Food trends under the microscope at European Vegetable Strategies

The second EVS explored how the use of fresh vegetables can offer the sector some growth opportunities. New food trends are presenting themselves. The message is that suppliers of fruit, vegetables and potatoes need to respond strategically to changing patterns of customer behaviour.

In search of answers
The international journals Eurofruit, Fruchthandel and Fresh Produce Journal got together for the second year in succession to organise the 'European Vegetable Strategies' congress. As many as a hundred experts enjoyed an informal reception the evening before, laid on by joint sponsors Flandria and VLAM.
The second edition was looking for an answer to the question of how the use of fresh vegetables can offer the sector some growth opportunities. There were a number of key issues to explore: what steps does the fresh vegetable sector need to take to raise its profile? How can fresh vegetables cash in on the social trend towards healthier eating? Which categories help the growth in fresh vegetable sales?

New market strategies
Various speakers looked at trends in the European fruit, vegetables and potatoes consumer market and proposed some new marketing strategies. The opening speaker, English analyst Ed Garner, presented the trends on the British market. The strong growth of discounters, Aldi and Lidl, is the most salient feature. Nicolas Lecloux of True Fruits talked about the success of the vegetable smoothie in Germany. “It is difficult to look to the future, but suppliers of fruit, vegetables and potatoes have to react strategically to changing patterns of customer behaviour,” stressed Cor Molenaar, lecturer at the Erasmus University and famous for his book, Kijken, kijken ... Anders kopen, which deals with changing patterns of customer behaviour.
The market visit got 'down to earth' with two new concepts: the French chains Grand Frais and Réseau O'tera, where freshness is central. Most fresh fruit and vegetables are supplied direct by the farmers from the region. Hans Verwege, marketing analyst at Enza Zaden, admitted that these concepts are very innovative.

Mixed feelings
Some people have mixed feelings when they look to the future. What are the wishes and demands of the so-called 'Generation Y' (born after 1980)? What is the pattern of thinking and consumption of this generation, which has grown up with technology and the use of social media? It is clear that their pattern of thinking and purchasing will play a big role in the future for fruit, vegetables and potatoes. Eco-friendly packaging, convenience, organic products, interest in the background of food and so on are the buzzwords for this generation of the future.
Anneleen Leon, product manager for fruit and vegetables at VLAM, closed the event by still pointing to the various fruit and vegetable campaigns in order to show the level of efforts being made to stimulate consumption of fruit, vegetables and potatoes here at home. Dutch colleagues from the sector contributed the results of their search for alternative sales markets elsewhere in the world, under pressure from the closure of the Russian market to European fruit, vegetable and potato products.

More information: www.vegetablecongress.com

 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Les tendances alimentaires passées à la loupe par European Vegetable Strategies

La deuxième édition d'EVS a examiné en quoi la consommation de légumes frais offre des possibilités de croissance pour le secteur. De nouvelles tendances alimentaires se profilent. De toute évidence, les fournisseurs de fruits et légumes doivent adopter des stratégies pour répondre aux changements de comportement des clients.

À la recherche de réponses
Pour la deuxième année consécutive, les revues professionnelles internationales Eurofruit, Fruchthandel et Fresh Produce Journal ont rassemblé leurs forces pour organiser le congrès " European Vegetable Strategies ". La veille de l'événement, plus de cent professionnels ont profité d'une réception informelle offerte par les co-sponsors, Flandria et le VLAM.
La deuxième édition d'EVS a cherché à savoir en quoi la consommation de légumes frais offre des possibilités de croissance au secteur. Plusieurs questions ont occupé une place centrale : quelles mesures le secteur des légumes frais doit-il adopter pour mieux se positionner ? Comment les légumes frais peuvent-ils tirer parti de la tendance sociétale à l'alimentation saine ? Quelles catégories contribuent à la croissance des ventes de légumes frais ?

Les nouvelles stratégies du marché
Plusieurs orateurs ont abordé la tendance du marché européen de consommation de fruits et légumes, tout en présentant les nouvelles stratégies de marketing. L'analyste anglais Ed Garner a ouvert le congrès en exposant les tendances du marché britannique. La forte croissance des discounters, Aldi et Lidl, est l'élément le plus marquant. Nicolas Lecloux de True Fruits a évoqué le succès des smoothies de légumes en Allemagne. " Il est difficile d'anticiper l'avenir, mais les fournisseurs de fruits et légumes doivent adopter des stratégies pour répondre au comportement changeant des clients ", a souligné Cor Molenaar, professeur à l'Erasmus Universiteit connu pour son livre : Kijken, kijken...Anders kopen, qui traite du comportement changeant des clients.
" Down to earth " a pris la forme d'une visite de marché à deux nouveaux concepts : les chaînes françaises Grand Frais et Réseau O'tera, qui font la part belle au frais. La plus grande partie des fruits et légumes frais est directement fournie par les agriculteurs de la région. Hans Verwege, analyste marketing chez Enza Zaden, a affirmé que ces concepts sont particulièrement novateurs.

Des sentiments mitigés
D'aucuns se tournent vers l'avenir avec des sentiments mitigés. Quels sont les souhaits et les attentes de la " Génération Y " (nés après 1980) ? Quel est le schéma de pensée et de consommation de cette génération qui a grandi au coeur de la technologie et est rompue à l'utilisation des médias sociaux ? Il est certain que leur schéma de réflexion et d'achat jouera un rôle important sur l'avenir des fruits et légumes. Des emballages écologiques, les produits prêts à l'emploi, biologiques, l'intérêt pour l'origine des aliments, etc. sont les termes tendance de cette génération de l'avenir.
Enfin, Anneleen Leon, manager produit fruits et légumes chez VLAM, a expliqué les différentes campagnes sur les fruits et légumes. Elle souhaitait ainsi démontrer les efforts fournis pour stimuler la consommation de fruits et légumes dans notre pays. Les collègues néerlandais du secteur ont clôturé en présentant les résultats de leur recherche de marchés alternatifs dans le monde, menée dans le cadre de la fermeture du marché russe aux fruits et légumes européens.

Pour de plus amples informations : www.vegetablecongress.com

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact