Flandria winter leeks: something for everyone

To ensure maximum customer satisfaction, you as a shopkeeper resolutely opt for Flandria leeks in a wide range of sizes, weights and packaging types. Do away with the (unfair) image of a soup vegetable, and make Flandria leeks into a hit in your store.

'Home-grown'
Leeks have long occupied a strong position in the top 5 Flandria products at the LAVA auctions. Play up their regional origins with some cool icons and the 'home-grown' label. When your customers ask if this is a Belgian product, tell them about the Flandria quality label and 'Responsibly Fresh'. Buying local produce makes customers feel good. The vegetables are fresh, with hardly any food miles under their belts, and they meet the strictest quality standards.

Quality features of Flandria winter leeks
• Dark green leaves
• Straight shape
• 'White' shaft measuring at least 15 cm
• Leaves measuring at least 20 cm
• No nodules on the white part of the stalk
• Free of damage
• Supplied either without roots but with the root plate intact
• Or with cleaned roots

Packaging: think about the intended market
Providing a proper response to demand from the market is a challenge for the LAVA auctions. When selling on the clock, the trade can select from bunches tied in twine, nets and Flandria boxes for various grades. In pre-sale, in sale by intermediation and in the case of seasonal or annual contracts, the customer can request any form of packaging that can be technically supplied: wooden crates, collapsible EPS crates, IFCO, bunches with tape, nets, trimmed leeks in various sizes, etc. In addition, in the case of seasonal or annual contracts, there is enough lead time to be able to meet special requests.

Which is the best choice of packaging for your business? Why not take your cues from the wishes of your customers or target group?
• Loose leeks (with/without roots) graded by quality and thickness (six categories) and supplied in EPS-H.
• Flat bunches, tied with twine or wire; traditional packaging in packs of >1.1 kg, >1.3 kg and >1.5 kg.
• Round bunches, tied with elastic, suitable for thinner leeks; available in bundles of >700 g, >900 g, >1 kg. Suitable for consumers looking for smaller packages.
• Round bunches, with tape and barcode; bundles of 1 kg with 3 to 5 units. Suitable for all types of clientele and for export.
• In nets: available in 3 or 5 kg. Particularly suitable for export; the nets offer extra quality protection for distant destinations.
• Collapsible crates: on request from exporters for foreign customers.

A marked preference for leeks with green parts
A consumer survey in store and on line (*) shows that the wide range of fresh leeks available (whole, trimmed, only the white part, chopped, etc.) on the domestic market matches the wishes of Belgian consumers. But what is the favourite type of offer? Belgian consumers like to see this product displayed in a 'readily recognisable' form in the shops. By far the majority prefer whole leeks with some green and part of the roots. Packs of 3 or 4 leeks tied together with tape proved very popular among those questioned. In particular, the right weight, low amount of packaging waste and ease of carrying seem to encourage customers to buy this product.

Convenience is also in demand
But trimmed leeks are also popular: the survey revealed that this product is still preferred by 20%, and chopped leeks by 3%. Where these two choices are linked to where people live, we can see a limited association between location and the choices made. After all, slightly more town dwellers prefer trimmed leeks because they produce less waste and the size fits in the fridge better.
The LAVA auctions capitalise on this demand for convenience and supply trimmed Flandria leeks (just the white part or part white and green, with few/no roots, max. 40 cm). The buyer can choose the weight and the packaging: trays, flow pack, shrink-wrap, etc.

Pride of place on the greengrocery shelf
Make this handsome product into an eye-catcher on the greengrocery shelf and give Flandria leeks the allure of a top vegetable. What a challenge for the person in charge of the greengrocery shelf!
• Set up a winter corner on the greengrocery shelves featuring ingredients for soups, stews, hotpots and stir-fries, and put Flandria leeks in pride of place!
• Create a dazzling colour palette: put the long, smooth white shafts of leeks with their fresh green leaves centre stage, and arrange some green celery to the left and some carrots to the right.
• Fan out some attractive bunches of leeks to give a striking display.
• Don't stack them, and don't have too many bundles of leeks on display.
• Store Flandria leeks in the shop at 2-3 °C and RH of 90-95%.

Surprisingly versatile even in mild temperatures!
Flandria winter leeks are surprisingly versatile and certainly have all sorts of benefits in the kitchen: they can be boiled, stewed, prepared as a gratin, and they are a staple of Oriental cookery, as well as being perfect for a quick stir-fry. Leeks are a great way of adding flavour to all sorts of dishes, and they go brilliantly with pasta. Why not suggest 'tagliatelle with leeks and ham' from the Flandria recipe book 'Hartverwarmende recepten'. Provide some recipes alongside the greengrocery shelf and give your customers some nice meal tips. Do away with that (unfair) image of a 'boring soup vegetable' and see your sales soar.

Good levels of supplies
The LAVA auctions are still expecting high levels of production: between 2 and 2.5 million kg per week in weeks 6 to 9, the perfect time for some promotional deals. Customers get the full benefit of consumer-friendly pricing.

(*) Consumer surveys in the course of 2014 carried out by the Eastern Flanders Experimental Centre for Vegetable Cultivation (PCG) and funded by REO Auction, Roeselare.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Flandria poireau d'hiver : pour tous les goûts

Les commerçants attentifs à la satisfaction de leurs clients optent résolument pour le poireau Flandria disponible en de nombreux calibres, poids et emballages. Passez au-dessus de l'image (injuste) de légume pour potage et faites du poireau Flandria un succès dans votre magasin.

" Bien chez nous "
Depuis des années, le poireau conserve sa place dans le top 5 des produits Flandria les plus vendus sur les criées LAVA. Mettez en avant leur origine régionale en plaçant de chouettes icônes au label " bien de chez nous ". Si les clients vous demandent s'il s'agit d'un produit belge, donnez-leur quelques explications sur le label de qualité Flandria et sur " Responsibly Fresh ". Les consommateurs aiment acheter des produits locaux. Frais du jour, ils ne voyagent pas beaucoup pour arriver jusque chez le consommateur et ils répondent aux normes de qualité les plus strictes.

Caractéristiques qualitatives du poireau d'hiver Flandria :
• feuilles vert foncé ;
• bien droits ;
• blanc d'une longueur minimale de 15 cm ;
• longueur minimale des feuilles 20 cm ;
• pas de nodosités sur la partie blanche ;
• exempts de tout dommage ;
• soit sans racines, l'attache des racines étant conservée ;
• soit avec racines, propres.

Emballage : une réflexion orientée sur le marché
Répondre de façon adéquate aux demandes du marché est un véritable défi pour les criées LAVA. Dès la vente au cadran, le commerce a le choix entre les bottes cerclées, emballées dans des filets et dans des caisses Flandria proposées pour les divers calibres. En prévente, en vente négociée et dans les contrats saisonniers ou annuels, le client peut demander tous les emballages techniquement possibles : caisses en bois, caisses à couvercle EPS, IFCO, bottes avec adhésif, filets, poireaux coupés à diverses longueurs, etc. Pour les contrats saisonniers et annuels, le délai de livraison est en outre suffisant pour répondre aux demandes spéciales.

Quel est l'emballage le plus indiqué pour votre commerce ? Laissez-vous guider par les souhaits de vos clients ou de votre groupe cible.
• Poireaux en vrac (avec ou sans racines) calibrés en fonction de la qualité et de l'épaisseur (six catégories) livrés en EPS-H.
• Bottes plates, attachées par un lien ou un fil métallique ; emballage traditionnel en paquets de >1,1 kg, >1,3 kg et >1,5 kg. 
• Bottes rondes, attachées à l'aide d'un élastique, convient aux poireaux plus fins ; disponibles en bottes de >700 g, >900 g, >1 kg. Idéal pour les consommateurs qui souhaitent de petits emballages.
• Bottes rondes avec adhésif et code à barres ; bottes de 1 kg contenant de 3 à 5 pièces. Convient à tous les types de clients et à l'exportation.
• En filets : disponibles en filets de 3 ou 5 kg. Convient principalement à l'exportation ; les filets offrent une protection supplémentaire de la qualité pour les envois vers des destinations lointaines.
• Caisses à couvercle : à la demande des exportateurs pour les clients étrangers.

Une nette préférence pour les poireaux avec verdure
Une enquête réalisée auprès des consommateurs, tant en magasin qu'en ligne (*), montre que l'offre importante de poireaux frais du jour (entiers, raccourcis, blancs, coupés, etc.) sur le marché national correspond aux souhaits des consommateurs belges. Quelle forme d'offre remporte la préférence ? Le consommateur belge aime que ce produit soit " bien reconnaissable " en magasin. La plus grande majorité opte pour des poireaux entiers, avec une partie du vert et une partie de la racine. L'emballage de 3 à 4 poireaux liés par un adhésif semble très populaire parmi le groupe des répondants. Leur poids adéquat, le peu de déchets d'emballage qu'ils génèrent et la facilité à les emporter, sont les facteurs qui incitent à acheter ce produit.

Également une demande de produits prêts à l'emploi
Les poireaux raccourcis plaisent pourtant aussi : l'enquête a également montré que ce produit remporte la préférence de 20 % des personnes interrogées, le poireau coupé 3 %. L'association de ces choix et du lieu de résidence des consommateurs montre une association limitée entre ces deux éléments. En effet, les consommateurs des villes sont un peu plus nombreux à opter pour des poireaux raccourcis, parce qu'ils ne produisent pas beaucoup de déchets et que leur format convient mieux au stockage au réfrigérateur.
Les criées LAVA répondent à cette demande de produits prêts à l'emploi en livrant des poireaux Flandria raccourcis (uniquement les blancs ou les blancs avec une partie du vert, avec peu ou pas de racines, d'une longueur maximale de 40 cm). L'acheteur peut choisir le poids et le mode d'emballage : barquettes, flow pack, sous film rétractable, etc.

Une place d'honneur dans le rayon des légumes
Placez ce produit dans le rayon des légumes de manière à ce qu'il attire le regard et donnez au poireau Flandria une place de légume vedette. Un véritable défi pour le responsable du rayon des légumes !
• Préparez un coin dédié aux légumes d'hivers en proposant les ingrédients pour faire des soupes, des ragoûts, des pots au feu, des woks et réservez une place d'honneur aux poireaux Flandria !
• Créez une palette de couleurs qui attire les regards : présentez les longues tiges blanches aux belles feuilles vert tendre au centre, des céleris verts à gauche et des carottes à droite.
• Disposez les bottes de poireaux pour former un bel éventail.
• N'empilez pas les légumes et limitez le nombre de bottes.
• En magasin, conservez le poireau Flandria entre 2 et 3 °C, à un taux d'humidité relative de 90 à 95 %.

Un légume étonnant aux multiples facettes, même quand les températures sont douces !
Les poireaux d'hiver Flandria sont étonnamment polyvalents et ils offrent résolument de nombreux atouts culinaires : cuits à l'étouffée, à la vapeur, gratinés, incontournables de la cuisine orientale ou rapidement préparés au wok. Le poireau est un exhausteur de goût efficace dans tous les repas, il s'harmonise à merveille avec les pâtes. Proposez à vos clients des " tagliatelles au poireaux et au jambon " du livre de recettes Flandria " Hartverwarmende recepten " (des recettes qui réchauffent les coeurs). N'hésitez pas à mettre des recettes à la disposition de vos clients dans le rayon des légumes afin de leur donner de délicieuses idées de préparations. Passez ainsi au-dessus de l'image (injuste) du " simple légume pour soupe " et boostez vos ventes.

Un approvisionnement au sommet
Les criées LAVA attendent encore une production importante : entre 2 et 2,5 millions de kg par semaine durant les semaines 6 à 9 incluses, le moment idéal pour des actions promotionnelles. Le client bénéficiera d'un prix avantageux

(*) Enquête réalisée auprès des consommateurs dans le courant de l'année 2014 par le Proefcentrum voor de Groenteteelt Oost-Vlaanderen (PCG), financée par Veiling REO, Roeselare.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact