Consistent Flandria® tomato segments, larger supplies of specials

The Flandria tomato segmentation has long been a suitable response to demand from the market for differentiated supply and homogeneous products. Larger supplies now also make segmentation in specialties possible. Innovative products tap into trends such as snacking, healthy eating and convenience.

A solid basis for the trade
Ahead of the 2016 segmentation, a number of varieties were tested last year for their cultivation, quality and flavour characteristics, and the varieties for Flandria loose and cluster tomatoes were decided.
LAVA reports that the area under loose tomatoes remains virtually unchanged. There has been a slight increase in the area under cluster tomatoes in both traditional cluster (Elite, Princess) and specialties.
The number of permitted varieties within a single segment remains limited: this guarantees consistent quality. The growers, the auction and the LAVA cooperative are committed to continuous crop and fruit quality monitoring throughout the entire growing season. Buyers who opt for a particular segment can guarantee their end customers a homogenous product all season long, which gives the trade a solid basis.

A tomato to suit everyone
The LAVA auctions supply premium-quality Belgian products almost all year round. Appearance, freshness, colour and flavour are all important criteria for the trade and the consumer alike. The segmentation model for tomatoes offers a wide array of products with a range of flavours, colours, sizes and shapes. Basically, a tomato to suit everyone, for festive occasions and everyday purposes alike.

Naturally, the 'classics' are still available:
• Loose: Baron, Prince and Romared
• Cluster: Elite, Princess and Prunella

Ample supplies guaranteed
From March, ample supplies of both loose and cluster tomatoes will be available at the auctions. Production of loose tomatoes will hit 1.5 million kg as early as week 14. The subsequent weeks will see supplies increasing dramatically, reaching a peak of 2.5 to 3 million kg per week by week 17. When it comes to cluster tomatoes, the LAVA auctions are expecting supplies to increase to 1 million kg per week. Production increases in weeks 15-16 to between 1.5 and 2 million kg/week, reaching 2.5 to 2.8 million kg/week by week 17.

Block formation for specials
2016 sees an increase in the area under specials, but the number is rising again. Large areas under a particular variety do produce higher supplies of the same product. When it comes to specialties, large blocks of product are now available on the clock all season long. The segmentation guarantees consistent quality, homogeneous products and good keeping properties. For example, Cherrystar - a classic among the specialties - still allows only one variety. The variety also delivers the same brix value all season, which is an important selling point for the fresh market and the processing industry. Consumers can be sure of getting the same handsome, tasty little tomato all year round.

Innovations in packaging
Packaging is another area in which the auctions are bringing out some new ideas this season. Every auction is creating its own exclusive packaging line, reacting flexibly to demand from the retail side and various groups of consumers. For example, there are attractive packs for children, designed to encourage young parents to buy healthy, alternative 'snack foods'. Nostalgia is also a big theme: for instance, snack tomatoes now come in a resealable plastic pot. Quantities and composition can be varied depending on the buyer: 500/350 g, single colour (red) or mixed (yellow, red, orange).

Make the most of perception
Consumers in 2016 are definitely looking for variety: they want something special and they want a taste experience. Snacking and convenience are the perfect response to this desire. Specials tick all the boxes: they are decorative and ready to use, making them perfectly suited for snacks, canapés and as a garnish for cocktails, as well as acting as ingredients in all sorts of dishes (even desserts). These attractive niche products are also perfectly in tune with the trend for healthy snacking. Make the most of these selling points! A festive array of 'home-grown' tomatoes can boost your sales.

 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Des segments de tomates Flandria® stables et de grands volumes de spécialités

Depuis des années, la segmentation des tomates Flandria apporte une réponse adéquate à la demande du marché en faveur d'une offre diversifiée et de produits homogènes. Désormais, de plus grands volumes permettent également la segmentation des specialties. Des produits novateurs s'adaptent aux tendances telles que le snacking, les friandises saines et les produits prêts à l'emploi.

Une base solide pour le commerce
L'année dernière, différentes variétés ont été évaluées pour la segmentation 2016, en fonction de leur culture, de leurs qualités et de leurs propriétés gustatives. Les variétés de tomates en vrac et en grappes Flandria ont en outre été sélectionnées.
LAVA rapporte que la superficie de production de tomates en vrac demeure pratiquement inchangée. Nous constatons une légère augmentation de la superficie de production des tomates en grappes, aussi bien pour les variétés  traditionnelles (Elite, Princess) que pour les spécialités.
Le nombre de variétés autorisées au sein d'un segment reste limité, ce qui garantit une qualité constante. Les producteurs, la criée et la coopérative des criées LAVA s'engagent à assurer un suivi continu des plants et de la qualité des fruits durant toute la période de production. Les acheteurs qui choisissent un segment déterminé sont en mesure de garantir à leur consommateurs finaux un produit homogène tout au long de la saison; une base solide pour le commerce.

Des tomates pour tous les goûts
Les criées LAVA proposent toute l'année des produits belges de qualité irréprochable. L'aspect, la fraîcheur, la couleur et le goût sont des critères déterminants, tant pour le commerce que pour le consommateur. Le modèle de segmentation des tomates offre une vaste gamme de produits aux goûts, aux couleurs, aux tailles et aux formes les plus variés. Bref : des tomates pour tous les goûts et pour toutes les occasions festives, mais aussi au quotidien.

Il va de soi que les classiques demeures :
• Vrac : Baron, Prince et Romared
• Grappes : Elite, Princess et Prunella

De grands volumes disponibles
Dès le mois de mars, les criées disposeront de grands volumes, tant pour les tomates en vrac qu'en grappes. Pendant la semaine 14, la production de tomates en vrac sera de 1,5 millions de kg. Durant les semaines suivantes, ces volumes s'envoleront pour atteindre un sommet de 2,5 à 3 millions de kilos par semaine. Pour les tomates en grappes, les criées LAVA s'attendent à une augmentation du volume qui passera à 1 million de kg par semaine. La production augmentera pendant les semaines 15 à 16 jusqu'à 1,5 million à 2 million de kg par semaine.  Pendant la semaine 17, l'approvisionnement hebdomadaire atteindra 2,5 à 2,8 millions de kg.

Formation de blocs pour les " specials "
Une extension de la superficie de production des specials est prévue pour 2016, mais leur nombre baissera à nouveau. De grandes superficies de culture d'une seule et même variété génèrent de plus gros volumes d'un même produit. Pour les spécialités, des blocs de produits sont désormais disponibles au cadran tout au long de la saison. La segmentation garantit une qualité constante, un produit homogène et une longue durée de conservation. Ainsi, une variété supplémentaire de la Cherrystar, un classique parmi les spécialités, a été admise. Cette variété affiche la même valeur de Brix durant toute la saison, ce qui représente un véritable atout pour la vente sur le marché du frais et aux entreprise de découpage. Le consommateur peut déguster de belles et savoureuses tomates tout au long d l'année.

Des innovations dans le domaine des emballages
Cette saison, les criées proposent également des nouveautés dans le domaine des emballages. Chaque criée conçoit sa propre gamme d'emballages et s'adapte aux souhaits des détaillants et des divers groupes de consommateurs. Des emballages attrayants sont par exemple conçus pour les enfants de jeunes parents qui souhaitent les inciter à consommer des " friandises " alternatives et saines. La nostalgie retient également toute notre attention : nous proposons, par exemple, des tomates friandises dans un pot " wek " en plastique refermable. Les quantités et compositions peuvent varier en fonction des souhaits de l'acheteur : 500/350 g, une seule couleur (rouge) ou un mélange (jaune, rouge, orange). 

Jouer sur les tendances du moment
En 2016, le consommateur est clairement à la recherche de changement : il veut de l'originalité et du goût. Le snacking et la facilité répondent parfaitement à cette envie. Les specials ont tous les atouts nécessaires : ils sont décoratifs, prêts à l'emploi et donc parfaits pour les snacks et les apéros ou pour garnir vos cocktails et vos différents plats (ils peuvent même être consommés dans des desserts). Ces produits de niche attrayants répondent parfaitement à la tendance du " healthy snacking ". Mettez cet atout à profit ! Une palette festive de tomates " bien de  chez nous " peut booster votre chiffre d'affaires.

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact