Flandria courgettes are the stars of the summer

Flandria courgettes, 'home-grown' exotics, are a staple in the range of summer vegetables, and remain available into the late autumn. Interest from the trade is on the increase, partly because of the flexibility in terms of grading and packaging. Make sure your store stands out! Create a vegetable display redolent of the warm south, with courgette specialties deserving of their own place.

Top months ahead
Flandria courgettes have enjoyed a powerful boost at the LAVA auctions recently. Early and late growing cycles (under glass) have enabled producers to guarantee continuous fresh products until mid-November. Outdoor cultivation is at the mercy of the weather. A couple of warm, sunny days are enough to double the harvest. The first peak in production is due in weeks 23 to 26, with between 1.5 and 2 million units per week. July and August are the very top months, and the LAVA auctions are expecting high volumes until September. Reliable supplies are guaranteed!

Sustainable
Like all fresh products carrying the Flandria label and the 'Responsibly Fresh' symbol, Flandria courgettes are grown in ways that respect people and planet, by farms which focus on social responsibility. The cultivation is sustainable and adheres to good agrarian practices (GAP). Sustainable applications include the use of black film to retain heat from the ground (thereby reducing energy consumption), bees and bumble-bees for pollination and thrifty use of water and fertilisers. Crops are produced and marketed quickly, efficiently and close to the consumer.

Flandria guarantees premium quality
Retailers and consumers place importance on product quality, and Flandria guarantees that. Flandria courgettes are harvested manually and carefully handled so as not to damage the delicate fruit walls. Producers also take precautions to ensure that the courgettes do not come into contact with the soil, which guarantees an even green colour and an undamaged skin. Further Flandria quality requirements are: firmness, natural curvature and a short, fresh stalk. Uniform grading is a further plus point. The courgettes are graded during harvest for size (21/24 cm), quality and number of units per crate. The standard presentation for Flandria courgettes is loose in EPS-T (10/12 units), with a guaranteed minimum of 5 kg or 14/16 units and a guaranteed minimum of 4.5 kg on the clock.

Choice in pre-sale
The LAVA auctions react professionally to changing demands from the market. They respond flexibly to the differing requirements of F1s, wholesalers and exporters. For example, the trade wants a grading of 16 units as well as 18 per crate (5 kg) to be available. The 18/22 units 5 kg EPS-T grade is increasingly successful, leading to greater interest in this product.
The pre-sale system offers buyers noticeably more choice than block sale. This ranges from the grading of bigger courgettes to more units per pack. On demand from buyers, the growers also supply Flandria courgettes in other packaging options. For example, 5 kg with 14/18 units in alternative packaging is available in pre-sale, and products can also be supplied in 10 kg packs. Everything is organised in close collaboration between growers, auction and buyer.

Specialties
Flandria Specialty Street includes a few special courgette products which retailers and shopkeepers can use to make themselves stand out from the crowd. The yellow 'Courgette jaune', a variant on the green courgette, and the round 'Courgette de Nice' help to guarantee an attractive presentation in the southern-style greengrocery department.

'Courgette jaune' is sold in packs of 10-16 units in EPS-T, while the round 'Courgette de Nice' comes in packs of 6-24 units/EPS-T with a cover sheet. 'Fleur de courgette' (the flowers of the courgette plant) are a really unique product for the trade, packed individually in EPS-T (15 units) and boxes. This niche product is supplied only to order, and by agreement with the auction's commercial service.

Tips for the shopkeeper
What is the golden rule for all fruiting vegetables? Store Flandria courgettes in a cool place at 10-15 °C and R.H. of 95-100%. Display Flandria courgettes in the original packaging. This cuts down on handling, which can damage them and lead to rotting. Never display these vegetables close to fruit, because they are sensitive to ethylene. Advise customers to keep these southern types of fruiting vegetables out of the fridge. In a cool spot, they will keep for a week.

The slimmer's friend
Courgettes are rich in fibre, vitamin A (60 µg) and vitamin C (16 mg/100 g), and also contain decent levels of calcium (30 mg) and phosphorus (23 mg). At just 28 kcal/100 g they are extremely good for the waistline.

Versatile in the kitchen
Courgettes are extremely versatile. Why not give your customers some ideas for a bit of variety in the kitchen: they can be used in southern-style stews with other exotics, stuffed with mince, as an oven-baked gratin, as a vegetable for soups, baked in slices or fried. Both green and yellow courgettes are perfect in a stir-fry, steamed or added to the barbecue. 'Courgette de Nice' and 'Fleur de courgette' are ideal for stuffing. Some tasty samples are the best way to win over your customers. This will make them want to start cooking Flandria vegetables themselves. Tell them to click on www.mijnflandria.be for some tasty courgette recipes and tips on preparation.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

La courgette Flandria, la star de l'été

Pendant tout l'été et jusqu'à la fin de l'automne, la courgette Flandria, un légume exotique " bien de chez nous ", est une valeur sûre des rayons des légumes. La flexibilité de calibrage et d'emballage suscite un intérêt sans cesse croissant du commerce pour ce légume. Sortez du lot en tant que commerçant ! Créez un rayon de légumes méditerranéens dans lequel les courgettes specialties occupent une place de choix.

La haute saison en perspective
Depuis quelques années, les courgettes Flandria connaissent un fantastique succès sur les criées LAVA. Grâce à des cycles de culture précoces et tardifs (culture sous verre), les producteurs sont à même de fournir des produits frais sans interruption jusqu'à la mi-novembre. Les conditions climatiques jouent un rôle très important dans la culture de plein air. Quelques jours de soleil et de chaleur suffisent pour doubler la récolte. Un premier sommet de production sera atteint durant les semaines 23 à 26 incluses, avec 1,5 à 2 millions de pièces par semaine. Juillet et août sont les meilleurs mois de production durant lesquels les criées LAVA s'attendent à recevoir des volumes importants jusqu'en septembre. Un approvisionnement fiable est garanti !

Durables
Comme tous les produits frais labellisés Flandria et " Responsibly Fresh ", les courgettes Flandria sont cultivées dans le respect de l'homme, de l'environnement et des principes de responsabilité sociale des entreprises. La culture suivant les bonnes pratiques agraires (GAP) est durable. Les pratiques durables consistent à utiliser des films noirs pour conserver la chaleur du sol (réduction de la consommation énergétique), des abeilles et des bourdons pour la pollinisation et à utiliser l'eau et les fertilisants avec parcimonie. La production et la commercialisation sont rapides, efficientes et proches.

Flandria garantit une qualité supérieure
Les commerçants et les consommateurs sont attentifs à la qualité des produits garantis par Flandria. Les courgettes Flandria sont récoltées manuellement puis manipulées délicatement afin de ne pas endommager leur paroi. Les producteurs prennent aussi les précautions nécessaires pour que les légumes-fruits n'entrent pas en contact avec le sol, garantie d'une couleur verte uniforme et d'une épluchure exempte de tout dommage. Les exigences de qualité supplémentaires de Flandria sont : la fermeté, une courbure naturelle et une tige courte et fraîche. Leur calibrage uniforme est un point positif supplémentaire. Lors de la récolte, le tri met l'accent sur la taille (21/24 cm), la qualité et le nombre de pièces par caisse. Par défaut, les courgettes Flandria sont vendues au cadran en vrac, dans des caisses eps-T de 10/12 pces, avec une garantie de min. 5 kg ou de 14/16 pces avec un minimum de 4,5 kg.

Choix en prévente
Les criées LAVA réagissent avec professionnalisme aux demandes fluctuantes du marché. Les souhaits les plus divers des F1, des grandes surfaces et des exportateurs sont anticipés en toute flexibilité. Le commerce demande, par exemple, qu'un calibrage de 16 pièces et 18 pièces par caisse (5 kg) soit aussi proposé. Le calibrage 18/22 pièces en caisses eps-T de 5 kg connaît un succès croissant qui suscite de plus en plus l'intérêt.
Le système de prévente offre clairement aux acheteurs un choix plus vaste que la vente en bloc. Il propose des courgettes de plus grande taille ou un plus grand nombre de pièces par emballage. À la demande des acheteurs, les producteurs proposent aussi des courgettes Flandria dans d'autres emballages. En prévente, par exemple, il est possible d'obtenir des emballages alternatifs de 5 kg contenant 14 à 18 pièces ou encore des conditionnements de 10 kg. Les choix sont faits en concertation étroite entre les producteurs, la criée et l'acheteur.

Specialties
Le label Flandria Specialty Street propose quelques produits de courgettes particuliers grâce auxquels les détaillants et les commerçants peuvent se distinguer. La courgette jaune, une variante de la courgette verte et la courgette de Nice, petite et ronde, garantissent une belle présentation dans le rayon des légumes méridionaux.
La courgette jaune est commercialisée en caisses eps-T de 10-16 pièces. La courgette de Nice est quant à elle proposée en caisses eps-T de 6-24 pièces sous feuille protectrice. La fleur de courgette est véritablement un produit unique dans le commerce, elle est emballée individuellement en caisses eps-T (15 pièces) et en boîte. Ce produit de niche est exclusivement disponible à la demande et il est livré en concertation avec le service commercial de la criée.

Conseils à l'intention du commerçant
Qu'est-ce qui est valable pour tous les légumes-fruits ? Conservez les courgettes Flandria dans un espace réfrigéré entre 10-15 °C et dans une humidité relative de 95 à 100 %. Présentez les courgettes Flandria dans leur emballage d'origine. Vous éviterez ainsi les manipulations multiples qui endommagent les fruits et provoquent de la pourriture. Ne placez pas les légumes-fruits à proximité de fruits car ils sont sensibles à l'éthylène. Conseillez aux clients de conserver les légumes-fruits méridionaux en dehors du frigo. Ils se conservent une semaine dans un endroit frais.

Des amis de la silhouette
Les courgettes sont riches en fibres, en vitamine A (60 µg) en vitamine C (16 mg/100 g) et elles apportent une bonne quantité de calcium (30 mg) et de phosphore (23 mg). Avec seulement 28 kcal/100 g, elles sont particulièrement bonnes pour la ligne.

Polyvalentes en cuisine
La courgette est un légume extrêmement polyvalent. Inspirez à vos clients des idées de variations en cuisine : des pot-au-feu méridionaux accompagnés d'autres légumes exotiques, farcies avec du haché, gratinées au four, dans la soupe, cuites ou frites en tranches, tout est possible. Les courgettes vertes et jaunes se prêtent bien à la cuisson au wok, à la vapeur et au barbecue. La courgette de Nice et les fleurs de courgettes sont idéales farcies. Les dégustations sont la meilleure façon de convaincre les clients. Elles leur donnent envie d'utiliser les légumes Flandria. Renvoyez-les vers le site www.mijnflandria.be où ils trouveront de délicieuses recettes de courgettes ainsi que des conseils de préparation.

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact