Belgian fruit and vegetable consumption is in the doldrums

The annual report by market researchers GfK Benelux commissioned by VLAM shows that Belgians bought almost 6% fewer fruit and vegetables last year than in 2013. The number one spot among the vegetables is still occupied by tomatoes, with apples being the favourite fruit, although Conference pears did noticeably better and strawberries were also popular.

A noticeable drop in spending
In 2014, the average Belgian bought 40.2 kg of fresh vegetables and 47 kg of fresh fruit, spending respectively 88 euro (-4.6%) and 105 euro (almost 7% less than in 2013). Fruit and vegetable spending per capita fell more last year (-5.8%) than the global food market (-0.8%). Such are the most important figures emerging from the survey by market researchers GfK Panel Services Belgium into the purchases for home consumption of 5,000 Belgian families in 2014.
In 2014, the average shop prices for fresh vegetables were 4% lower than in 2013. Fresh fruit was 3.4% cheaper last year, and the volume purchased per capita also fell by 3.4%. These lower average shop prices, coupled with lower purchasing levels, especially for fresh fruit, explain the fall in spending. The fall was bigger in the case of fruit than vegetables, and greater in Wallonia (-9.7%) than in Flanders (-4.4%).

A good year for tomatoes
The average Belgian bought 6.330 kg of tomatoes last year. This means the tomato is still the most popular vegetable in Belgium. The number one in the vegetable basket bucked the market trend to increase by as much as 1% in volume terms and 4% in spending. Within the top ten fresh vegetables, the order remained the same as in 2013, except that cauliflower forced cucumber back out of tenth place; in 2013 it was the other way round. The other climbers in the top ten were leeks, paprika and peppers, which were all much cheaper.
Those experiencing the biggest falls were: red cabbage, white cabbage and Savoy cabbage, mixed soup vegetables, endive, French beans and chicory. Vegetables seeing an increase in their popularity were runner beans, asparagus, oyster mushrooms, rocket, iceberg lettuce, mixed vegetables, sprouts and spinach.

Chicory suffers a big decline
Chicory, at 3.33 kg per Belgian, is in a stable fourth place in the 'popularity poll', but it did lose both buyers and volume (-10%). The higher chicory price restricted the fall in spending to 8%. On the salad shelves, only iceberg lettuce and rocket gained ground. Cabbage lettuce is losing ground year on year, but still holds a 36% share of the market, making it the biggest player in the salad department. Iceberg lettuce is enjoying a real surge and already accounts for 30% of the market.

The trend towards 'more special' tomatoes continues
The average Belgian bought 6.330 kg of tomatoes last year. Back in 2000, the normal (loose) tomatoes still accounted for three quarters of sales in the tomato category. This figure is now just one third. Cluster tomatoes have taken over from loose tomatoes and the trend towards 'more special' tomatoes continues. Cherry tomatoes, in particular, have been gaining greatly in popularity over recent years. They now account for 17% by volume and 33% by value. This means that cherry tomatoes have become the most important segment within tomatoes in value terms.

Apples at number one in the fruit basket
In the fresh fruit top ten, apples remain the leaders at 8.880 kg per capita. But apples slipped more than the market average, losing 3.7% in volume and even 13.5% in spending. Jonagold is the market leader on 43% of the volume. But it is striking that it is mainly the traditional apple varieties (Jonagold and Golden Delicious) which are losing ground to the newer varieties such as Braeburn, Belgica, Kanzi and Pink Lady.
Strawberries were cheaper and tempted more buyers last year, meaning that the volume purchased rose by 9%. This propelled strawberries from the number 10 spot to number 8.

Pears make significant progress
Pears are racing up the table in the top ten (+29% in volume per capita). “After the ban on imports of a whole string of European fresh products imposed by Russia, the Belgians reacted in huge numbers to the call to eat more home-grown fruit, and in particular more pears,” reports VLAM.

Little shift in distribution
We see little change in the distribution of fresh fruit and vegetables in 2014. 'Dis 1' gained ground as the market leader, from a market share of 47% to 48%, followed by hard discount unchanged on 23%. Local supermarkets were in third place, losing ground slightly with a market share of 14%. The public market and the specialist store remained stable with market shares of 5% and 4% respectively.

Source: GfK Panel Services Benelux for VLAM.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

La consommation belge de fruits et légumes perd du terrain

Le rapport annuel réalisé par le bureau d'étude de marché GfK Benelux, à la demande du VLAM, montre que l'année dernière, le Belge a acheté près de 6 % de fruits et légumes en moins qu'en 2013. La tomate reste le numéro un du panier de légumes, la pomme étant quant à elle le fruit préféré des Belges. La poire Conférence a de loin enregistré de meilleurs résultats et la fraise a, elle aussi, su séduire le public.

Une diminution sensible des dépenses.
En 2014, le Belge a acheté en moyenne 40,2 kg de légumes frais et 47 kg de fruits frais. Il a consacré en moyenne respectivement 88 euros (-4,6%) et 105 euros (près de 7% de moins qu'en 2013) à ces achats. L'année dernière, les dépenses en fruits et légumes par personne ont plus fortement diminué (-5,8%) que le marché global de l'alimentation (-0,8%). Tels sont les principaux chiffres révélés par le bureau d'étude de marché GfK Panel Services Belgium à propos des achats destinés à la consommation familiale de 5 000 ménages belges en 2014.
En 2014, les prix moyens en magasin des légumes frais étaient inférieurs de 4% à ceux de 2013. L'année dernière, les fruits frais étaient 3,4 % moins chers et le volume acheté par personne a diminué de 3,4%. Ces prix moyens inférieurs en magasin, ainsi que la réduction des achats, principalement de fruits frais, sont les causes du recul des dépenses. Les achats de fruits ont plus diminué que les achats de légumes, en Wallonie (-9,7 %) plus qu'en Flandre (-4,4 %).

Une bonne année pour la tomate
L'année dernière, le Belge a acheté en moyenne 6,330 kg de tomates. Elle reste ainsi le légume le plus populaire de Belgique. À l'inverse de la tendance du marché, le numéro un du panier de légumes a progressé : plus 1 % en termes de volume et 4 % en termes de dépenses. Dans le top dix des légumes frais, le classement est identique à celui de 2013. Seul le chou-fleur déloge une nouvelle fois le concombre de sa dixième place, à l'inverse de 2013.  Les autres légumes en progression sont le poireau, les poivrons et piments, qui étaient tous beaucoup moins onéreux.
Les plus grandes chutes enregistrées concernent : le chou rouge, le chou blanc et le chou de Savoie, les légumes mixtes pour la soupe, les chicorées, les haricots princesse et les endives. Les légumes les plus populaires sont quant à eux : les haricots sabre, les asperges, les pleurotes, la roquette, la salade iceberg, les légumes mixtes, les choux de Bruxelles et les épinards.

L'endive, la grande perdante
Avec 3,33 kg par Belge, l'endive consolide sa quatrième place parmi les légumes les plus populaires. Elle régresse cependant en nombre d'acheteurs et en volume (-10 %). Le prix plus élevé des endives a en partie limité le recul des dépenses à 8 %. Dans le rayon des salades, seules l'iceberg et la roquette ont gagné du terrain. Les ventes de laitue diminuent d'année en année. Avec une part de marché de 36 %, elle reste néanmoins l'un des segments les plus importants dans le rayon des salades. L'iceberg a entamé une fantastique remontée pour atteindre 30 % de parts de marché. 

Les tomates plus spéciales de plus en plus appréciées
L'année dernière, le Belge a acheté en moyenne 6,330 kg de tomates. En 2000, les tomates normales (en vrac) représentaient toujours les trois quarts de la catégorie des tomates, contre un tiers seulement aujourd'hui. Les tomates en grappes ont pris la place des tomates en vrac et la montée des tomates " plus spéciales " se poursuit. Les tomates cerise surtout ont fortement gagné en popularité. Elles représentent à présent une part de volume de 17 % et une part de valeur de 33 %. Les tomates cerise sont donc devenues, en termes de valeur, le premier segment des tomates.

La pomme en tête de classement !
Avec 8,880 kg par personne, la pomme trône en tête du top dix des fruits frais. Elle enregistre pourtant un recul supérieur à la moyenne puisqu'elle a perdu 3,7 % de volume et 13,5 % en termes de dépenses. Avec 43 % de volume, la Jonagold est le leader du marché. Il est étonnant de constater que ce sont principalement les variétés de pommes classiques (Jonagold et Golden Delicious) qui perdent du terrain au profit des variétés plus récentes telles que les Braeburn, Belgica, Kanzi et Pink Lady.
Les fraises étaient moins onéreuses l'année dernière et elles ont séduit de plus nombreux acheteurs, ce qui a généré une augmentation de volume de 9 %. Les fraises ont ainsi grimpé de la 10e à la 8e place dans le top dix.

Les poires en forte croissance
Les poires font un bond dans le top dix (+29 % en volume par personne). " Après l'interdiction d'importation d'une série de produits frais européens par la Russie, les Belges ont réagi en masse à l'appel à une consommation accrue de fruits, principalement de poires, de notre terroir ", explique le VLAM.

Peu de changement dans la distribution
La distribution des fruits et légumes frais présente peu d'évolution en 2014. En sa qualité de leader du marché, " Dis 1 " a gagné du terrain, de 47 à 48 % de parts de marché, suivie par le hard discount inchangé à 23 %. Les supermarchés de proximité conservent leur troisième place, mais perdent néanmoins un peu de terrain à 14 % de parts de marché. Les marchés et les commerces spécialisés sont restés stables, respectivement à 5 % et 4 % de parts de marché.

Source : GfK PanelServices Benelux pour le VLAM.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact