Chinese leaves are a 'home-grown' vegetable

The popularity of Chinese leaves is showing a sharp rise. This is a healthy vegetable which is now widely available and has some great selling points: impeccable Flandria quality, local and sustainably grown. Cold temperatures make promotional campaigns all the more timely.

Growing demand
The name 'Chinese leaves' is somewhat misleading, because although the vegetable does look like a cabbage, it lacks that pronounced cabbage-like flavour. It is a loose head of elongated, curly leaves with a wide, juicy vein. The vegetable has a slightly sweet flavour. Its popularity is enjoying a boost thanks to the interest in exotic cuisine and the trend for stir-fries and wok dishes.

Ample supplies in winter
The 2015 LAVA key figures reveal a handsome increase in production, and a sharp rise in sales (31%) of this vegetable. Chinese leaves are stored sustainably in the winter in chiller cells. Grading, cleaning and packaging happens on a daily basis. Young Chinese leaves are grown outdoors (supplies until week 24) and under glass and outdoors (after week 24). January, February and March are the main months for supplies. Weeks 5 to 8 are expected to yield between 20,000 and 30,000 units per week.

Flandria premium quality
Flandria-quality Chinese leaves are a premium product with a flawless appearance:
• Smooth, fresh cut surface
• Fresh green colour
• Maximum 2-3 attached outer leaves
• Carefully presented
• Free of flower formation and shoots
• Free of damage and bruising
• Uniform grading and presentation
• Well filled crates

Homogeneous grading
The standard arrangement is for Chinese leaves to be supplied in EPS crates. Other types of packaging can be supplied if the trade requests. Grading is by reference to the size and the weight per crate. Growers must comply with strict grading rules.
• Depending on size: young Chinese leaves (until week 24) with 4 to 8 units/crate
• Weight (loose per crate)
o 4-8 units: 10 kg
o 6 units: 5.5 kg
o 8 units: 4.5 kg
• Packed: 6 units in plastic sleeve per crate meets demand from F1.
• Chinese leaves are the perfect convenience food. They can be packed and supplied per kg for cutting plants and the processing industry.

Cool displays and correct storage
Create a cool presentation in the greengrocery section in a fresh colour palette with other Flandria winter vegetables such as turnips, parsnips, etc. and supply some tips for a perfect combination. Chinese leaves are best stored in an airy place at 0 to 1 °C and R.V. of 90-95%. Be sure to keep separate from products which give off ethylene (such as tomatoes, apples, bananas, citrus fruits, etc.). Advise your customers to keep them in the salad drawer in the fridge, or in a cool place.

A versatile vegetable
Chinese leaves are easy to use and quick to prepare: boiled, steamed, stir-fried in (Oriental) wok dishes, and so on. A stew of Chinese leaves with other winter vegetables (turnips, parsnips, etc.) makes a nutritious winter dish. Suggest that your customers rustle up a hearty winter soup or a simple combination with some scallops. Packages of the complete leaves can be filled with mince or a choice of other ingredients.
The leaves can also be enjoyed raw in a salad. Suggest using the inside part, because the leaves get more tender the closer you get the middle. Thin shavings give an extra twist to a mixed salad. In-store sampling of a salad made from raw leaves offers real health benefits.

Win over your customers
The growing popularity of Chinese leaves is also obvious from the cookery programmes, which are promoting them as a seasonal vegetable. Tap into this trend and win over your customers with some perfect Flandria quality and an attractive display. The current hype around healthy cooking provides lots more reasons to start getting creative with this cool vegetable in the kitchen. It contains high levels of fibre, minerals, vitamins A, B and C and calcium. It is also easy to digest, and low in calories (16 kcal per 100 g). Capitalise on these sales points on the shop floor.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Le chou chinois, un " légume de chez nous "

Il est évident que le chou chinois gagne en popularité. Ce légume sain est aujourd'hui largement disponible et il offre d'importants atouts de vente : la qualité Flandria irréprochable, une culture locale et durable. Des températures fraîches sont idéales pour les actions promotionnelles.

Une demande croissante
Le nom du chou chinois est quelque peu trompeur. En effet, ce légume ressemble au chou, mais sans en avoir le goût prononcé. C'est un légume aux feuilles frisées élancées, avec en leur centre une nervure large et juteuse. La partie verte des feuilles a un goût légèrement doux. Sa popularité progresse grâce à l'intérêt croissant pour les plats exotiques et à la tendance du moment pour les plats mijotés ou cuits au wok. 

Un grand approvisionnement pendant l'hiver
Les principaux chiffres LAVA pour l'année 2015 dévoilent, pour ce légume, une belle progression de la production et du chiffre d'affaires (31 %). Pendant les mois d'hiver, les choux chinois sont conservés de façon durable dans des cellules frigorifiques. Ils sont triés, nettoyés et emballés quotidiennement. Les jeunes choux chinois sont cultivés en pleine-terre (approvisionnement jusqu'à la semaine 24) puis simultanément sous verre et en pleine terre (après la semaine 24). Janvier, février et mars sont les mois qui connaissent le plus gros approvisionnement. Durant les semaines 5 à 8 incluses, 20.000 à 30.000 pièces devraient prendre la direction des criées chaque semaine.

La qualité supérieure Flandria
Le chou chinois de qualité Flandria est un produit supérieur de qualité irréprochable :
• point de coupe lisse et frais ;
• couleur vert tendre ;
• max. 2-3 feuilles extérieures ;
• présentation soignée ;
• pas de floraison et de coups ;
• pas de dommages et de blessures ;
• un calibrage et une présentation uniformes ;
• des caisses biens remplies.

Un calibrage homogène
Par défaut, les choux chinois sont livrés dans des caisses EPS. D'autres emballages sont disponibles sur demande. Le tri se fait en fonction de la taille et du poids par caisse. Les producteurs doivent respecter des règles de calibrage strictes.
• En fonction de la taille : jeune chou chinois (jusqu'à la semaine 24) par 4 à 8 pièces par caisse.
• Poids (en vrac par caisse) :
o 4-8 pièces : 10 kg
o 6 pièces : 5,5 kg
o 8 pièces : 4,5 kg
• Emballés : 6 pièces par caisse, dans des housses en plastique pour répondre à la demande des F1.
• Le chou chinois est un produit idéal prêt à l'emploi. Pour les entreprises de découpage et les transformateurs, le produit est emballé et livré par kg.

Une présentation " cool " et une conservation adéquate
Créez une présentation " cool " dans le rayon des légumes, formez une palette de couleurs fraîches avec d'autres légumes d'hiver comme les navets, le panais, etc. et donnez des conseils de combinaisons parfaites. Conservez les choux chinois Flandria de préférence à 0 à 1 °C et avec une humidité relative de 90 à 95 %. Ne les placez en aucun cas à proximité de produits qui dégagent de l'éthylène (tomates, pommes, bananes, agrumes, etc.). Conseillez à vos clients de conserver le légume dans le tiroir à légumes du réfrigérateur ou à un endroit frais.

Un légume aux multiples facettes
Le chou chinois se prépare aisément et il est vite cuit : sauté, cuit à l'étouffée, revenu, dans des plats orientaux (au wok), etc. Un pot au feu de chou chinois avec d'autres légumes d'hiver (navet, panais, etc.) est un plat d'hiver nourrissant. Suggérez aux clients de préparer une soupe d'hiver réconfortante ou de l'associer à des coquilles Saint-Jacques. Vous pouvez aussi faire des petits paquets avec des feuilles entières farcies de haché ou d'ingrédients au choix.  
Il se mange aussi cru, en salade. Dans ce cas, il est préférable d'utiliser le coeur, car les feuilles les plus proches du centre sont les plus tendres. Des lamelles très finement coupées apportent une note de fraîcheur aux mélanges de crudités. Une dégustation en magasin de chou cru en salade apporte une véritable bombe de santé.

Incitez vos clients à franchir le pas
La popularité croissante du chou chinois est une conséquence des programmes culinaires qui font la promotion des légumes de saison. Jouez sur cette tendance et incitez vos clients à franchir le cap grâce aux légumes Flandria de qualité supérieure et à l'apparence parfaite. Dans la lignée de la mode actuelle de la cuisine saine, les raisons d'utiliser ces choux dans la cuisine ne manquent pas. Il contient des concentrations élevées en fibres, en minéraux, en vitamines A, B et C et en calcium. Il se digère aussi aisément et est pauvre en calories (16 kcal au 100 g). Jouez de cet atout dans votre magasin.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact