Two-pronged policy in VLAM annual programme

The Flemish Agricultural and Fisheries Marketing Board (VLAM) is again pursuing a two-pronged policy this year. Export promotion to third countries remains a hot item, but Flemings are being served up an extra dollop of culinary chauvinism. Flandria advertising is using the slogan: "Driven by our craft!'.

The Asian market is beckoning
The Flemish Agricultural and Fisheries Marketing Board (VLAM) is continuing its strong focus on export promotion in 2016. Since Russia closed its borders to Western agricultural and food products, the sector is more aware than ever of the importance of a good spread of markets. About a quarter of the budget is spent by VLAM on B2B actions abroad, the aim being to focus buyers' attention on Flemish agricultural and horticultural products. The Asian market is beckoning and efforts are therefore being concentrated on contact days and attendance at shows in that part of the world.
VLAM also has its sights firmly set on Canada. The Canadian food safety authorities gave the go-ahead last year for imports of Belgian pears. In terms of the promotion of fruit and vegetables, the US, Russia, Japan, India, Kazakhstan and the United Arab Emirates are also target markets outside of Europe.

Export strategy
The calendar for 2016 is packed with 22 international trade shows, as well as the organisation of market prospecting trips to India, Bulgaria, Serbia, Slovakia and Hungary. VLAM wants to match the export effect of the various sectors better, and where possible, adopt an approach that spans the sectors. Each sector has its own export strategy worked out, new markets are defined and operational programmes worked out. VLAM's own in-house export unit provides the necessary basic information required in order to achieve the ambitions effectively.

Core markets in Europe
VLAM is also continuing to work within Europe on developing existing markets and searching for new sales areas. The core markets for the promotion of fruit and vegetables remain France and Germany. In both these countries, the Flandria brand is drawn to purchasers' attention all year long. The promotional campaign for Conference pears in Germany has been extended by one year and all Germans will be able to sample our pears. Attendance at trade shows in Berlin (Fruit Logistica) and Madrid (Fruit Attraction) remain an important plank in promotion at European level. Bulgaria is the new market being explored within the EU in 2016.

Joint show stand at Fruit Logistica
To VLAM, the search for new markets is also a matter of good cooperation with the Flemish export platform Flanders Investment & Trade (FIT). A joint show stand is in the pipeline, to be run for the first time at Fruit Logistica in Berlin (3 to 5 February). VLAM is handling the promotional side for fresh products (vegetables, meat, etc.), while FIT is dealing with Flemish processed food products, in close collaboration with businesses and exporters.

Domestic promotion
75 per cent of the budget is used for promotion on the domestic market. Unlike abroad, where actions are focused on B2B, the domestic campaigns mostly target consumers. This year, VLAM is continuing to remind Flemings about their own delicious home-grown food heritage ('lekkers van bij ons'). Consumers can enjoy the promotion of good, honest, down-to-earth home-grown products via radio, TV and the daily and weekly press. The flagship at home is the cookery platform 'Lekker van bij ons', plus the adverts. Every year, VLAM's recently revamped cookery platform reaches a million cookery fans.

Flandria promotion
A whole battery of promotional actions will be rolled out per sector for 2016. Flandria has developed into a quality reference for fruit and vegetables. This quality is communicated through the message: 'Flandria is fresh, sustainable and tasty'. This is the result of the growers' hard work. So the message is also 'Heart and soul for our style!'. For the retail side, personal appointments are made and promotional campaigns matched to their communication channels.
Also in 2016, the fruit and vegetable sector will be making funding available via VLAM for the school fruit campaign sponsored by Europe. This allows schools to distribute fruit and vegetables every week to school students at an affordable price.

European subsidies
European subsidies are more and more important in the funding of promotional campaigns. From 2016, the cofinancing percentages go up to 70 and even 80 per cent for export promotion in third countries. In addition, the EU is releasing more money for the promotion of agricultural products. By 2020, there will be an annual budget of 200 million euro, easily three times what it was until recently.

Source: VILT.be

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Une stratégie en deux volets pour le programme annuel du VLAM

Le Vlaams Centrum voor Agro- en Visserijmarketing (VLAM) suivra cette année à nouveau une stratégie en deux volets. La promotion des exportations vers des pays tiers demeure un sujet de choix, bien que nos compatriotes génèrent une bonne part de chauvinisme culinaire. Flandria communiquera le message : 'C'est meilleur quand on y met du coeur.

Le marché asiatique dans le viseur
En 2016 comme avant, le Vlaams Centrum voor Agro- en Visserijmarketing (VLAM) investira largement dans la promotion des exportations. Depuis que la Russie a fermé ses frontières aux produits agro-alimentaires occidentaux, le secteur est plus que jamais conscient de l'importance de la diversification des marchés. Près d'un quart du budget du VLAM est consacré à des actions B2B à l'étranger. Ces dépenses ont pour but de mettre en avant les produits agricoles et maraîchers flamands auprès des responsables des ventes. Le marché asiatique est dans le viseur et le VLAM investit dans des journées de contact et des participations à des salons organisés dans cette partie du monde.
Le VLAM vise également le Canada. L'année dernière, l'autorité de sécurité alimentaire canadienne a autorisé l'importation de poires belges. Pour la promotion des fruits et légumes, plusieurs marchés sont ciblés en dehors de l'Europe : les États-Unis, la Russie, le Japon, l'Inde, le Kazakhstan et les Émirats arabes unis.

Stratégie d'exportation
En 2016, nous prévoyons la participation à 22 salons professionnels internationaux, ainsi que l'organisation de campagnes de prospection du marché en Inde, en Bulgarie, en Serbie, en Slovaquie et en Hongrie. Le VLAM souhaite mieux harmoniser le fonctionnement des exportations des divers secteurs et, si possible, les aborder suivant une approche globale pour le secteur. Une stratégie d'exportation a été mise au point pour chaque secteur, de nouveaux marchés cibles ont été définis et des programmes opérationnels mis au point. Grâce à sa cellule d'exportation, le VLAM dispose des informations de base nécessaires pour travailler de manière ciblée.

Les principaux marchés en Europe
En Europe aussi, le VLAM travaille au développement de marchés existants et à la recherche de nouvelles zones d'exportation. La France et l'Allemagne sont toujours les principaux marchés pour la promotion des fruits et légumes. Dans ces deux pays, le label Flandria est en permanence mis en avant auprès des acheteurs. La campagne de promotion des poires Conférence menée en Allemagne est prolongée d'un an ; tous les Allemands auront l'opportunité de goûter nos poires. La participation à des salons à Berlin (Fruit Logistica) et Madrid (Fruit Attraction) demeurent un élément important de l'action promotionnelle sur le territoire européen. En 2016, la Bulgarie sera le nouveau marché exploré au sein de l'UE.

Un stand commun au salon Fruit Logisitica
Pour le VLAM, la recherche de nouveaux marchés est aussi une question de collaboration efficace avec la plate-forme d'exportation flamande Flanders Investment & Trade (FIT). Un stand commun sera tenu pour la première fois à l'occasion du salon Fruit Logistica à Berlin (du 3 au 5 février). Le VLAM y fera la promotion des produits frais (légumes, viande, etc.) tandis que le FIT fera la promotion des produits alimentaires flamands transformés, en étroite collaboration avec le secteur des entreprises et des exportateurs.

Promotion à l'étranger
75 pour cent du budget est consacré à la promotion sur les marchés étrangers. En dehors de l'étranger, où sont menées des actions orientées B2B, les campagnes menées dans le pays sont principalement axées sur le consommateur. Cette année encore, le VLAM rappellera que les produits sont " bien de chez nous ". Le consommateur pourra profiter de la promotion de délicieux produits de chez nous (qui sont d'ailleurs aussi équitables) à la radio, à la télévision ainsi que dans les journaux et les magazines. Dans notre pays, en plus des spots publicitaires diffusés sur la première chaîne de télévision, nous présentons notre image sur la plate-forme culinaire " Bien de chez nous ". Chaque année, le VLAM touche un million de gourmets par sa plate-forme culinaire récemment rafraîchie.

La promotion Flandria
Une série d'actions promotionnelles sera lancée pour chaque secteur en 2016. Flandria est devenu une référence de qualité en matière de fruits et légumes. Cette qualité est communiquée par le message  'Flandria c'est frais, durable et  avec plein de goût. Tel est le résultat du dur labeur des producteurs. Le message qui sera diffusé est 'C'est meilleur quand on y met du coeur'. Des accords personnels sont conclus avec les détaillants et des actions de promotion sont harmonisées en fonction de leurs canaux de communication.
En 2016 également, le secteur des fruits et légumes mettra les moyens du VLAM à la disposition des écoles pour l'action fruits à l'école sponsorisée par l'Europe. Grâce à cette intervention, les écoles peuvent distribuer chaque semaine à leurs élèves des fruits et légumes à des prix avantageux.

Des subsides européens
Les subsides européens prennent une place sans cesse croissante dans le financement des campagnes promotionnelles. Dès 2016, les pourcentages de cofinancement de la promotion des exportations vers les pays tiers passeront à 70 et parfois même à 80 pour cent. De plus, l'UE libère des moyens supplémentaires pour la promotion des produits agricoles. D'ici à 2020, il est question d'un budget annuel de 200 millions d'euros, soit plus de trois fois le budget actuel.

Source: VILT.be

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact