Peppers available for sampling at French early markets

Our French neighbours seem to be increasingly fond of Flandria peppers, according to the export figures. Summer events at the early markets in Marseille, Lyon and Rungis are designed to encourage shoppers to choose the premium quality and attractive range offered by Flandria.

Export figures rising
There is clear growth to be seen in exports of Flandria peppers to France: the volume rose from 7,000 tons in 2014 to 9,000 tons in 2015, a 30% increase. “We are neighbours, so the short distances involved mean that produce can quickly get where it needs to be, so it stays lovely and fresh”, explains Vanessa Ringler, business development manager for the French market at the Flemish Agricultural and Fisheries Marketing Board (VLAM).

Events at early markets
Shoppers at early markets this month can get to know the extensive range of Flandria peppers in various towns (Rungis, Marseille, Lyon). They can find out about the quality label and the wide range of products offered by Flandria. The intention is to enable them to learn about not just the traditional peppers, but also the Flandria pepper in all its many guises and sizes.
“We serve up three canapes with peppers, sweet pointed peppers and mini-peppers. We also demonstrate how peppers can be cooked on the barbecue. In Marseille and Lyon we work with a fixed base, a Flandria food truck where three canapes are dished up with peppers, sweet pointed peppers and mini-peppers. In Rungis, we have opted for distributing our canapes from a sort of delivery tricycle ('triporteur') which circulates round the four halls where we have wholesalers and we announce our presence in all the (ten) halls with personalised Segways.”

A finger on the pulse of the market
The VLAM team for the French market and commercial representatives from the Flandria auctions Coöperatie Hoogstraten and BelOrta are lending their support to these events.
“Our main aim via these B2B actions is to talk to buyers. We are creating a unique opportunity to get to know our wholesalers personally. This offers the chance to gain more insight into what's going on in the market, and react more accurately to it. We hope to provide our Belgian exporters and their French wholesalers with the necessary commercial support”, is how Vanessa Ringler explains it.

Actions up until early July
There are taster sessions planned at the following three early markets:
• Marseille : 22 June
• Lyon : 23 June
• Rungis : 6 July

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Dégustations de poivrons sur les marchés matinaux français

La popularité des poivrons Flandria ne cesse de croître chez nos voisins français, c'est ce qu'illustrent les chiffres de nos exportations. L'organisation d'animations estivales sur les marchés matinaux de Marseille, Lyon et Rungis a pour but de convaincre les acheteurs de la qualité supérieure et de la gamme variée proposées par Flandria.

Des exportations en progression
Les exportations de poivrons Flandria vers la France ont clairement le vent en poupe : de 7 000 tonnes en 2014 à 9 000 tonnes en 2015, soit une augmentation de 30 %. " Nous sommes des pays voisins, grâce aux faibles distances qui nous séparent, le produit est rapidement acheminé sur place et il reste très frais ", explique Vanessa Ringler, business development manager pour le marché français au Vlaams Centrum voor Agro- en Visserijmarketing (VLAM).

Des animations sur les marchés matinaux
En ce mois, les acheteurs des marchés matinaux de plusieurs villes françaises (Rungis, Marseille, Lyon) ont l'occasion de découvrir la vaste gamme de poivrons Flandria. Ils recevront également des informations à propos de la marque de qualité et de l'offre étendue proposées par Flandria. Cette action a pour but de faire découvrir, en plus des poivrons traditionnels, les poivrons Flandria de toutes les formes et dimensions.
" Nous servons systématiquement trois bouchées à base de poivron, de poivron allongé doux et de mini-poivrons. L'utilisation des poivrons au BBQ fait également l'objet d'une démonstration. À Marseille et Lyon, nous avons recours à un endroit permanent : un foodtruck Flandria où nous servons en permanence trois bouchées à base de poivron, de poivron allongé doux et de mini-poivrons. À Rungis, nous avons opté pour la distribution de bouchées avec un triporteur qui circule dans les quatre halls oµ nous comptons des grossistes et nous annonçons notre présence dans tous les (dix) halls à l'aide de Segways personnalisés. "

Prendre le pouls du marché
L'équipe du VLAM affectée au marché français et les représentants commerciaux des criées Flandria Hoogstraten Coöperatie et BelOrta ont apporté leur collaboration à ces actions.
 " Par ces actions B2B, nous voulons principalement toucher les acheteurs. Nous créons une occasion unique d'apprendre à connaître personnellement nos grossistes. Nous avons ainsi l'opportunité d'avoir une meilleure vision de ce qui se passe sur le marché et d'y réagir de façon plus adéquate. Nous souhaitons ainsi apporter un soutien commercial à nos exportateurs belges et à nos grossistes français ", conclut Vanessa Ringler.

Des actions jusqu'au début du mois de juillet
Des dégustations sont prévues sur trois marchés matinaux :
• Marseille : le 22 juin
• Lyon : le 23 juin
• Rungis : le 6 juillet.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact