Beans - the taste of summer!

Beans are unquestionably one of the great culinary pleasures of the summer. From the end of June, there are ample supplies available. Retailers can rely on a super-fresh, Flandria quality Belgian product until late into the autumn. They can be sold both on the clock and at weekly prices.

More volume, a longer season
The expansion in the area under cultivation has meant higher production in particular of French beans, wax beans and string beans year on year. The Belgian bean season gets into its stride in June. July, August and September are top months and the LAVA auctions expect large quantities then.

• String beans: June: 100,000 kg; July and August: 140,000 kg
• Wax beans: June: 10,000 kg; July and August: 25,000 kg
• Round beans: June: 35,000 kg; July: 110,000 kg; August: 180,000 kg

The continuous shift from outdoor cultivation to growing under glass guarantees a staggered harvest, and therefore earlier and later production. Supplies are guaranteed until week 45/46. The LAVA auctions can therefore sell larger quantities of a handsome, homogeneous product over a longer period, which is beneficial for the trade!

Top quality
Controlled cultivation guarantees environmentally friendly production and top quality. Flandria quality means:
• products are picked young
• a fresh green colour
• uniformly dark green or uniformly yellow (depending on the variety)
• firm and crunchy
• a regular shape
• no traces of damage
• no threads

Flandria greenhouse string beans
Only string beans grown under glass are marketed under Flandria. The trade gets young, tender and straight string beans with a broad, long pod. The colour is deep green and the string bean is intact and free of any damage. There are hardly any beans in the pod.
Flandria string beans are graded by:
Colour: green and yellow varieties
Length and width of the pod: Flandria Extra or double Extra
+22 cm FL: 'very good quality' and uniform grading and careful presentation.
FL+: excellent quality, very careful presentation and very uniform grading.
External quality characteristics
• They meet the European standards for class I
• Minimum width: 1.5 cm
• Maximum width: 2.5 cm

On the clock and in pre-sale
Flandria beans (green, wax beans, mangetout) are graded and presented very carefully. Uniform grading guarantees a homogeneous product and attractive presentation in the packaging. Some growers carefully place two rows of beans in the crate.
The standard presentation for beans is in packs of 3 kg loose in EPS-tomato with a cover sheet on the clock. The LAVA auctions are also increasingly offering smaller packs in pre-sale: for example 400 g flowpack plastic boxes/trays, a guarantee of freshness and quality. Other types of packaging are available on demand from the trade.
Flandria string beans are graded by quality, colour, curvature and length/width of the pod. The standard presentation is on the clock as a loose product in 4 kg EPS. Other types of packaging such as flowpack cardboard boxes and 400 g flowpack are also possible.
Clock sale and sale at weekly prices are both possible. Via intermediation, standard packaging in 400/500 g trays, or flowpack, can be supplied at the buyer's request.

Keep cool
Display in the greengrocery section in the original packaging and do not stack too close together, to avoid crushing. The cool chain is guaranteed from the farm until the product leaves the auction. To respect the cool chain in the store, products must be kept cool, ideally at 5 to 6 °C and RH of 90-95%. Advise customers to be sure to keep this product cool at home too.

Culinary tips
Popular cookery programmes have stimulated customers' interest in fresh home-grown beans. You can capitalise on this hype by banging the drum for Flandria products: picked nearby, meaning low food miles, super-fresh and with a good long shelf life. And the health aspect also plays a role with consumers. Beans are low in calories and packed with all sorts of healthy extras: fibre, vitamins and minerals, such as calcium, potassium, magnesium and iron.
Give your customers some culinary tips. Beans and string beans taste great when teamed up with other summer vegetables: why not try a salad of potatoes and beans, or a feta salad with peppers, tomato and beans, to make a tasty, super-healthy accompaniment to a barbecue! Another cookery tip to help customers to keep the quality at its very best: boil or steam for ten minutes until they are just al dente, and then plunge them immediately in cold water.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Les haricots, le goût de l'été

Les haricots font incontestablement partie des plaisirs culinaires de l'été. Dès la fin du mois de juin, nous profitons d'un approvisionnement important. Avec Flandria, les détaillants ont la certitude de profiter d'un produit belge de grande fraîcheur jusqu'à la fin de l'automne. La vente se fait au cadran ou selon un prix hebdomadaire.

Un volume plus important, une saison prolongée
L'extension de la superficie de culture entraîne d'année en année une augmentation de la production de haricots princesse, de haricots au beurre et de haricots sabre. La saison des haricots belges passe à la vitesse supérieure en juin. Juillet, août et septembre sont les meilleurs mois de production durant lesquels les criées LAVA peuvent compter sur d'importants volumes.

• haricots sabre : Juin : 100.000 kg ; juillet et août : 140 000 kg.
• haricots au beurre : Juin : 10 000 kg ; juillet et août 25 000 kg.
• Haricots princesse : Juin : 35.000 kg ; juillet : 110.000 kg ; août : 180 000 kg.

Le basculement permanent entre culture d'extérieur et culture sous verre garantit un étalement des récoltes et donc une production précoce et tardive. L'approvisionnement est garanti jusqu'en semaine 45/46. Les criées LAVA sont donc à même de proposer des volumes plus importants d'un beau produit homogène pendant une plus longue période, ce qui ne manque pas d'intérêt pour les commerçant !

La meilleure qualité
La culture contrôlée est le garant d'une production à la fois respectueuse de l'environnement et de qualité supérieure. 
La qualité Flandria signifie :
• récolte de produits jeunes ;
• couleur vert frais ;
• couleur vert foncé ou jaune uniforme (selon la variété) ;
• fermeté et croquant ;
• forme régulière ;
• pas de dommage ;
• pas de fils.

Les haricots sabre Flandria de serre
Seuls des haricots sabre produits sous verre sont commercialisés sous le label Flandria. Le commerce est approvisionné en jeunes haricots sabre tendres et rectilignes, à la cosse large et longue. Leur couleur est vert foncé et ils sont intacts, exempts de toute tache. La cosse contient peu de graines.
Les haricots sabre Flandria sont triés en fonction de plusieurs critères :
couleur : variétés vertes et jaunes
longueur et largeur de la cosse : Flandria Extra ou double Extra
+22 cm FL : " très bonne qualité ", un calibrage uniforme et une présentation soignée.
FL+: qualité excellente, présentation très soignée et calibrage très uniforme.
Caractéristiques de qualité externes
• Répondent aux normes européennes pour la catégorie I
• Largeur minimale : 1,5 cm
• Largeur maximale : 2,5 cm

Au cadran et en prévente
Le tri et la présentation des haricots Flandria (verts, au beurre, pois) sont effectués avec le plus grand soin. Le calibrage uniforme garantit un produit homogène, bien présenté dans son emballage. Certains producteurs déposent soigneusement 2 rangées de haricots dans la caisse.
Par défaut, les haricots sont proposés au cadran en vrac, en caisses de tomate EPS de 3 kg, avec feuille de protection. Les criées LAVA proposent en outre aussi de plus en plus de petits emballages en prévente : p. ex. boîtes en plastique / raviers de 400 g sous flowpack, une garantie de fraîcheur et de qualité. D'autres emballages sont disponibles à la demande.
Le tri des haricots sabres Flandria est effectué sur la base de leur qualité, leur couleur, leur courbure, mais aussi en fonction de la longueur et de la largeur de la cosse. Par défaut, ils sont livrés à la criée en vrac en EPS de 4 kg. D'autres emballages : boîtes en carton sous flowpack, 400 g sous flowpack,... sont possibles.
La vente se fait au cadran ou selon un prix hebdomadaire. Vente négociée : par défaut en barquettes de 400 / 500 g ou sous flowpack, à la demande de l'acheteur.

Conserver au frais
Présentez-les dans le rayon des légumes dans leur emballage d'origine et ne les empilez pas trop serrés afin d'éviter l'échauffement par fermentation. Le respect de la chaîne du froid est garanti du producteur jusqu'au départ de la criée. Pour respecter la chaîne du froid en magasin, la conservation au frais est un must, de préférence à 5 - 6 °C et dans une humidité relative de 90-95 %. Conseillez au client de conserver également ce produit au frais.

Quelques idées culinaires...
Les programmes culinaires suscitent l'intérêt des consommateurs pour les haricots frais de nos contrées. Surfez sur cette vague et présentez les atouts des produits Flandria : cultivés à proximité, donc transport réduit, grande fraîcheur et longue conservation. Sans oublier les aspects sanitaires importants pour le consommateur. Les haricots princesse sont peu caloriques et contiennent de nombreuses substances bénéfiques : fibres, vitamines et minéraux comme le calcium, le potassium, le magnésium et du fer.
Proposez de nouvelles idées culinaires à vos clients. Associés à d'autres légumes estivaux, les haricots princesse / sabre font un tabac : une salade haricots-pommes de terre, une salade à la feta, poivrons, tomates et haricots sont autant d'accompagnements de choix de vos barbecues, très sains qui plus est ! Encore un petit conseil de cuisson pour conserver une qualité optimale : cuire pendant une dizaine de minutes à l'eau ou à la vapeur pour qu'ils restent croquants avant de les plonger dans de l'eau glacée.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact