News Roundup

New website and Facebook page online
The brand-new website www.flandria.be goes online this month, with heaps of information about what Flandria is and what the label stands for. Videos show the growers themselves explaining why quality and sustainability are important to them. Visitors can get to know a wide range of vegetables, fruits and herbs under the Flandria banner. People looking for recipe ideas can click through to 'Lekker van bij Ons'. Flandria's Facebook page is also active again.

'Taste of Europe - premium quality, perfect taste' at Fresh Summit Expo
The most recent PMA Fresh Summit Convention was held this year from 23 to 25 October at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta (US). This trade event for potatoes, fruit and vegetables assembled as many as 1,000 exhibitors from almost 30 countries, presenting their products to the North American market. Many potato, fruit and vegetable farmers use the PMA Fresh Summit Show to launch their products. The show attracted almost 20,000 participants from 63 countries.
In keeping with tradition, Belgium was in attendance with a joint stand by VLAM with export businesses seeking opportunities on the American market. The stand was once again decked out in the familiar livery, under the slogan 'Taste of Europe - premium quality, perfect taste': visuals showing waiters carefully presenting premium Belgian products and a colourful collage of fruit and vegetables. The product presentations attracted a lot of attention. Exports to North America are again performing well, in particular in the case of greenhouse vegetables and chicory. The atmosphere at the fair was described by the Belgian delegation as very enjoyable.

The Fresh Family at Fruit Attraction
The first day of Fruit Attraction usually tends to be a little quieter, but on Wednesday 28 October there were already lots of potato, fruit and vegetable growers turning up to take a look. This international potato, fruit and vegetable show, which ran this year from 28 to 30 October in Madrid, had 1,000 exhibitors from 25 countries signing up, an increase of 20% over last year. As many as 17 Belgian stand-holders, on a VLAM group stand, were in search of new opportunities for Belgian potatoes, fruit and vegetables. The Belgian exporters were very positive about the visitors and the potential of the Spanish market. International interest is increasing sharply, with more than 40,000 professionals from 88 countries taking part in the event (+16%), and a 16% rise in the number of foreign visitors. The Belgian group stand was adorned with images of The Fresh Family and presentations of our Belgian products: strawberries, apples, pears, leeks, peppers, chicory, tomatoes, snack tomatoes, aubergines, courgettes, lettuce and so on. Flandria and Flandria Specialty Street really were nicely in the spotlight. “We are convinced that there is scope to bolster the ties between supply and demand in the fresh sector”, states VLAM.

Opportunities for sales to Canada are on the up and up
Thanks to a strong quality image, Belgian food has been faring better and better on distant markets such as Canada over recent years. The Belgian agro-food sector is being promoted under the slogan 'Food.be - Small country. Great Food'. In the wake of the Russian import ban, the Canadian market is once again offering potential for growth for Belgian food products. An agreement has been reached with the Canadian government. Fruit and vegetables serve as an example here, because at the moment, large quantities of chicory, peppers and leeks are being exported to Canada, and since last year, Belgian pears have also been admitted to the Canadian market. The free trade agreement is designed to ensure that ultimately, even more types of Belgian fruit and vegetables can be exported to Canada. The sector itself is conducting a lot of promotional work, with Flemish support, carried out by VLAM. (Source: VILT)

 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Nouvelles en bref

Le nouveau site Internet et la page Facebook sont en ligne
Le tout nouveau site Internet www.flandria.be est mis en ligne ce mois-ci. Il contient des quantités d'informations à propos de Flandria et de ce que représente le label. Dans des films vidéo, les producteurs expliquent eux-mêmes pourquoi la qualité et la durabilité sont importantes pour eux. Le visiteur découvre un vaste assortiment de légumes, de fruits et d'herbes aromatiques labellisés Flandria. Ceux qui recherchent des recettes trouveront un lien vers le site Bien de chez Nous. La page Facebook de Flandria est, elle aussi, de nouveau active.

" Taste of Europe - premium quality, perfect taste " au salon Fresh Summit Expo.
La dernière édition de PMA Fresh Summit Convention s'est déroulée cette année du 23 au 25 octobre au Georgia World Congress Center d'Atlanta (États-Unis). Plus de 1 000 exposants originaires de 30 pays ont saisi l'occasion de ce salon consacré aux pommes de terre, aux fruits et aux légumes pour présenter leurs produits au marché nord américain. Nombreuses sont les entreprises productrices de fruits, légumes et pommes de terre à saisir l'occasion de PMA Fresh Summit-Show pour lancer leurs produits. L'événement a rassemblé près de 20 000 participants en provenance de 63 pays.
Notre pays est traditionnellement présent avec un stand de groupe sous l'égide du VLAM et regroupant des entreprises exportatrices désireuses de trouver de nouvelles opportunités sur le marché américain. Le stand était une fois de plus décoré aux couleurs du slogan " Taste of Europe - premium quality, perfect taste " : un visuel sur lequel les produits belges de qualité supérieure sont soigneusement présentés ainsi qu'un collage coloré de fruits et légumes. Les présentations de produits ont largement attiré l'attention. Les exportations vers l'Amérique du Nord sont reparties sur de bonnes bases, principalement les légumes cultivés sous serre et les endives. La délégation belge a décrit l'ambiance du salon comme particulièrement agréable.

The Fresh Family au salon Fruit Attraction
La première journée du salon Fruit Attraction est traditionnellement plus calme. Pourtant, dès le mercredi 28 octobre, de nombreux producteurs de fruits et légumes sont déjà venus jeter un oeil. 1 000 exposants en provenance de 25 pays ont fait le déplacement jusqu'à Madrid pour assister à ce salon international des fruits et légumes, qui se déroulait cette année du 28 au 30 octobre inclus, soit une augmentation de 20 % par rapport à l'année précédente. Pas moins de 17 Belges ont tenu le stand de groupe de VLAM et sont venus à Madrid à la recherche de nouvelles opportunités pour les fruits, légumes et pommes de terre belges. Les exportateurs belges étaient ravis des visiteurs et du potentiel que présente le marché espagnol. L'intérêt international pour le salon progresse encore : plus de 40 000 professionnels issus de 88 pays ont participé à l'événement (+16 %). Le nombre de visiteurs étrangers a également progressé de 16 %. Le stand de groupe belge avait revêtu les couleurs et les images de The Fresh Family et présentait nos produits belges : fraises, pommes, poires, poireaux, poivrons, endives, tomates, tomates cerises, aubergines, courgettes, salades, etc. Les labels Flandria et Flandria Specialty Street ont été amplement mis à l'honneur. " Nous sommes persuadés qu'il est possible de renforcer le lien entre offre et demande dans le secteur du frais ", explique-t-on au VLAM.

Les possibilités d'exportation vers le Canada ont le vent en poupe
Grâce à une image de qualité forte, l'alimentation belge remporte depuis quelques années un succès croissant sur les marchés lointains tels que le Canada. Le secteur agroalimentaire belge est mis en avant sous le slogan " Food.be - Small country. Great Food ". Dans la foulée de l'embargo russe, le marché canadien offre de nouvelles possibilités de croissance aux produits alimentaires belges. Un accord a été conclu avec les autorités canadiennes. Les fruits et légumes sont un exemple en la matière. Nous exportons en effet déjà d'importants volumes d'endives, de poivrons et de poireaux vers le Canada et, depuis l'année dernière, les poires de chez nous sont autorisées sur le marché canadien. À terme, l'accord de libre-échange doit permettre l'exportation d'un plus grand nombre de variétés de fruits et légumes vers le Canada. Le secteur y fait une promotion intensive, avec le soutien de la Flandre et l'aide pratique du VLAM. (Source : VILT)

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact