The Belgian early crop season is bursting out!

In February, the early crops were already heralding spring, and this month sees the season really getting into its stride. The LAVA auctions are expecting decent levels of supplies of Belgian products from April onwards. Why not surprise your customers in the weeks ahead with healthy, tasty home-grown vegetables?

Tasty teasers
The first crates of cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers, aubergines and courgettes were being auctioned as early as the end of January/early February. The first crop of greenhouse asparagus was also exceptionally early this year. The season for Belgian products is once again getting properly into its stride, and plentiful supplies will be available as early as March and April. This spring, too, the LAVA auctions are selling home-grown early-crop vegetables that look perfect, are perfectly fresh and are sustainably grown. This premium quality is identified by the Flandria label.

Tomatoes bring you a taste of spring
The areas under the classic tomatoes - Baron, Prince and Tomabel - remain the same this year. However, there has been a drop in the traditional cluster types as well as Elite, Princess and Tomabel. The area under Prunella plum tomatoes (loose/cluster) is also declining.
A wide range of Belgian tomatoes recently became available every day, each with its own specific flavour, colour, size and shape. They offer a host of different solutions to meet the varying demands from trade and consumers alike. Supplies of Baron, the versatile Belgian beefsteak tomato par excellence, are expected to be as much as 1 million kg in the week before Easter, with production likely to hit 2.5 to 3 million kg per week after that.
The cluster tomato Elite is billed very much as the 'tomato for flavour', and the slogan 'Real Taste' on the packaging will definitely persuade customers. The quantity of cluster tomatoes increases to 1 million kg in week 14, and between 1.5 and 2 million kg per week in weeks 15 and 16, peaking in week 18 at 2.5 to 3 million kg.
Hoogstraten Auction offers a volume of cluster tomatoes (Princess) of premium quality thanks to cultivation under lamps, and volumes of plum tomatoes have also been rising sharply since March.

Peppers of all colours
In 2015, it is planned to increase the area for all colours. In mid-February, the first green peppers were harvested, and there is now a robust supply of green peppers available. Since early March, red peppers are also ripe, and they will be followed by the yellow and orange peppers. As from mid-March, therefore, all colours are available on the clock, and the volume will increase sharply again in April. Flandria quality guarantees firm fruits with a nice uniform colour and a glossy skin. With their fresh colours, peppers are real eye-catchers on the greengrocery shelves, and they are also a vegetable which offers a high level of vitamin C, which makes them good and healthy for customers.
In addition to the traditional square-shouldered peppers (in red, yellow, green and orange), the LAVA auctions also supply specialties, including a sweet pointed pepper, a sharp Spanish pepper (in red, green, orange and yellow), and baby peppers, the latest 'specialty pepper' from BelOrta Auction. These mini square-shouldered peppers (weighing 30 to 35 g) are available in limited quantities from April, in red, yellow and brown.

Aubergines: firm and glossy
The Flandria quality of aubergines translates into firm, fresh fruits with a regular shape and a glossy purple skin. Six grades are on offer, depending on weight. Alongside the 5 kg aubergine box, smaller packages are also available on demand. In week 14 (the week before Easter), producers are already promising 200,000 kg of aubergines, and the supply increases throughout April to 300,000 kg. The first peak is expected around week 18, at 350,000 kg/week.

Festive asparagus
Asparagus is unquestionably the top spring vegetable. The queen of vegetables is widely available for the festive Easter period. In week 14, LAVA is expecting some 40,000 kg grown in greenhouses. By the end of April, outdoor asparagus will come on stream, with 150,000 to 200,000 kg expected.

Specialties are becoming more popular
In 2015, Flandria Specialty Street once again offers a wide range of colours, shapes and tastes, all with the Flandria quality guarantee: environmentally sensitive cultivation, fresh every day and uniform premium quality. Specialties are strikingly popular: with the festive season upon us, they are an essential presence on the greengrocery shelves. The steady increase in the area under cultivation guarantees continuous supplies over a longer period. These attractive niche products, perfectly in tune with the trend for 'healthy snacking', will definitely appeal to customers.

The greengrocery shelves put on their Easter bonnets
The LAVA auctions guarantee a handsome range of home-grown fruit and vegetables and specialties in the run-up to Easter. A festive array of 'home-grown' early spring vegetables in the shop will inspire shoppers to conjure up something new for Easter. An attractive presentation will give your greengrocery shelves that special Easter look. The combination of premium Flandria quality, expert advice and personal service is a sure-fire way of boosting your sales during the festive period.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

La saison des primeurs belge débute en fanfare !

En février, les primeurs précoces étaient les annonciateurs du printemps, mais ce mois-ci, la saison est véritablement lancée. En avril, les criées LAVA s'attendent à recevoir d'importants volumes de produits belges. Dans les semaines qui viennent, surprenez vos clients en leur proposant de délicieux légumes bien de chez nous, toujours très sains !

De délicieux présages
Les premières caisses de concombres, de tomates, de poivrons, d'aubergines, de courgettes, etc. ont été vendues au cadran dès fin janvier, début février. La première récolte d'asperges de serre s'est avérée exceptionnellement précoce cette année. La saison des produits belges redémarre en fanfare et des volumes conséquents seront disponibles dès mars et avril. Comme chaque année, en ce printemps, les criées LAVA proposent des légumes primeurs de chez nous, à l'aspect irréprochable, frais du jour et cultivés suivant des méthodes durables. Cette qualité supérieure se reconnaît au label Flandria.

Des tomates au goût de printemps
Les superficies de production des tomates classiques (Baron, Prince et Tomabel) restent inchangées cette année. Les tomates en grappes traditionnelles sont quant à elles en recul, tant l'Elite, que la Princess et la Tomabel. La superficie de tomates allongées Prunella (en vrac / grappes) recule également.
Depuis peu, un assortiment varié de tomates belges est de nouveau disponible quotidiennement, chacune avec un goût, une couleur, une taille et une forme qui lui sont propres. Le choix est suffisamment vaste pour répondre aux souhaits les plus divers du commerce et des consommateurs. Pendant la semaine qui précède Pâques, l'approvisionnement de tomates Baron, la tomate charnue belge polyvalente par excellence, devrait être supérieur à 1 million de kg, après quoi la production atteindra un sommet de 2,5 à 3 millions de kilos par semaine.
La tomate en grappes Elite se profile comme " la tomate de bouche ", le slogan 'Real Taste' sur l'emballage devrait achever d'en convaincre le client. Le volume de tomates en grappes progresse pour atteindre 1 million de kg pendant la semaine 14 et jusqu'à 1,5 à 2 millions de kg par semaine pendant les semaines 15 et 16, avant d'atteindre un sommet pendant la semaine 18 avec 2,5 à 3 millions de kg.
Veiling Hoogstraten propose un volume de tomates en grappes (Princess) de qualité irréprochable grâce aux cultures éclairées et, depuis mars, les volumes de tomates allongées ont connu une nette progression.

Des poivrons de toutes les couleurs
En 2015, une extension des superficies est prévue pour toutes les couleurs. Les premiers poivrons verts ont été récoltés à la mi-février et l'offre disponible est d'ores et déjà importante. La production de poivrons rouges a commencé au début du mois de mars, ils seront suivis par les jaunes et les oranges. Dès la mi-mars, toutes les couleurs seront donc représentées au cadran et en avril, le volume progressera encore fortement. La qualité Flandria garantit des fruits fermes à la belle couleur uniforme et à la surface lisse. Avec leurs couleurs fraîches, les poivrons attirent tous les regards dans le rayon des légumes. Sans oublier qu'il est très riche en vitamine C, n'hésitez pas parler de cet avantage santé à vos clients.
Outre les traditionnels poivrons (rouges, jaunes, verts et oranges), les criées LAVA proposent des " specialties ", entre autres le Corno di Toro, un poivron pointu doux, le piccantina, un poivron espagnol relevé (rouge, vert, orange et jaune) et le baby, le dernier " paprika specialty " de Veiling Belorta. Ce mini poivron de forme traditionnelle (30-35 g) est disponible dès le mois d'avril en rouge, jaune et brun.

Aubergines : fermes et brillantes
Pour les aubergines, la qualité Flandria se traduit par des fruits fermes et frais, à la forme régulière et à la belle couleur violette brillante. Six calibres sont proposés en fonction du poids. Outre les caisses de 5 kg les aubergines sont disponibles à la demande en petits emballages. Pour la semaine 14 (celle qui précède Pâques), les producteurs promettent un approvisionnement de 200 000 kg, avant une progression à 300 000 kg dans le courant du mois d'avril. Un premier sommet devrait se produire vers la semaine 18, avec 350 000 kg par semaine.

Les asperges, un met festif
L'asperge est sans conteste le légume du printemps. La reine des légumes est disponible en grande quantité pour la période festive de Pâques. Pendant la semaine 14, LAVA s'attend à recevoir environ 40 000 kg de culture de serre. À la fin du mois d'avril, les asperges issues de la culture de plein air feront leur apparition dans les magasins, avec des volumes prévisionnels de 150 000 à 200 000 kg.

La popularité croissante des specialties
En 2015 également, Flandria Specialty Street propose un vaste assortiment de couleurs, de formes et de goûts, toujours avec la garantie de qualité de Flandria : une culture respectueuse de l'environnement, des produits frais du jour et une qualité supérieure uniforme. Les specialties sont extrêmement populaires. À l'approche des fêtes de Pâques, ils ne peuvent en aucun cas être absents du rayon des légumes. Une croissance progressive de la superficie de culture garantit une offre permanente pendant une plus longue période. Ces produits de niche attrayants qui s'inscrivent en plein dans la tendance du " healthy snacking " (les snacks sains) séduiront sans aucun doute les clients.

Un rayon des légumes pascal en toute beauté
À l'approche de Pâques, les criées LAVA garantissent une offre abondante de légumes-fruits du pays et de specialties. Une palette festive de primeurs printanières " bien de chez nous " dans les magasins fournit l'inspiration nécessaire pour apporte de la variation dans les assiettes printanières. À l'approche de Pâques, une présentation attrayante donnera un air de fête à votre rayon des légumes. Associez la qualité supérieure Flandria à un conseil professionnel et au service personnalisé pour booster à coup sûr votre chiffre d'affaires pendant cette période de fête.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact