Looking for new sales markets

While VLAM's focus in Flanders is mainly on the consumer (B2C), it concentrates exclusively on the trade side when it comes to overseas (B2B). In addition, VLAM has chosen to devote extra effort to promoting our products outside the European Union, and is concentrating even more on the search for new sales markets. Exports are being given special extra attention in 2015.

Diversification of export strategy
The Russian trade embargo has ensured that VLAM is focusing more than before on diversifying its export strategy. One important point is that in 2015, 5% more budget is being invested in foreign actions. VLAM is planning to attend more trade shows, new programmes are being filed with the European Union, and extra prospecting days are being scheduled. Alongside core markets such as Germany and France, and the increasingly important Eastern European countries, VLAM is targeting its efforts more than ever at third countries.

Keeping Flandria 'top of mind'
VLAM's main focus is on the most important core markets of Germany and France. In both these countries, the Flandria label is being constantly brought to the attention of people buying fruit and vegetables via collaborative actions with the main trade publications (both advertising and editorial), promotional campaigns in collaboration with German and French supermarkets via folder inserts, preferential placement at point of sale, product demonstrations and so on. This unrelenting focus is designed to keep Flandria - which currently boasts recognition in excess of 90% among purchasers in these countries - 'top of mind' as a strong brand in the fruit and vegetables sector.

New sales markets for Conference
In 2015, VLAM is devoting further efforts to the search for new sales markets for the products hit by the Russian embargo. 2015 is the final year of the first campaign for Conference pears in Germany, the Netherlands and Belgium. This runs through until March 2015, but in light of the good results achieved, both partners want to extend the campaign. Together with GroentenFruit Bureau, VLAM is hoping to secure EU cofinancing to enable it to continue the campaigns in Germany by boosting the number of tastings and expanding into other regions.
In addition to promoting Conference in Germany, VLAM is also targeting the Canadian market for pears. With the Canadian food safety authorities having given the go-ahead for the import of Belgian pears, the next step is to do some promotional work. One way of promoting the first export of Belgian pears will be by means of in-store tasting sessions.

Premium quality, first taste
In 2015, VLAM will be once again making its traditional appearance at the major fruit and vegetable trade shows in Europe: Fruit Logistica Berlin (4-6 February 2015) and Fruit Attraction Madrid (October 2015). Attending these events remains a very important element in the external promotional effort. The shows offer the chance not only to cultivate contacts with existing customers, but also to meet new customers. If the opportunity arises, VLAM will be on the lookout for extra locations for contact days in countries where it is prospecting.

Continuing the 'Taste of Europe' campaign
The focus for 2015 will be more than ever on markets outside the EU, in a bid to compensate for the lost exports to Russia. The European campaign 'Taste of Europe' sees VLAM attending shows in Canada, the United States, Russia, Japan, China (via Hong Kong) and the United Arab Emirates. This third-country campaign focuses on the one hand on expanding or improving the image of fresh fruit and vegetables from Belgium/Europe, and on the other, increasing exports to third countries.

There are already 6 shows on the calendar for 2015: World Food Moscow, Foodex Tokyo, PMA Atlanta, Asia Fruit Logistica Hong Kong, WOP Dubai and CPMA Montreal. The campaign also includes contact days, workshops and visits to Belgian exporters, producers and cooperatives by a selection of opinion formers and purchasers of fresh fruit and vegetables from those third countries. Despite the embargo, 2015 will see VLAM continuing to focus on Russia. A (smaller) (100 m²) stand is planned at World Food Moscow, to enable the sector to maintain contact with the Russian buyers. Behind the scenes, work is also underway on a promotional campaign to kick in as soon as the ban is lifted.

 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

La recherche de nouveaux débouchés

Si en Flandre, le VLAM oriente principalement son action sur le consommateur (B2C), à l'étranger, il se concentre sur le commerce (B2B). De plus, le VLAM a choisi de promouvoir tout particulièrement nos produits en dehors de l'Union européenne et de s'investir plus spécialement dans la recherche de nouveaux débouchés. En 2015, les exportations feront l'objet d'efforts tout particuliers.

Diversification de la stratégie d'exportation
L'embargo commercial sur la Russie incite le VLAM à diversifier encore plus largement sa stratégie d'exportation. Le VLAM prévoit une participation plus importante à des salons, de nouveaux programmes ont été soumis à l'Union européenne et des jours de prospection supplémentaires sont prévus. En plus de ses marchés clés que sont l'Allemagne et la France et des pays d'Europe de l'Est, qui prennent une place sans cesse croissante, le VLAM se tourne de plus en plus vers des pays tiers.

Maintenir Flandria " top of mind "
Le VLAM se concentre principalement sur les marchés clés en Allemagne et en France. Dans ces deux pays, le label Flandria est mis en avant auprès des acheteurs de fruits et légumes dans des revues professionnelles (publicitaires et rédactionnelles), par des actions promotionnelles organisées en collaboration avec le secteur de la grande distribution française et allemande grâce à la distribution de folders, à des placements préférentiels dans les points de vente, à des démonstrations de produits, etc. Le VLAM veut que Flandria, qui jouit actuellement d'une notoriété de plus de 90 % auprès des responsables des ventes dans ces pays, reste " top of mind " dans le secteur des fruits et légumes.

De nouveaux marchés pour la Conférence
En 2015, le VLAM poursuit ses activités de recherche de nouveaux marchés pour les produits frappés par l'embargo sur la Russie. 2015 est la dernière année de la première campagne en faveur des poires Conférence en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas et en Belgique. Cette action se poursuivra jusqu'en mars 2015, mais étant donné les beaux résultats obtenus, les deux partenaires souhaitent prolonger cette campagne. Avec le GroentenFruit Bureau, le VLAM espère obtenir un cofinancement de l'UE qui lui permettrait de prolonger les actions menées en Allemagne par une importante multiplication du nombre de dégustations et leur extension à d'autres régions.
En dehors de la promotion de la Conférence en l'Allemagne, le VLAM cible également le marché canadien. Comme la sécurité alimentaire canadienne a donné son feu vert pour les importations de poires belges, la promotion est à présent à l'ordre du jour. La première exportation de poires belges sera stimulée par des dégustations en magasin.

Premium Quality, first taste
En 2015, fidèle à la tradition, le VLAM sera présent sur les principaux salons des fruits et légumes d'Europe : Fruit Logistica Berlin (4-6 février 2015) et Fruit Attraction Madrid (octobre 2015). La présence reste un élément très important de la promotion à l'étranger. Les salons offrent à la fois la possibilité de garder contact avec les clients existants et de rencontrer de nouveaux clients. Si une opportunité se présente, le VLAM examinera les possibilités de sites supplémentaires pour des jours de contact dans des pays de prospection.

Poursuite de la campagne européenne " Taste of Europe "
En 2015, dans l'idée de compenser les exportations perdues vers la Russie, l'accent sera plus que jamais mis sur les marchés hors de l'UE. Par sa campagne européenne " Taste of Europe ", le VLAM est présent sur des salons au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Russie, au Japon, en Chine (par Hong Kong) et aux Émirats Arabes Unis. Cette campagne dans des pays tiers cible le développement / l'amélioration de l'image des fruits et légumes d'origine européenne / belge et elle vise une augmentation des exportations vers des pays tiers.

Six salons sont déjà au programme en 2015 : World Food Moskou, Foodex Tokio, PMA Atlanta, Asia Fruit Logistica Hong Kong, WOP Dubai et CPMA Montreal. Cette campagne comprend également des jours de contact, des ateliers et des visites d'exportateurs, de producteurs et de coopératives belges par des leaders d'opinion et des acheteurs de fruits et légumes frais dans ces pays tiers. En dépit de l'embargo, le VLAM poursuivra ses efforts en Russie en 2015. Une (plus petite) surface de stand est prévue (100 m²) au salon World Food Moscow, afin que le secteur puisse garder le contact avec les acheteurs russes. Nous travaillons également dans les coulisses à une action promotionnelle qui sera menée dès la levée de l'embargo.

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact