Top months with Flandria courgettes

Flandria courgettes are a 'home-grown exotic' and a staple among the fruit and vegetables on offer. The LAVA auctions offer very flexible grading and packaging. Make your shop stand out from the crowd! Give your greengrocery section a Southern look, with specialties having their own spot in the sun. Ample production is guaranteed into the autumn.

Explosive growth
The area under Flandria courgettes has rocketed in recent years, with greenhouses in particular supplying good yields. The warm weather in early May has boosted production. The first peak is expected in weeks 22-23, reaching 1.2 to 1.5 million units/week. In June, the level increases again, hitting 2 to 2.5 million units/week by weeks 23 to 26. June and July are the top months. Early and late crops mean that fresh product is available continuously well into November.

Responsibly Fresh
Flandria courgettes also qualify for the Responsibly Fresh label, which stands for crops grown with respect for people and planet by socially responsible farmers. Cultivation is sustainable: less energy is consumed, thanks to the use of black sheeting to retain ground heat, bees and bumble bees are used for pollination, and water and fertiliser are used efficiently. Fruit and vegetables are grown and marketed quickly and locally.

Flandria quality guarantee
Product quality is very important to retailers and consumers alike, and Flandria guarantees this. Flandria courgettes are harvested by hand. Producers also take precautions to ensure that the courgettes do not come into contact with the soil, so that they retain an even green colour and a flawless skin.
Further quality requirements for Flandria include firmness, a natural curve and short, fresh stalk. Uniform grading is an extra plus-point. Courgettes are graded by the number of units per crate. The standard arrangement is on the clock, loose in EPS-T 10/12 units (min. 5 kg) or 14/16 units (min. 4.5 kg).

Pre-sale offers a choice
The LAVA auctions react professionally to changing demands from the market. The pre-sale system gives buyers plenty of choice: from grading of bigger courgettes to more units per pack. The growers can also supply Flandria courgettes in other types of packaging if buyers so request. The whole business runs in close collaboration between growers, commercial departments at the auctions and buyers.

Specialties
Flandria also markets some special courgette products to give retailers and shopkeepers a unique selling point. Yellow courgettes, a variation on the green kind, and round 'Courgette de Nice' are a sure-fire way to give your greengrocery section a real Southern twist.
Yellow courgettes are sold in lots of 10-16 units in EPS-T. The round 'Courgette de Nice' come in packs of 6-24 units/EPS-T with a cover sheet. 'Fleur de courgette' (the courgette flowers), which genuinely are a unique product in the trade, are packed individually in EPS-T (15 units) and boxes. This niche product is only available to order, by agreement with the auction's commercial department.

Tips for the shopkeeper
• Store Flandria courgettes in cool conditions at 10-15 °C and RH of 95-100%.
• Display in their original packaging.
• Avoid handling them too much, as this can damage them.
 
A multi-purpose vegetable
Green/yellow courgettes are very versatile: they are ideal in a stew with tomatoes, onion and aubergines, as an oven-baked dish, in soups or stir-fries, on the grill... there are so many ways to make them into delicious meals. 'Courgette de Nice' and 'Fleur de courgette' are brilliant for stuffing.
Courgettes are rich in vitamin A (60 µg) and vitamin C (16 mg), and also contain a good level of calcium (30 mg) and phosphorus (23 mg). At just 28 kcal/100 g they are also very kind to the waistline.
Giving shoppers some samples is a good idea. Tell them about how versatile courgettes are, and point them in the direction of www.flandria.be and www.lekkervanbijons.be for some recipe ideas and tips on how to serve courgettes.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Un mois de légume avec la courgette Flandria

La courgette Flandria, un légume exotique " bien de chez nous " est une valeur sûre de l'offre de légumes. Les criées LAVA offrent une grande flexibilité de calibrage et d'emballage. Sortez du lot en tant que commerçant ! Créez un rayon de légumes méridional, dans lequel les spécialités occupent une place de choix. Une vaste production est assurée jusqu'à l'automne.

Une croissance explosive
Depuis quelques années, la superficie de production de la courgette Flandria connaît une extension impressionnante. La culture sous serre surtout fournit des volumes importants. Le temps chaud du début du mois de mai a boosté la production. Un premier sommet est attendu pendant les semaines 22 à 23. L'approvisionnement atteint un sommet de 1,2 à 1,5 million de pièces par semaine. Le volume progresse encore rapidement en juin, avec un approvisionnement de 2 à 2,5 millions de kg par semaine durant les semaines 23 à 26. Juin et juillet sont les plus gros mois d'approvisionnement. Grâce à des cycles de culture précoce et tardive, les producteurs sont à même de fournir des produits frais sans interruption jusqu'à la mi-novembre.

Responsibly Fresh
Le label 'Responsibly Fresh' est également attribué aux courgettes Flandria. Il symbolise une culture respectueuse de l'homme et de l'environnement, mais aussi des principes de la responsabilité sociale de l'entreprise. La culture est durable : utilisation de films noirs pour conserver la chaleur du sol, d'abeilles et de bourdons pour la pollinisation et utilisation efficiente de l'eau et des fertilisants. La production et la commercialisation sont rapides et locales. 

La garantie de la qualité Flandria
Les commerçants et les consommateurs sont attentifs à la qualité des produits garantie par Flandria. Les courgettes Flandria sont récoltées à la main. Les producteurs prennent aussi les précautions nécessaires pour que les légumes-fruits n'entrent pas en contact avec le sol, garantie d'une couleur verte uniforme et d'une épluchure exempte de tout dommage.
Les autres exigences de qualité appliquées par Flandria sont la fermeté, une courbure naturelle et une tige courte et fraîche. Leur calibrage uniforme est un point positif supplémentaire. Le calibrage se fait en fonction du nombre de pièces par caisse. Par défaut au cadran, la livraison se fait en vrac, en EPS-T de 10/12 pièces. (min. 5 kg) ou 14/16 pces (min. 4,5 kg).

Choix en prévente
Les criées LAVA réagissent de façon professionnelle aux demandes variables du marché. Le système de prévente offre un vaste choix à l'acheteur : du calibrage de grandes courgettes au nombre plus élevé de pièces par emballage. À la demande des clients, les producteurs proposent aussi des courgettes Flandria dans d'autres emballages. Les choix sont faits en concertation étroite entre les producteurs, le département commercial de la criée et l'acheteur.

Specialties
Le label Flandria propose quelques courgettes spéciales grâce auxquelles les détaillants et les commerçants peuvent se distinguer. La courgette jaune, une variante de la courgette verte, et la courgette de Nice, ronde, sont les garantes d'une belle présentation dans le rayon des légumes méridionaux.
La courgette jaune est commercialisée en caisses eps-T de 10-16 pièces. La version ronde, la courgette de Nice, est proposée en 6-24 pièces/eps-T avec feuille protectrice. La fleur de courgette est véritablement un produit unique dans le commerce, elle est emballée individuellement en caisses eps-T (15 pièces) et en boîte. Ce produit de niche est exclusivement disponible à la demande et il est livré en concertation avec le service commercial de la criée.

Conseils à l'intention du commerçant
• Conservez les courgettes Flandria dans un espace réfrigéré entre 10-15 °C et dans une humidité relative de 95 à 100 %.
• Présentez le produit dans son emballage d'origine.
• Évitez les manipulations multiples et les dommages 

Un légume polyvalent
La courgette jaune / verte est un légume polyvalent : idéal dans des plats mijotés, avec des tomates, de l'oignon et des aubergines, gratinée au four, en soupe, au wok, au grill, etc. les possibilités ne manquent pas de préparer de délicieux plats. La courgette de Nice et les fleurs de courgettes sont aussi idéales farcies.
Les courgettes sont riches en vitamine A (60 µg) en vitamine C (16 mg) et elles apportent une bonne quantité de calcium (30 mg) et de phosphore (23 mg). Avec seulement 28 kcal/100 g, elles sont extrêmement diététiques.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact