Cauliflower season is upon us!

From the end of May, the LAVA auctions will be selling a handsome Belgian early spring product in the form of Flandria summer cauliflower. The trade can rely on substantial supplies in June. Ring the changes in your greengrocery display with some decorative Coliflor Green, Purple and Romanesco.

Plentiful supplies from the end of May, with a peak in June
Flandria outdoor-grown summer cauliflower depends heavily on the weather conditions. Cold nights and a late spring this year have reduced the yield, meaning that the season this month has been a bit slow to get going. The LAVA auctions are still expecting ample supplies from week 22, after which the volume traditionally picks up. June promises to be a top month, with weeks 23-26 delivering a peak of between 350,000 and 500,000 heads/week.

An eye-catcher in the greengrocery department
Belgian retailers and specialist shops want to accommodate their customers' preferences, and so they offer Flandria cauliflowers. These are characterised by an even white or pale cream colour and premium quality (freshness and firmness), plus they are sustainably grown with guaranteed traceability. In other words: a wonderful home-grown product!
Make Flandria summer cauliflower into an eye-catching centrepiece. Present the handsome closed heads in a prominent spot in the greengrocery department: they are so crunchy-fresh that they will just walk off the shelves. Team them with lettuce, tomatoes, radishes, asparagus and so on for a good colour contrast. Be sure to put enough product on display, and top up regularly, to encourage customers to buy. Never stack the crates, because the surface of the cauliflower is very sensitive to damage.

Grading
Cauliflower is graded by size and weight. Flandria+ guarantees a minimum weight of 9 kg/crate. When it comes to outdoor cauliflower, the grade is +24 to +27 head diameter. The main grade of +27 is supplied as standard in packs of 6 in EPS-H. a more compact cauliflower (24 cm diameter) in packs of 6 in EPS-H is sold in parallel with the standard product. As a non-standard option, there are limited supplies of small cauliflowers sold in packs of 8 in EPS-Medium.

The clock, pre-sale and intermediation
Sales may be made both on the clock and by pre-sale. In the latter case, this is a product that has yet to be harvested, so it is 'super-fresh'! The advantages for the buyers are that they are buying products at an agreed price and they can request the packaging they want. The products are delivered two days later. Another option is the LAVA intermediation, whereby the price, quantity and packaging required are contractually agreed.

Tips for the shopkeeper
Keep cauliflower during the day on an uncooled shelf in the shop, and at night in a cool, well-ventilated place. The optimum temperature is 2-3 °C and R.H. of 90-95%. Plunge into ice-cold water to refresh them. The surface is very sensitive to damage. Try to avoid rough handling. Advise clients to store the vegetable in a damp cloth in the salad drawer in the fridge. The Flandria growers guarantee one week under optimum storage conditions.

Surprising alternatives
Flandria Specialty Street offers three surprising alternatives: Coliflor Green and Coliflor Purple have the same shape as the traditional white Flandria cauliflower but the curds are green and purple respectively. Coliflor Romanesco stands out not just because of its striking, yellowy-green flower head, but also its unusual structure; Romanesco's common local name is 'turret cauliflower'. It tastes like cauliflower, but a little sweeter. All these specialties are grown in line with the Flandria specifications. They are supplied in packs of 6 in EPS-H. other packaging options are available on request.
These specialties are good ways to add value to the traditional Belgian cauliflower. They stand out on the greengrocery shelves thanks to their unusual colour and shape, offering an extra selling point for the shopkeeper. If you are looking for something special, these niche products are the answer. They challenge the consumer to move beyond the (old-fashioned) image of cauliflower thanks to new preparation methods. This will boost your sales. They are also a unique product for the consumer: highly decorative and with an unusual shape that makes them perfect for a festive occasion.

A refined superfood
Flandria summer cauliflower is a versatile vegetable. Even just lightly steamed, it makes a brilliant addition to the table. You can serve cauliflower with fish or meat or as a veggie option, or it is also really good in molecular cookery or food pairing. It can be served cold in a summer salad and with a dipping sauce as a canapé or on the barbecue; there really is nothing to beat the taste of this early vegetable.
Make customers aware, too, of the health aspects of this wonderful product! At 80 mg per 100 g, cauliflower is very rich in vitamin C. Potassium is also present in good levels: 250 mg per 100 g. Like most vegetables, cauliflower is low in calories, but high in fibre.

Belgian products remain available into the autumn
With promotional deals, you can offer customers the chance to enjoy their favourite product for a long period, and this will all help your sales. The summer months are when supplies are at their highest. The season runs until September, and large supplies are still expected into October.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

La saison du chou-fleur est lancée !

Dès la fin mai, les criées LAVA proposent une belle primeur printanière belge : le chou-fleur d'été. En juin, le commerce peut compter sur de gros volumes. Apportez de la variation dans votre assortiment de produits frais en l'entourant des très décoratifs Coliflor Green, Purple en Romanesco.

Approvisionnement important fin mai, sommet en juin
Le chou-fleur d'été Flandria de culture de plein air dépend toujours amplement des conditions climatiques. Des nuits fraîches et un printemps tardif ont freiné la production de cette année, si bien que la saison a débuté un peu plus tard ce mois. Les criées LAVA attendent un approvisionnement important à partir de la semaine 22. Traditionnellement, ce début de production est rapidement suivi par une augmentation de volume. Juin annonce un sommet avec 350 000 à 500 000 pièces par semaine pendant les semaines 23-26.

Un produit phare du rayon des fruits et légumes
Les détaillants et commerces spécialisés belges veulent être à même de répondre aux préférences de leurs clients, raison pour laquelle ils proposent le chou-fleur Flandria. Il se distingue par : une couleur blanche ou crème uniforme, une qualité parfaite (fraîcheur, fermeté, etc.), son mode de culture durable et sa traçabilité garantie. En bref, un magnifique produit de notre terroir !
Mettez le chou-fleur Flandria en valeur et présentez sa fleur serrée bien en vue dans le rayon des légumes : un produit frais du jour se vend de lui-même. Faites des contrastes de couleur en combinant les salades, tomates, radis, asperges, etc. Étalez les produits en quantité suffisante et complétez régulièrement ; cela incite les clients à acheter.  N'empilez jamais les caisses sur une hauteur importante, la surface du chou-fleur est très sensible aux blessures.

Calibrage
Le calibrage se fait en fonction de la taille et du poids du légume : Flandria garantit un poids minimum de 9 kg par caisse. Les choux-fleurs de pleine terre sont disponibles dans les calibres +24 à +27. Le calibre principal +27 est présenté par défaut en EPS-H de 6 pièces. Un chou-fleur plus compact (24 cm de diamètre) en EPS-H de 6 pièces est également commercialisé parallèlement au produit standard. Il existe par ailleurs un volume limité de petits choux-fleurs de 8 pièces en EPS-Medium.

Au cadran, en prévente et à la négociation
La vente est possible au cadran et à la prévente. Dans ce dernier cas, il s'agit de produits qui ne sont pas encore récoltés, ils sont donc " ultra frais " !  Avantages pour l'acheteur : il achète un produit à un prix convenu et il peut demander l'emballage de son choix. La livraison a lieu deux jours plus tard. Il y a également la vente à la négociation par LAVA, auquel cas le prix, les volumes et l'emballage souhaité sont définis contractuellement.

Conseils à l'intention du commerçant
En journée, conservez le chou-fleur dans un rayon non frigorifié du magasin, mais la nuit, placez-le dans un endroit frais et bien ventilé. La température de conservation optimale est de 2-3 °C, avec une humidité relative de 90-95%. Pour leur donner un coup de fraîcheur, vous pouvez les plonger dans de l'eau glacée. La surface est très sensible aux blessures. Il est préférable de les traiter délicatement. Conseillez à vos clients de conserver le chou-fleur dans un linge humide dans le tiroir à légumes du réfrigérateur. Dans des conditions de conservation optimales, les producteurs Flandria garantissent une conservation d'une semaine.

Des alternatives étonnantes
Flandria Specialty Street propose trois alternatives surprenantes : Coliflor Green et Coliflor Purple. Ils ont la même forme que le chou-fleur blanc classique de Flandria, si ce n'est qu'ils sont respectivement verts et violets. Le Coliflor Romanesco, également appelé " brocoli à pomme " se distingue non seulement par ses magnifiques florettes vert tendre, mais aussi par sa forme originale, puisque chaque florette à la forme d'un petit cône. Son goût est similaire à celui du chou-fleur, mais plus doux. Toutes ces spécialités cultivées dans le respect du cahier des charges Flandria sont disponibles en caisses eps-H de 6 pièces. Autres possibilités d'emballage à la demande.
Ces spécialités sont de belles variantes du traditionnel chou-fleur belge. Elles se font remarquer dans le rayon des légumes par leur couleur et leur forme originale, atout supplémentaire pour le commerçant : si vous recherchez quelque chose qui sort de l'ordinaire, ces produits de niche sont pour vous ! Ils permettent de briser l'image (vieillotte) du chou-fleur grâce à de nouvelles préparations. Et ils boosteront certainement vos ventes. Ce sont aussi des produits uniques pour le consommateur : particulièrement décoratifs, leur forme originale convient parfaitement aux occasions festives.

Raffiné et très sain
Le chou-fleur d'été Flandria est un légume aux multiples facettes. Faites-les cuire à la vapeur en les gardant croquant et vous obtenez un magnifique légume sur votre table. Le chou-fleur accompagne la viande et le poisson ou suffit pour réaliser un plat végétarien. La cuisine moléculaire et le foodpairing apprécient également ce produit qui offre de nombreuses possibilités de variation. Froid, dans une salade estivale, accompagné d'une sauce dip à l'apéritif ou avec un bbq : le goût du chou-fleur primeur n'a pas son pareil.
N'oubliez pas de rappeler à vos clients à quel point ce magnifique produit est bon pour la santé ! Avec 80 mg aux 100 g, ce légume est très riche en vitamine C. Sans oublier le potassium (un minéral) : 250 mg pour 100 g.  Comme la plupart des légumes, le chou-fleur est peu calorique mais riche en fibres.

Un approvisionnement belge continu jusqu'à l'automne
Grâce aux actions promotionnelles, vous offrez au client la possibilité de profiter d'un produit apprécié, avec un effet favorable sur les ventes. Son approvisionnement est au sommet durant les mois d'été. La saison se poursuit jusqu'en septembre et la production est encore importante en octobre. 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact