Flandria fennel is essential in the summer range

Fennel, which used to be such an outsider, has become a classic without which no summer range would now be complete. Flandria quality, good levels of availability and unbroken supplies into November are guaranteed. Appropriate sales systems meet the wishes of retail and wholesale alike.

Quantities available into the autumn
Because our climate is so suitable, and thanks to increasing interest from growers, the LAVA auctions have seen a steady rise in fennel production over recent years. This year again, production has surged, partly because of production under glass, which has made for an extended low season. The top months for supplies are from July to the end of September: weeks 28-42 are expected to yield between 120,000 and 150,000 heads/week. Even as late as October and early November (W43-45) there is still guaranteed to be 80,000 to 100,000 heads/week.

Optimum Flandria quality
The producers are successfully bringing an attractive, healthy product to market. What marks it out from foreign product is a strong set of specifications and inspection standards applied by the auction.
Inspectors guarantee optimum Flandria quality:
• clean colour: white to pale green
• well shaped, without side shoots
• no roots, short leaves
• no brown marks or damage
• the bulb feels firm
• uniform bulb shape in the pack
• fresh green leaves trimmed to 10 cm

Uniform presentation
Flandria fennel is divided up according to the number of heads per crate, and may vary: 6, 8, 10, 12 heads/crate (always 4 kg/crate). Homogeneity in the crate is guaranteed by grading according to the same weight/head, which makes for an attractive consistent presentation in the crate. The standard arrangement is 8 heads/crate in EPS-T (4 kg). Boxes can also be supplied to order, particularly for export.

Sale on the clock and intermediation
Large quantities are sold on the clock. Retailers can set up seasonal contracts with the LAVA auctions. This guarantees continuous supplies of product throughout the season at fixed prices. In addition, various sales systems are available which respond to the specific demands of large customers and retailers alike, such as weekly agreements, daily prices and so on.

Shopping tips for good storage
• present in the original packaging in the greengrocery section
• overnight chilling from 0-1°C and RH of 90 to 95% is ideal
• never place boxes of fennel in a draught
• mist regularly to prevent drying out, and cover against draughts
Explain the best storage methods to your customers, and tell them about all the advantages of Flandria. Advise them to keep their fennel in the salad drawer in the fridge.

Truly versatile in the kitchen!
The slightly aniseed flavour takes some getting used to, but that is precisely what makes it so surprising and so popular with children. This healthy vegetable is low in calories, easy to digest and a superb source of vitamins A and C, as well as being rich in minerals. The true devotee enjoys raw fennel finely chopped in salads: this is when the typical aniseed flavour comes through most strongly. Fennel can be grilled, stuffed, braised or made into a purée. If you cook it, it makes a perfect accompaniment for chicken or fish. One original dish your customers will enjoy is cream of fennel soup with the fresh leaves as a garnish or to heighten the flavour.
The sky really is the limit with this versatile vegetable: in a stir-fry, it goes brilliantly with those other favourite summer vegetables: cucumber, courgette, aubergine, tomato and peppers. Why not put on a stir-fry tasting session to show your customers just how versatile this vegetable is? Tempt them to take the summer home with them and give your sales a boost!

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Le fenouil Flandria, un must de l'assortiment estival

Le fenouil, autrefois légume insolite, est à présent devenu un classique indispensable dans l'assortiment estival. La qualité Flandria, de beaux volumes et un approvisionnement continu sont garantis jusqu'au début du mois de novembre. Des systèmes de vente adéquats répondent aux souhaits du commerce de détail.

Des volumes garantis jusqu'à l'automne.
Ces dernières années, grâce à notre climat propice et à l'intérêt croissant des producteurs, les criées LAVA ont vu augmenter progressivement la production de fenouil. Cette année encore, la production a fortement augmenté, entre autres grâce à la culture sous verre qui garantit une arrière-saison prolongée. Le plus fort de l'approvisionnement arrive entre juillet et fin septembre : pendant les semaines 28-42, les volumes devraient atteindre 120 000 à 150 000 pièces par semaine. Fin octobre et pendant la première semaine de novembre (43-45) un approvisionnement de 80 000 à 100 000 pièces par semaine est encore garanti.

La qualité optimale Flandria
Les producteurs sont à même de commercialiser un produit sain et attrayant. Ils se distinguent des produits étrangers par un cahier des charges strict et par les normes de certification pratiquées par les criées.
Des inspecteurs garantissent la qualité optimale des produits Flandria :
• une couleur pure : blanc immaculé à vert clair ;
• bien formé, exempt de rejets latéraux et de coups ;
• exempt de racines, fanes courtes ;
• pas de taches brunes ou de blessures ;
• le bulbe est ferme au toucher ;
• présentation uniforme dans l'emballage ;
• la feuille est vert pâle, coupée à 10 cm.

Une présentation uniforme
Le fenouil Flandria est trié en fonction des pièces/boîte et il peut varier : 6, 8, 10, 12 pièces/boîte (poids constant de 4 kg/boîte). L'homogénéité dans la boîte est assurée par un calibrage selon un même poids/pièce, ce qui garantit une belle présentation cohérente dans la boîte. Par défaut, boîte de 8 pièces en EPS-T (4 kg). Nous pouvons aussi fournir le produit à la commande, principalement pour l'exportation.

Vente au cadrant et négociée
Des volumes importants sont proposés au cadran. Pour les détaillants, les criées LAVA concluent des contrats saisonniers. Ils garantissent un produit continu pendant toute la saison, à un prix fixe. Il existe également plusieurs systèmes de vente qui interagissent sur les souhaits spécifiques des grands acheteurs tels que le commerce de détail : accords hebdomadaires, prix quotidiens, etc.

Conseils de conservation à l'intention des commerçants
• Présentez-les dans le rayon des légumes dans leur emballage d'origine.
• La nuit, une température de 0-1 °C et une humidité relative de 90 à 95 % est idéale.
• Ne placez jamais les bacs de fenouil dans les courants d'air.
• Humidifiez-les régulièrement pour éviter qu'ils ne se dessèchent et couvrez-les pour qu'ils ne subissent pas les courants d'air.
Insistez auprès de vos clients sur la durée de conservation de ce produit, qui est un atout du label Flandria. Conseillez aux clients de les conserver dans le tiroir du réfrigérateur.

Un légume polyvalent en cuisine !
Il se distingue par son léger goût d'anis, qui est précisément ce qui rend ce légume si étonnant et apprécié des enfants. Sain et pauvre en calories, le fenouil se digère aisément. Il apporte une forte dose de vitamines A et C et est riche en minéraux. Les vrais amateurs apprécient le fenouil cru, finement coupé, en salade : c'est ainsi que son goût anisé typique est le plus prononcé. Il peut aussi être grillé, farci, à l'étouffée, en purée, etc. Cuit, il s'accorde à merveille avec la volaille et le poisson. Conseil original pour vos clients : crème de fenouil et feuilles fraîches en garniture ou comme exhausteur de goût.

Ce légume polyvalent offre de nombreuses possibilités en cuisine. Au wok, il s'harmonise parfaitement avec d'autres stars estivales du rayon des légumes : concombre, courgette, aubergine, tomates et poivrons. Faites découvrir ce légume aux multiples facettes à vos clients en leur proposant une dégustation au wok ! Vous créerez ainsi l'envie de mettre l'été dans leurs assiettes et vous doperez vos ventes !

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact