Flandria organises international 'Tomato Conference'

There is definitely plenty happening in the tomato sector: product innovations, new expectations from retail and consumers alike, and challenging trends are all making themselves felt. It is time for an in-depth analysis. The international conference on 'Tomatoes, trends towards 2020' (13 to 15 April 2016) offers an exciting programme and an interesting platform for stakeholders to meet.

A three-day event with plenty of variety
Wednesday 13 April 2016 will see the Astridplein in Antwerp turning as red as a tomato! This international tomato conference is a way for the LAVA auctions and the Flemish experimental centres to focus on the trends in production, scientific research, marketing and consumption within this product group. This three-day event offers a varied programme with lectures and discussion forums, as well as taking an in-depth look at day-to-day practice.

Research and marketing under the spotlight
The conference will largely take the form of two parallel sessions, with various speakers going into more detail on scientific research on the one hand and product marketing and sales on the other. Speakers from both home and abroad will expand on the topics of quality, sustainability and innovation. The research sessions will tackle the most topical issues such as crop protection, quality, packaging, storage, transport and nutrition. Innovative techniques such as illumination, new growing techniques and mechanisation, selective breeding and physiology will also be on the agenda.

Marketing and consumption
In parallel with the research session, a marketing session will operate, where commercially interested parties can participate in discussion forums and presentations to do with marketing. What is in store here? On Wednesday 13 April, Philippe Binard (Freshfel) will speak about the production and consumption of tomatoes in the EU. Speakers from various producer regions in the EU will be giving a peek into the trends in tomato production: segmentation, differentiation, marketing and sales methods: Raf De Blaiser (LAVA, Belgium), Marie Deredec (Prince de Bretagne, France), Arne van Aalst (Prominent, Netherlands), Olle Olofsson (Svenska Odlarlaget, Scandinavia) and Jan van der Blom (Coexphal, Spain).
On Thursday 14 April, there will be parallel sessions about research and marketing. Speakers including Jan Schockaert (Colruyt Group) and Ward Verberck (Metro) will share their vision. Other national and international retailers will give their views on the segmentation and sales methods from the point of view of what the consumer wants when it comes to tomatoes.

Food service sector
The food-service sector will also be speaking about the use of tomatoes in the past and in the future. In the afternoon, representatives from Autogrill Europe, Elvea, Starmeal and Reynolds are expected. There will also be the opportunity to listen to a presentation on how sustainability and fair trade are influencing the production, marketing and sales of tomatoes. This will involve the organisations Vredeseilanden, Res Sense and Test Aankoop. At the end of the morning, trend-watcher Adjiedj Bakas will share his views and the second day of the conference will finish with a joint dinner at Radisson Blu.

When practice meets research
Much attention is also being paid to the practical side. On the final day, Friday 15 April, there is a choice between two different tours with visits to auctions, producers and experimental centres, making for an excellent opportunity to tie in practice with research.

The detailed programme of the three-day event is available at www.tomatoconference2016.be

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Flandria organise la 'Tomato Conference' internationale

Le secteur de la tomate est très clairement en pleine évolution : produits novateurs, nouvelles attentes de la part des détaillants et des consommateurs, naissance de tendances motivantes. Une analyse approfondie s'impose. La conférence internationale "Tomatoes, trends towards 2020" (du 13 au 15 avril 2016) propose un programme attractif et une plate-forme de rencontre intéressante pour les parties prenantes.

Trois journées variées
À partir du mercredi 13 avril 2016, la place Reine Astrid à Anvers affichera les couleurs de la tomate ! Par cette conférence internationale sur la tomate, les criées LAVA et les centres de recherches flamands souhaitent mettre en avant les nouvelles tendances dans le secteur de la production, la recherche scientifique, le marketing et la consommation au sein de ce groupe de produits. Ces trois journées proposent un programme varié de conférences et de forums de discussion. Une attention toute particulière sera également accordée à la pratique quotidienne.

La recherche et le marketing mis en avant
Le congrès se déroulera principalement en deux sessions parallèles au cours desquelles divers conférenciers aborderont, d'une part, le thème de la recherche scientifique et, d'autre part, celui du marketing et de la commercialisation du produit. Des orateurs nationaux et internationaux donneront leur point de vue sur les facteurs que sont la qualité, la durabilité et l'innovation. Les thèmes les plus actuels seront abordés lors des sessions d'étude : la protection des cultures et la qualité (emballages, conservation, transport et valeur nutritive). Les techniques novatrices, comme l'éclairage, les nouvelles techniques de culture et la mécanisation, le perfectionnement et la physiologie seront également à l'ordre du jour.

Marketing et consommation
Une session marketing sera organisée parallèlement aux sessions d'étude, au cours de laquelle les personnes intéressées pourront prendre part aux forums de discussion et aux conférences sur des thèmes liés au marketing. Quels seront les thèmes abordés ? Le mercredi 13 avril, Philippe Binard (Freshfel) évoquera la production et la consommation des tomates au sein de l'UE. Des orateurs de différentes régions de production de l'UE examineront les tendances de la production des tomates : segmentation, différenciation, marketing et méthodes de commercialisation. Raf De Blaiser (LAVA, Belgique), Marie Deredec (Prince de Bretagne, France), Arne van Aalst (Prominent, Pays-Bas), Olle Olofsson (Svenska Odlarlaget, Scandinavie), Jan van der Blom (Coexphal, Espagne).
Le jeudi 14 avril, des sessions parallèles seront organisées sur les thèmes de la recherche et de la commercialisation. Jan Schockaert (Colruyt Group) et Ward Verberck (Metro), pour ne citer qu'eux, soumettront leur point de vue.  D'autres détaillants nationaux et internationaux présenteront également leur avis sur la segmentation et les méthodes de vente, toujours suivant la perspective du consommateur et avec une question à l'esprit : quels sont les souhaits du consommateur en matière de tomates ?

Le secteur Foodservice
Le secteur Foodservice nous parlera également de l'utilisation des tomates dans le passé et à l'avenir. L'après-midi, des représentants des entreprises Autogrill Europe, Elvea, Starmeal et Reynolds seront attendus. Vous pourrez également écouter un exposé sur l'influence de la gestion durable et du commerce équitable sur la production, le marketing et la commercialisation des tomates. Ce sujet sera présenté par les organisations Îles de Paix, Res Sense et Test-Achats. En fin d'après-midi, l'observateur de tendances, Adjiedj Bakas, nous présentera son avis. Le deuxième jour de conférence se clôturera par un dîner au Radisson Blu.

Quand la pratique rencontre la recherche
La pratique sera, elle aussi, mise en avant. Le dernier jour, le vendredi 15 avril, deux circuits différents seront prévus avec des visites des criées, des producteurs et des stations de test, l'occasion parfaite de confronter la  pratique à la recherche.
Vous trouverez le programme détaillé de ces trois journées sur le site www.tomatoconference2016.be

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact