.
• Ne la placez donc jamais à côté de produits qui dégagent de l'éthylène, comme les tomates, les pommes et les kiwis.
• Ne présentez que quelques pièces et conservez le reste couvert par sa feuille bleue pour éviter la coloration et conserver un produit attrayant.

Polyvalent et durable
En votre qualité de commerçant, vous faites la différence grâce à la qualité Flandria. Proposez un coin soigné dédié à l'endive et présentez les nombreuses possibilités de choix. Aidez les clients à trouver l'inspiration en leur proposant des dégustations : une soupe à l'endive, des brochettes de légume aux endives ou pourquoi pas un dessert... Ces mises en bouches influenceront sans aucun doute vos ventes. Vous pouvez conseiller vos clients sur l'endive qui convient le mieux en fonction de la recette. Bref, n'hésitez pas à surprendre vos clients en leur présentant les multiples facettes de l'endive Flandria. N'hésitez pas à utiliser l'aspect de la culture durable comme atout de vente supplémentaire.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact