Tomato Conference focuses on trends

The tomato sector has seen all kinds of changes over the past twenty years. What will it look like by 2020? What opportunities are there to improve production? What about marketing and sales? The international conference 'Tomatoes, trends towards 2020' has been looking for some answers.

Job done!
The three-day conference (13 to 15 April) set up at the initiative of the overarching cooperative LAVA attracted a lot of attention. “We received a very wide range of visitors. There was an extensive target group, the likes of the seed merchants, tomato producers, retailers, research institutions and auctions. With more than 200 attendees, we are justified in claiming a successful initiative”, says Ilse Ceulemans, head of marketing at LAVA. “We received positive feedback, with regard both to the programme offered and the opportunities for networking. Everyone was able to forge some useful contacts. The discussions between speakers from the private sector and the growers were definitely a huge success.”

Market-based research
Discussion forums with speakers from various European production regions explored quality, sustainability and innovation. The focus was split between scientific research and marketing and sales of tomatoes. The main principle for the scientific side was that research needs to continue to evolve in response to the wishes of the market. A sample of the range of subjects: fruit quality in tomatoes, developments in the 'EXE-kas', application of micro-algae in tomato cultivation. Presentations of innovative production systems were also given. The 'Proefcentrum Hoogstraten' addressed the challenge of the search for the optimum growing technique under lights.

Global production
On the commercial side, speakers from Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Scandinavia, Spain and Italy reported on current tomato production and consumption in the EU and globally. “Global tomato production is running at some 130 million tons”, explained Philippe Binard of Freshfel. “Europe ranks at number two, producing about 16 million tons, with Spain and Italy being the biggest producers. The Netherlands exports the most tomatoes (931,000 tons) and Germany imports the most (817,000 tons). European tomato exports have been under serious pressure since the Russian boycott.”

Differentiation
National and international retailers shared their views on the segmentation and differentiation in the shops. Bas Tramper from the buyers' organisation IPL reported that UK consumers prefer the 'ordinary' loose tomatoes, and show a limited interest in specialties. “Within the specialty segment, it's the cherry tomatoes that are doing well. We also don't want to make the range too big, so that consumers can make better choices.” Tramper expects the focus on round, tasty tomatoes to continue in the years ahead.

Most important vegetable in the trade in fruit, vegetables and potatoes
“Almost 8% of total sales of fruit, vegetables and potatoes at Metro Cash & Carry is tomatoes. Special tomatoes are becoming ever more important”, reported Ward Verberck of Metro Group. They apply a special approach to sales per country, per season and per client segment. “We look to see what each client wants, and we supply to order. We also think it is important to buy in products direct from the growers, to ensure maximum freshness.”

Differentiation needs
Metro has split the needs of the customer into three groups: basic needs, differentiation needs and premium needs. “When it comes to differentiation needs, we distinguish between authenticity, innovation and fun. Authenticity might be something like heritage tomatoes and traditional seasonality. Innovations include things like tomatoes which do not leak. In the 'fun' section, we come up with new products that taste good or perhaps have an unusual shape. In the future, the number of kinds of tomatoes in our range will go on increasing.”

Growth in specialties and organic
Arne van Aalst, general director of Prominent (Netherlands) expects to see farms getting even bigger in the future. “This will mean increased growth in specialties and also organic tomatoes are becoming more important. Growers will also make more use of sustainable energy sources.”

Constant innovation
Matthew Jones of Reynolds (UK) reports that for food-service customers, price is still king when it comes to tomatoes. “We are seeing, though, that flavour, quality and colour are becoming increasingly important”. Reynolds, along with growers, is also exploring new and special strains. “Customers expect to be able to choose by taste or by season, for example. The tomato sector has to keep innovating.”

SanLucar tomato concept
SanLucar has developed a concept of dividing the tomatoes into four different segments. “Many people don't know which tomato is best for which purpose. We have found that this needs to be clear immediately when the tomatoes are bought. The four categories are: pampering, snacking, cooking and salads. This is also how they are presented in the supermarkets.”

Paying for added value
According to Jan Schockaert, head of the fruit and vegetable department at Colruyt (B), tomatoes are an important vegetable within their total greengrocery range, in terms of both volume and turnover. The range of tomatoes has also expanded to an average of 13, and in peak season, this can even be as high as 18. The volume of smaller tomatoes has risen in recent years compared to larger tomatoes. “When it comes to developments, I am seeing more and more innovation in terms of flavour”, he reports. “Consumers are willing to pay for added value. In the future, I expect that there will be even more of a focus on health, sustainability and flavour. Priority will also be given to enjoyment.”

Thinking about the market
The past twenty years have seen the market evolve from a standard product towards comprehensive differentiation. Where will the focus be in the future? The idea of a single type of consumer has long been overtaken. The retail side wants to respond to different types of consumers with specific products that meet the needs of those various categories.
 “The retail side has a clear mission” according to Ilse Ceulemans of LAVA. “The consumer is a major link in the market chain, and producers must take account of the consumer's wishes. Quantities and products need to be tailored to what consumers want. The auctions and growers need to keep a constant finger on the pulse of the market. Growers need to know who they are growing for. Quality and flavour are essential criteria in the selection of new strains of tomatoes. But one concern is also that the range of tomatoes must not become too broad.”

Food needs to be fun
“Trend watcher Adjiedj Bakas has been really taken by surprise”, reports the head of marketing. “He maps clear social trends: individualism and perception. The baseline is 'Food needs to be fun'. 'Fun' means tasty, attractively shaped, a pretty colour, and so on. What it boils down to is that first and foremost, food needs to look pleasant and appealing. Adjiedj Bakas says that the big consumer story here is now about perception.”

When practice and research meet
On the last day of the conference, there were visits to auctions, farms and experimental centres, described by Ilse Ceulemans as “An excellent opportunity to see how practice and research fit together. There was considerable interest, and the visit to BelOrta auction and Hoogstraten Cooperative were a real success. A tour round the Experimental Centres was a useful addition with a view to future scientific developments.”

The June edition of Flandriamail Professional explored Belgian tomato production and the vision of Dirk Van Der Plas, president of Hoogstraten Cooperative and a tomato grower himself.

 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Tomato Conference met l'accent sur les tendances

Le secteur de la tomate a évolué de façon spectaculaire au cours des vingt dernières années. Que sera le secteur de la tomate en 2020 ? Quelles sont les possibilités d'améliorer la production ? Comment le marketing et les exportations se développeront-t-ils ? L'internationale Tomato Conference towards 2020 a tenté de répondre à ces questions.

Une belle réussite !
La conférence de trois jours (qui s'est tenue du 13 au 15 avril), organisée à l'initiative de l'organe coopératif coupole des criées LAVA, a suscité un grand intérêt.  " Nous avons accueilli un public extrêmement diversifié, issu d'un groupe-cible étendu, composé de producteurs de semences, de producteurs de tomates, de détaillants, de stations de recherche et de criées. Avec plus de 200 visiteurs, nous pouvons affirmer que l'initiative est une réussite ", explique Ilse Ceulemans, responsable marketing chez LAVA. " Nous avons eu des réactions positives, tant au sujet du programme proposé que des possibilités de réseautage. Toutes les parties ont pu établir des contacts intéressants. Nous pouvons dire que les discussions entre orateurs du secteur privé et producteurs ont remporté un franc succès. "

La recherche en fonction du marché
Des forums de discussion avec des orateurs issus des diverses régions de production d'Europe ont abordé les sujets de la qualité, de la durabilité et de l'innovation. Tant la recherche scientifique que le marketing et la commercialisation des tomates ont occupé une place centrale dans les discussions. La recherche doit continuer à évoluer en fonction des souhaits du marché, tel était le fil rouge du volet scientifique. Petit aperçu de l'éventail des sujets abordés : qualité des fruits des tomates, développement de la caisse EXE, de l'application des micro-algues dans la culture des tomates. Des innovations des systèmes de production ont également été présentées. Le Proefcentrum Hoogstraten a abordé le défi qui consiste à rechercher la technique de culture optimale dans la culture éclairée.

La production mondiale
Dans le volet commercial, des orateurs belges, français, néerlandais, scandinaves, espagnols et italiens ont donné des précisions sur la production et la consommation de tomates dans l'UE et dans le monde. " La production mondiale de tomates atteint largement les 130 millions de tonnes ", explique Philippe Binard de chez Freshfel. " L'Europe est le numéro deux de la production avec environ 16 millions de tonnes, l'Espagne et l'Italie en tête. Les Pays-Bas exportent la plus grande quantité de tomates (931 000 tonnes), tandis que l'Allemagne importe les plus gros volumes (817 000 tonnes). Depuis le boycott par la Russie, les exportations de tomates européennes connaissent des moments difficiles. "

Différenciation
Les détaillants nationaux et internationaux ont donné leur avis sur la segmentation et la différentiation dans les magasins. Bas Tramper de l'organisation d'achat IPL a expliqué que le consommateur des États-Unis préfère les tomates en vrac " ordinaires ", ils sont également très intéressés par les spécialités. " Dans le segment specialty, les tomates cherry sont les plus populaires. Nous ne voulons pas étendre exagérément l'assortiment, pour que le consommateur puisse faire de meilleurs choix. Dans les prochaines années, Tramper prévoit un accent accru sur les tomates rondes, goûteuses.

Un légume important dans le secteur des fruits et légumes
" Près de 8 % du chiffre d'affaires total engrangé par les fruits et légumes chez Metro Cash&Carry est généré par les tomates. Les tomates spéciales occupent une place de plus en plus importante ", explique Ward Verberck de Metro Group. Il a confié que dans le domaine de la vente, ils ont une approche spéciale par pays, par saison et par segment de client. " Nous recherchons ce que chaque client souhaite et nous livrons sur mesure. Nous estimons aussi qu'il est important d'acheter directement les produits aux producteurs, aussi frais que possible. "

Differentiation needs
Metro a scindé le " needs of the customer " en trois groupes. Les " basic needs ", les " differentiation " needs et les " premium " needs. " Pour les differentiation needs, nous distinguons l'authenticité et le fun. Pour l'authenticité, vous pouvez penser aux saisons et aux variétés de tomates anciennes. Les innovations sont par exemple des tomates qui ne coulent pas. Dans la partie " fun ", nous proposons de nouveaux produits goûteux ou qui ont par exemple une belle forme. À l'avenir, le nombre de variétés de tomates qui composent notre assortiment ne pourra qu'augmenter. "

Augmentation des specialties et des bio
Arne van Aalst, directeur général de Prominent (Pays-Bas) prévoit à l'avenir de nouvelles augmentations de la taille des entreprises productrices. " Ensuite, la croissance des spécialités se poursuivra et les tomates bio prendront une place de plus en plus importante. Les producteurs auront aussi de plus en plus recours à des sources d'énergie durable. "

L'innovation, encore et toujours
Selon Matthew Jones de chez Reynolds (Royaume-Uni), lorsqu'il est question de tomates, le prix est toujours souverain pour les clients food-service. " Nous constatons cependant que le goût, la qualité et la couleur occupent une place sans cesse croissante. " Reynolds collabore avec les producteurs pour mener des recherches sur de nouvelles variétés et des variétés spéciales. " Les clients veulent pouvoir faire leur choix en fonction du goût ou des saisons par exemple. Il est important que le secteur de la tomate continue d'innover. "

Le concept de tomates de SanLucar
SanLucar a développé un concept par lequel les tomates sont scindées en quatre différents segments. " Nombreux sont ceux qui ne savent pas quelle tomate convient à quel but. Nous avons estimé que cela devait être clair dès l'achat. Les quatre catégories sont : plaisir, snack, cuisine et salade. C'est ainsi qu'elles sont présentées dans les grandes surfaces. "

Le prix de la plus-value
Jan Schockaert, chef du département fruits et légumes chez Colruyt (B), a indiqué que les tomates sont un légume important dans l'assortiment total de fruits et légumes, tant en termes de volume que de chiffre d'affaires. L'assortiment de tomates a été étendu à 13 produits en moyenne et, en haute saison, jusqu'à 18. Le volume de tomates de plus petite taille a progressé ces dernières années au regard des tomates de plus grande taille. " En termes de développement, je constate que l'innovation est sans cesse plus largement orientée sur le goût ", explique Jan Schockaert. " Le consommateur est d'accord de payer pour avoir une plus-value. Je m'attends à ce qu'à l'avenir, une plus grande attention soit accordée à la santé, à la durabilité et au goût. L'accent sera aussi mis sur le plaisir. " 

Une réflexion orientée sur le marché
Le secteur de la tomate a évolué de façon spectaculaire au cours des vingt dernières années, d'un produit unitaire vers une différenciation pointue. Sur quoi se concentrer à l'avenir ? Il y a longtemps que les types de consommateurs se sont diversifiés. Le détail souhaite réagir aux divers types de consommateurs en proposant des produits spécifiques répondant à ces catégories.

" Le détail diffuse un message clair ", explique Ilse Ceulemans de chez LAVA. " L'utilisateur est un maillon important du marché et le producteur doit tenir compte des souhaits du consommateur. Les volumes et les produits doivent être alignés sur ces derniers. Les criées et les producteurs doivent en permanence suivre l'évolution de ce marché. Les producteurs doivent savoir pour qui ils cultivent. La qualité et le goût sont deux critères essentiels de la sélection des nouvelles variétés de tomates. L'assortiment de tomates ne doit toutefois en aucun cas être trop vaste. "

L'alimentation doit être " fun "
" À la surprise générale, l'observateur de tendances, Adjiedj Bakas, s'est montré très original ", admet le responsable du marketing. " Il esquisse clairement la tendance sociale : individualisme et expérience. Le mot d'ordre est : 'L'alimentation doit être " fun "'. 'Fun' est synonyme de goût intense, de forme et de couleur agréables, etc. " Cela revient à dire que l'alimentation doit, avant toute autre chose, être amusante et délicieuse. La consommation actuelle est axée sur l'expérience, toujours selon Adjiedj Bakas. "

Rencontre entre pratique et recherche
Le dernier jour de la conférence a été consacré à des visites de criées, de producteurs et de stations de test. " Ce fut l'occasion unique de confronter la pratique et la recherche ", explique Ilse Ceulemans. " L'initiative a suscité un vif intérêt et la visite de Veiling BelOrta et de la Coopérative de Hoogstraten ont connu un franc succès. La visite guidée des centres de test fut un complément intéressant dans la perspective des évolutions scientifiques futures. "

Le Flandraimail Professional du mois de juin se penche sur la production belge de tomates et sur la vision de Dirk Van Der Plas, président de la coopérative de Hoogstraten, lui-même producteur de tomates.

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact