Flandria peppers lend a splash of colour to the BBQ

Summer's here! Flandria offers the trade a dazzling range of peppers in all sorts of packs. Why not display various kinds together for a sunny colour palette. Surprise your customers with tips for the BBQ and promotional deals.

Top months for Southern flavours
The pepper season got off to a flying start. The auctions are once again offering the trade home-grown quality produce. The area is increasing year on year, meaning that substantial quantities can be grown. In 2015, this amounted to a total of about 46,000 tons, with red peppers accounting for about 50%.
Peppers are available from February to December, with peak supplies from June to October. The LAVA auctions guarantee substantial levels of fresh supply every day, with peaks in July, August and September.
The LAVA auctions are expecting the following supplies every week in weeks 27-32:
• 800,000 to 1 million kg of red peppers
• 300,000 to 400,000 kg of green peppers
• 300,000 to 400,000 kg of yellow peppers

The secret of success
An efficient internal and external system to inspect the production process and the harvest guarantees that Flandria peppers meet high quality and environmental standards:
• uniform colour
• firm flesh
• fresh, glossy surface
• regular shape
• length at least as great as width
• undamaged green stalk
• fresh fruit stem with smooth cut surface
• free of tears, marks or burns.

The quality action plan (QAP) provides an answer to the challenges from the market:
• extra efforts through quality refinement
• more frequent harvesting in warm weather
• restricting damage from bruising

Unique central grading system
Peppers are graded by colour (red, yellow, green and orange) and diameter: 63-75 mm, 73-85 mm, 83-95 mm, 95-105 mm and class +105 mm. This guarantees homogeneous quality in each pack.
The default arrangement is for Flandria peppers to be packed in boxes. This quality product is supplied in various types of packaging. In bulk (E-T or Flandria boxes). The default arrangement is for Flandria peppers to be packed in boxes. Other types of packaging can be supplied if the trade so requests.

Smaller packs offer added value
And there is the great flexibility of meeting the demand for smaller packs. The auctions respond to demand for smaller packs by using smaller sizes (+85 and +75).
• duo packs (BelOrta): cardboard trays with red and yellow pepper wrapped in film
• stoplight packs (Coöperatie Hoogstraten).
Smaller packs do a good job of spotlighting the bright colour of the peppers. The summery appearance gives the product added value on the greengrocery shelf.

Optimum storage
Obviously, as a shopkeeper you will want to keep these southern vegetables at their best, so that they remain attractive.
o Always keep peppers covered to stop them drying out.
o Never place them near vegetables that give off ethylene, such as tomatoes.
o Keep them in their original packaging to prevent damage.
o Avoid excessive variations in temperature.
o Never display in the sun.
Advise customers to keep their peppers in a cool place (not in the fridge!), at 10 to 13 °C. Once unpacked, they will keep for a week, or even longer if they are left in their wrapping.

Colourful and easy to barbecue
As well as being a popular ingredient in pasta dishes, soups, meat dishes and salads, southern fruiting vegetables are also becoming ever more in demand for use on the BBQ. As a shopkeeper, you can capitalise on this new hype! Give your customers some ideas and tips. Grilled vegetable kebabs look trendy as a colourful alternative to meat kebabs. These vegetables are also super on the barbecue if you marinade them first. If your customers fancy stuffing their peppers, the best way is to leave the stalk on for a better appearance. Red or yellow peppers are easier to peel if you plunge them in hot water, pop them in the oven or microwave them. The flavour of the various peppers is very different. The green ones are more savoury. The taste of the red, yellow and orange peppers is rather sweet. Peppers as a vessel for hot or cold sauces look original.

High up on the health list
Peppers are low in calories and a valuable source of vitamins. The orange ones have the highest levels of vitamin C of all peppers. Half of a red, yellow or orange pepper provides a fantastic 65% of the recommended daily dose of vitamin E, an important anti-ageing vitamin which protects the body against heart and vascular diseases. Fibre, calcium and iron complete the picture.

Multiple selling points
The Flandria label offers the trade a whole host of plus points: fresh every day, consistent quality and guaranteed supplies through a long production period. The homogeneity in the packaging adds to the appeal on the greengrocery shelves. And there is the great flexibility of meeting the demand for smaller packs. All in all, Flandria makes the summer look very promising. 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Une compagnie de choix lors des BBQ grâce aux poivrons Flandria

L'été est là ! Flandria propose au commerce une superbe gamme de poivrons présentés dans divers emballages. Vous pouvez présenter les lots de manière à former une palette de couleurs ensoleillées. Étonnez les clients en leur proposant des astuces pour le BBQ et des actions promotionnelles.

Des mois de choix pour les saveurs méridionales
La saison des poivrons débute bien. Les criées proposent de nouveau aux commerçants des produits de qualité bien de chez nous. Une superficie croissante assure chaque année un volume important. En 2015, il s'agissait d'un total de près de 46.000 tonnes, dont environ 50 % de poivrons rouges.
Les poivrons sont disponibles de février à décembre, avec un sommet de juin à octobre. En juillet, août et septembre, les criées LAVA garantissent un approvisionnement important de légumes frais du jour.
Pendant les semaines 27 à 32 incluses, les criées LAVA s'attendent à recevoir chaque semaine :
• 800 000 à 1 million de kg de poivrons rouges
• 300 000 à 400 000 kg de poivrons verts
• 300 000 à 400 000 kg de poivrons jaunes

Le secret du succès
Un système de contrôle externe et interne efficace du processus de production et de la récolte garantit la conformité des poivrons Flandria à des exigences strictes imposées en matière de qualité et de respect de l'environnement :
• une couleur uniforme ;
• une chair ferme ;
• une surface fraîche et brillante ;
• une forme uniforme ;
• une longueur au moins égale à la largeur ;
• un sépale vert intact ;
• une tige fraîche et un point de coupe lisse ;
• exempt de fissures, de taches ou de brûlures.

Le plan d'action de qualité (PAQ) a pour but d'apporter une réponse aux défis auxquels le marché est confronté :
• des efforts supplémentaires par l'affinement de la qualité ;
• des récoltes plus fréquentes en cas de chaleur ;
• la limitation des blessures sur les fruits.

Un système de tri centralisé unique
Le tri se fait en fonction de la couleur (rouge, jaune, vert et orange) et du diamètre : 63-75 mm, 73-85 mm, 83-95 mm, 95-105 mm, et classe +105 mm. Flandria garantit ainsi une qualité homogène dans chaque emballage.
Par défaut, les poivrons Flandria sont conditionnés dans des caisses.
Ce produit de qualité est livré dans plusieurs types d'emballages. En vrac (caisses E-T ou Flandria). Par défaut, les poivrons Flandria sont conditionnés dans des caisses. D'autres emballages sont disponibles à la demande.

La plus-value des petits emballages
Une grande flexibilité permet de répondre à la demande de nouveaux emballages. Les criées réagissent aux souhaits de petits emballages et de plus petits calibres (+85 et +75).
• Emballage duo (BelOrta) : des barquettes en carton contenant un poivron rouge et un jaune recouverts d'un film.
• L'emballage tricolore (Hoogstraten Coöperatie).
Ce petit emballage met agréablement en valeur la couleur éclatante des poivrons. L'aspect estival du produit apporte une plus-value dans le rayon des légumes.

Une conservation optimale
Évidemment, le commerçant que vous êtes souhaite conserver ces légumes méridionaux dans des conditions optimales afin qu'ils restent attrayants.
o Couvrez toujours les poivrons afin d'éviter qu'ils ne se dessèchent.
o Ne les placez pas à côté de variétés de légumes qui dégagent de l'éthylène, par exemple les tomates.
o Laissez-les toujours dans leur emballage d'origine pour éviter qu'ils ne se détériorent.
o Évitez les grands écarts de température.
o Ne les exposez jamais en plein soleil.
Conseillez aux clients de conserver les poivrons dans un endroit frais (pas au réfrigérateur !) à une température de 10 à 13 °C. Une fois sortis de leur emballage, ils se conservent sans problème pendant une semaine, emballés encore plus longtemps.

Des barbecues colorés et légers
Outre leur utilisation classique dans les pâtes, les soupes, les plats de viande et les salades, les légumes-fruits constituent un accompagnement sain et de plus en plus populaire lors des BBQ. Les commerçants comme vous réagissent à cette nouvelle mode ! Donnez des idées et des conseils à vos clients. Les brochettes de légumes grillées comme variante colorée aux brochettes de viande font fureur en ce moment. Marinées aussi, elles remporteront un franc succès lors des barbecues. Pour farcir le poivron, il est préférable d'en enlever la tige, il aura ainsi plus belle apparence. Il est plus aisé d'éplucher les poivrons jaunes et rouges après les avoir fait chauffer dans de l'eau chaude, au four ou au micro-ondes.  Le goût des divers poivrons est très variable. Les verts ont un goût légèrement piquant. Tandis que les rouges, les jaunes et les oranges sont plutôt doux. Les poivrons peuvent aussi s'utiliser comme récipient pour les sauces, ils apportent ainsi une note d'originalité sur votre table.

Un allié santé de choix
Les poivrons sont pauvres en calories et ils représentent une importante source de vitamines. De tous les poivrons, l'orange est celui qui contient le plus de vitamine C. Un demi-poivron rouge, jaune ou orange apporte pas moins de 65 % de l'apport quotidien nécessaire de vitamine E, une importante vitamine anti-âge, qui protège aussi l'organisme contre les maladies cardio-vasculaires. Sans oublier des fibres et du calcium.

De nombreux atouts de vente
Le label Flandria offre de nombreux atouts aux commerçants : un produit frais du jour, une qualité constante et un approvisionnement garanti pendant de longues périodes de production. L'homogénéité dans l'emballage accroît l'attractivité dans le rayon des légumes. Sans oublier la grande flexibilité des producteurs pour répondre à la demande de petits conditionnements. En résumé, grâce à Flandria, l'été s'annonce prometteur.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact