Autumn offers a dazzling array of seasonal vegetables

Consumers are more and more interested in sustainable vegetables that reflect the seasons! Supplies are plentiful and the autumn is the best time to (re)discover them. The range available is still expanding, and bringing new sales opportunities. The trade can rely on constant supplies up until February or March.

Sustainable superfoods
A new season also means some new faces in the range available. All sorts of forgotten vegetables are now in season: parsnips, parsley root, beetroot, turnips, salsify, Swiss chard and more. They offer super quality combined with glorious flavour. In the colder months, they offer a welcome change from the normal range of products on the shop floor. Customers themselves are looking for healthy products to build up their resistance, and there is more and more demand for superfoods.
“There is a growing trend towards seasonal, local and sustainably grown vegetables”, confirms Guy Jennes, who is in charge of outdoor vegetables at BelOrta.
“We are seeing a noticeable interest in tubers: winter radish, turnips, Jerusalem artichoke and so on. Products like these are seriously trendy. They are also attracting great interest from the foodie sector, meaning that the dedicated vegetable-eater also wants to cook at home with more exclusive vegetables that fit neatly into the trend for sustainable living.”

More volume and more flexibility
Growers are responding to this (niche) market, involving small outdoor crops which demand a great deal of expertise. An increase in the area planted, plus the increased attention from the growers themselves, have combined to deliver larger supplies. BelOrta is succeeding in consistently providing a constant volume on the clock; this guarantees the retail side fresh products every day and continuous availability.
Grading is by packaging type (loose or in bunches) and diameter. The standard arrangement is for these products to be packed in EPS-T in uniform length and thickness. Buyers also have the option of setting up contracts with the commercial service for a specific period, number of units per pack and non-standard type of packaging. Small packs can also be supplied on demand.

Trendy cabbages
“Lots of winter vegetables are enjoying a revival. The most diverse type of cabbages, such as kale, Chinese leaves, Savoy cabbage and kohlrabi are available at the moment. Demand for cabbage is extremely high right now,” according to BelOrta. “Kale is actually even a superfood. It is quite a sturdy winter vegetable. BelOrta is marketing this new vegetable in two colours: red and purple.”
Flandria kale has intact leaves of a fresh green colour, with no signs of frost damage or soil. The cabbage or loose leaves are tidily presented and show no signs of wilting. Grading is by unit weight and the fineness of the curl in the leaf.

Parsnips: The area is on the increase. For the retail side, this has become a real classic, an essential part of the autumn range, according to BelOrta. Grading is by diameter and weight.
The fleshy, aromatic, sweet roots can be used in soups, sauces, salads, casseroles and stews, or served just as a hot vegetable.

Winter radish: winter radish has a milder flavour and is firmer and larger than an ordinary radish. Grading is by type (black or white forms), quality and diameter.

Jerusalem artichoke: this tastes different to a potato. The Jerusalem artichoke has a soft, sweet, slightly nutty taste. It can be boiled, steamed or prepared as a gratin.

Three colours of beets: beets are packed loose or in bunches. Grading is by diameter (small, medium and coarse), colour and packaging type. BelOrta sells three colours, red (with dark red flesh), yellow (with yellow flesh) and 'Chioggia' (red flesh with attractive rings of lighter red).

Salsify: these days, salsify is available almost all year round, but it is at its tastiest from autumn onwards. Supplies peak in November and December.

Turnips: kohlrabi is available from October to March. Grading is by diameter (small, medium and coarse), colour and packaging type. Turnips are packed loose or in bunches. Available in three colours: white all over (white-fleshed white), white with a purple collar (white flesh) and swedes (yellow flesh).
Culinary tip for customers: can be used in salads, stewed, steamed or mashed. Kohlrabi is particularly tasty when combined with fresh herbs or curry.

Swiss chard: Swiss chard is related to sugar beet, beetroot and fodder beet, but much tastier. The young leaves taste a bit like spinach, so it can be used for all your spinach recipes. Swiss chard comes in three colours. Buyers can either order the individual colours separately or buy a mix.

Parsley root: the roots are served as a green vegetable or used in soups and stews. The leaves can be used in the same way as parsley leaf.

New: palm tree cabbage
This winter, palm tree cabbage (Cavolo Nero) is available in the BelOrta range. This is a vegetable with a firm bite and a stronger flavour than ordinary kale. The leaf structure is comparable to spinach, and it is ideal for stir-fries or as the basis for a hearty soup.

Flandria quality
Flandria tubers (winter radish, etc.) offer excellent quality, and are well shaped and well grown. They are firm, intact and free of tears, frost damage or internal woolliness.

A healthy remedy against the winter blues
All these seasonal vegetables are rich in fibre, calcium, potassium and iron, and a good source of vitamins: vitamins A and C boost the immune system, while vitamin B helps to convert carbohydrates into energy.

Great selling points
By providing information about nutritional values and advice on preparation, especially when it comes to seasonal vegetables, you can really make your store stand out from the crowd. The products themselves are so fantastic that they almost sell themselves, but friendly, expert service will certainly boost your sales figures.

 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Une fin synonyme d'une superbe gamme de légumes de saison

Le consommateur se tourne de plus en plus vers des légumes durables qui suivent les saisons ! L'offre est importante et l'automne est la meilleure période pour les (re)découvrir. L'assortiment s'étend encore et offre de nouvelles opportunités de vente. Le commerce peut compter sur un approvisionnement constant jusqu'en février - mars.

De " super aliments " durables
Une nouvelle saison est toujours synonyme de nouveautés dans la gamme. Les légumes oubliés sont tous disponibles en ce moment : panais, persil tubéreux, betterave rouge, navets, salsifis, bettes, etc. Une qualité optimale et des goûts exceptionnels. Pendant les mois plus froids, ils apportent une variété bienvenue à l'offre de produits hivernaux normaux. Le client recherche lui aussi des produits sains pour développer sa résistance naturelle. La demande de " super aliments " est plus importante.
" Nous connaissons une tendance croissante à la consommation de légumes de saison locaux et durables ", confirme Guy Jennes, responsable des légumes de pleine terre chez BelOrta.
" Nous constatons un intérêt marqué pour les tubercules : radis noir, navets, topinambour, etc. Ces produits sont très tendance La gastronomie leur accorde aussi une attention particulière. Et les consommateurs de légumes motivés aiment préparer des légumes plus exclusifs, qui s'inscrivent dans la tendance d'une vie durable. "

Des volumes plus importants et une flexibilité accrue
Les producteurs répondent à la demande de ce marché (de niche). Ces petits légumes de pleine terre nécessitent un grand professionnalisme. La croissance de la superficie de production et l'intérêt accru des producteurs génèrent une augmentation de la disponibilité. BelOrta réussit à proposer au cadran un volume important et constant, garantie pour les détaillants d'une production continue et fraîche du jour.
Le tri est effectué sur la base du mode d'emballage (en vrac ou en bottes) et du diamètre. Par défaut, ces produits sont emballés en EPS-T, ils présentent une longueur et une épaisseur uniformes. Les acheteurs ont aussi la possibilité de conclure avec le service commercial des contrats pour des périodes d'approvisionnement, un nombre de pièces et un emballage déterminés, différents de ce qui est proposé par défaut. De petits emballages peuvent aussi être livrés à la demande.

Des choux tendance
" De nombreux légumes d'hiver connaissent une nouvelle vie. Les variétés de choux les plus diverses comme le chou frisé, le chou chinois, le chou de Savoie et le chou-rave sont actuellement disponibles. La demande de choux est très importante en ce moment ", explique-t-on chez BelOrta. " Le chou frisé fait même partie des super aliments. C'est un légume d'hiver robuste. BelOrta investit dans ce nouveau légume en deux couleurs : rouge et violet. " 
Le chou frisé Flandria est vert tendre, ses feuilles sont parfaites, elles ne présentent ni dégât du gel, ni terre résiduelle. Le chou ou les feuilles détachées sont bien présentées, elles n'ont aucune flétrissure. Le tri se fait sur la base du poids à la pièce et de la finesse des frisotis de la feuille.

Un assortiment étendu
Panais : La superficie de production s'étend. C'est devenu un classique chez les détaillants. D'après BelOrta, ce légume est un must dans l'assortiment automnal. Le tri se fait sur la base du diamètre et du poids du légume.
Cette racine charnue, aromatique et douce peut être utilisée dans les soupes, les sauces, les salades, les potées et les pot-au-feu ou tout simplement comme légume chaud.

Le radis noir : le radis noir a un goût plus doux que le radis classique, il est plus ferme et plus grand. Le tri se fait sur la base du type (noir et blanc), de la qualité et du diamètre du produit.

Topinambour : son goût est différent de celui de la pomme de terre. Le topinambour a un goût doux et plus sucré, avec une note de noix. Il peut se cuire à l'étouffée ou être préparé en gratin.

Des betteraves en trois couleurs. Les betteraves sont emballées en vrac ou en bottes. Le tri se fait sur la base du diamètre (petit, moyen et gros), de la couleur et du mode d'emballage. BelOrta les commercialise en trois couleurs : betteraves rouges (chair rouge sombre), jaunes (chair jaune) et " Chioggia " (chair rouge avec de jolis cercles blancs).

Le salsifis : à l'heure actuelle, les salsifis sont pratiquement disponibles toute l'année, mais c'est à l'automne qu'ils sont les meilleurs. L'approvisionnement est particulièrement important en novembre et en décembre.

Les navets : Le chou-rave est disponible d'octobre à mars. Le tri se fait sur la base du diamètre (petit, moyen et gros), de la couleur et du mode d'emballage. Les navets sont conditionnés en vrac ou en bottes. Disponibles en trois couleurs : totalement blancs (chair blanche), blanc à col violet (chair blanche) et navets jaunes (chair jaune).
Conseils culinaires à l'intention de vos clients : peut être utilisé dans des salades, cuits à l'étuvée, à la vapeur ou en purée. Le chou-rave est tout particulièrement délicieux avec des herbes fraîches ou du curry.

Les bettes : les bettes sont une petite soeur de la betterave sucrière, de la betterave rouge et de la betterave fourragère, mais en meilleur. Les jeunes feuilles ont un goût légèrement similaire à celui des épinards et vous pouvez l'utiliser en remplacement des épinards dans tous les plats. Les bettes sont disponibles en trois couleurs. Les acheteurs peuvent commander un mix de couleurs ou chaque couleur séparément.

Persil tubéreux : les racines peuvent être servies en légume ou dans des soupes et des potées. La feuille s'utilise de la même façon que celle du persil commun.

Nouveauté : le chou Kale
Cet hiver, le chou Kale (Cavolo Nero ou encore chou d'aigrette) est disponible dans l'assortiment BelOrta. Ce légume plutôt ferme a un goût plus prononcé que le chou frisé ordinaire. La structure de ses feuilles est comparable à celle des épinards. Il se prête parfaitement à la cuisson sauté et comme base d'une soupe nourrissante.

La qualité Flandria
Les tubercules Flandria (radis noir, etc.) présentent une qualité parfaite, ils sont bien formés et développés. Leurs racines sont fermes, intactes et exemptes de toute déchirure, dégât du gel et de parties cotonneuses à l'intérieur.

Un remède sain contre la dépression hivernale
Tous ces légumes de saison sont riches en fibres, en calcium, en potassium et en fer. Ils sont aussi une source appréciable de vitamines : vitamines A et C qui renforcent les défenses immunitaires, vitamine B qui contribue à la conversion des hydrates de carbone en énergie.

De beaux atouts de vente
Des informations sur la valeur nutritive et des conseils de préparation sont autant d'atouts grâce auxquels vous pourrez faire la différence, surtout avec les légumes de saison. En plus de produits fantastiques, un service agréable et professionnel augmente les ventes.

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact