Flandria cucumbers give you a taste of spring!

Traditionally, the sale of Belgian early cucumbers sounds the starting pistol for the new season. The increased production makes this fruiting vegetable ideal for promotional deals in the run-up to Easter. BelOrta and REO auctions are selling this product jointly on the clock.

Second place in the Top Ten
This year again, Flandria cucumbers are getting the new season underway. REO and BelOrta auctions have seen this product making huge strides in recent years. Cucumbers now stand in second place in Flandria's vegetable Top Ten, behind tomatoes. In 2015, the growers increased production by almost 30% over 2014, making for a spectacular rise of almost 84% in turnover. LAVA has recorded a slight increase of 6% in the area under cucumbers this season.

Strong supplies
After March, production increases, and in the weeks before Easter, the trade can rely on large quantities. LAVA is expecting 1.5 million units in week 9 and 3 million in week 11. In week 13, the producers will be supplying 4 million units. This festive period is therefore perfectly suited for promotional deals with home-grown products.

Flandria: an established presence on the greengrocery shelf
Only recognised strains which have proved in practice and/or through research that they guarantee a quality product are authorised by LAVA for Flandria; a well-considered choice for quality.
Flandria cucumbers guarantee a handsome presentation in the greengrocery section:
• Firm, fresh and undamaged
• Regular, straight shape
• Shiny green colour
• Not pointed
• Clean cut with a short stalk
Flandria also scores highly in terms of taste and keeping properties.

Responsibly Fresh
As well as being attentive to quality, the growers also place great importance on sustainability. CHP (combined heat and power) and residual heat result in lower energy costs and an optimum growing climate. This benefits the flavour and the Flandria quality of the cucumbers, as well as helping the environment. Thanks to their focus on quality and sustainability, the LAVA auctions and their producers are successfully making their products stand out from the crowd with these 'home-grown fruiting vegetables'. The main production peaks occur between May and September inclusive.

Flexible sales system
The volumes of Flandria cucumbers from BelOrta and REO Auction are offered for sale on one clock at the same time. This makes it very clear for the buyers. In addition, there are also short-term and long-term presale options. Deliveries are made in accordance with the buyer's wishes. This means that the supply can be optimally matched to the demand from the market, which also ensures balanced pricing.

Uniform grading is a plus point
It is interesting for the trade that grading is uniform, on the basis of weight and fruit length. Cucumbers can be supplied which are 'made-to-measure' for clients, thanks to the broad grade 250 to > 750 g.
500 g cucumbers are getting a new pack as from this year (April). The standard arrangement from then onwards will be for Flandria cucumbers to be supplied in:
- EPSL instead of the present EPSM
14 units with Flandria cover sheet
- Open 60 x 40 box instead of the present closed base-and-lid box.
16 units with a cover sheet on the top. The layers underneath will be waxed paper (compared to the present system with open 350 g and 400 g boxes).
Other types of packaging can be supplied at the trade's request.

Long keeping period
The LAVA auctions apply extremely strict criteria for a handsome product in the greengrocery section. The shopkeeper can rely on a fresh spring product which will keep for a long time. Careful presentation is essential. Cucumbers are sensitive to low storage temperatures. 15 °C and relative humidity of 90 to 95% are ideal on the shop floor. Never display cucumbers alongside fruits which produce ethylene (tomatoes, apples, citrus fruits, etc.). Avoid displaying in the sun, and keep covered to prevent them drying out.

Light and refreshing
Cucumbers have just 8 kcal per 100 g. Because they also contain a lot of water, they are an excellent choice for anyone seeking to stay slim. Cucumbers also contain a lot of phosphorus (24 mg) and vitamin C (10 mg). They are perfect for helping to shift those extra winter kilos because they are ideal in a light meal or as a healthy snack. Cucumber is also a healthy thirst-quencher in a smoothie. Fresh cucumber spread is delicious on bread at lunchtime, in a salad or as a snack. Why not suggest that your customers rustle up a tasty soup made from cucumber, and give them some tips for warm cucumber canapés for their festive meals.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Des concombres Flandria au goût de printemps

Traditionnellement, la vente des concombres belges primeurs lance la nouvelle saison. La croissance de cette production rend le concombre particulièrement intéressant pour vos actions promotionnelles à l'approche de Pâques. BelOrta et Veiling REO commercialisent ensemble ce produit au cadran.

Le deuxième du top dix
Cette année encore, les concombres lancent la nouvelle saison. Dans les criées REO et BelOrta, ce légume-fruit a littéralement décollé au cours des dernières années. Entre-temps, il a conquis la deuxième place parmi les dix légumes Flandria les plus vendus, derrière la tomate. En 2015, les producteurs ont enregistré une hausse de production de près de 30% par rapport à 2014, accompagnée d'une hausse de chiffre d'affaires spectaculaire de 84%. Cette saison, LAVA note une légère extension de la superficie de production (+6%).

Dès le mois de mars, la production augmente pour atteindre des volumes importants dans les semaines qui précèdent Pâques. LAVA estime que pendant la semaine 9, l'approvisionnement atteindra 1,5 millions de pièces et 3 millions pour la semaine 11. Durant la semaine 13, les producteurs fourniront 4 millions de pièces. Cette période festive convient donc parfaitement aux actions promotionnelles de produits de chez nous.

Flandria, une valeur sûre dans le rayon des fruits et légumes
Seules des variétés dont la pratique ou la recherche a démontré qu'elles garantissaient un produit de qualité sont autorisées par LAVA à porter le label Flandria. Un choix bien réfléchi qui assure un produit de qualité.
Le concombre Flandria garantit une belle présentation dans le rayon des légumes :
• fermes, frais et intacts ;
• réguliers, droits ;
• une couleur vert brillante ;
• pas pointus ;
• proprement coupés, la tige est courte.
Les produits Flandria se distinguent aussi par leur goût et leur conservation.

Responsibly Fresh
Outre la qualité, les producteurs accordent une importance toute particulière à la durabilité. Le recours à la cogénération et à la chaleur résiduelle réduit les coûts énergétiques tout en garantissant un climat de culture optimal. Ces techniques sont également bénéfiques au goût et à la qualité Flandria des concombres, tout en étant favorables à l'environnement. Grâce à l'investissement dans la qualité et la durabilité, les criées LAVA et leurs producteurs parviennent à faire la différence avec ce " légume-fruit de chez nous ". La production connaît deux sommets pendant la saison, l'un en mai et l'autre en septembre.

Un système de vente flexible
Les volumes de concombres Flandria commercialisés par BelOrta et Veiling REO sont proposés à la vente au même moment et sur un seul cadran. Ce système simplifie le processus de vente pour les acheteurs. Par ailleurs, des préventes sont organisées à long terme et à court terme. La livraison a lieu conformément aux souhaits de l'acheteur. De cette façon, l'offre est autant que possible harmonisée à la demande du marché, ce qui garantit également une formation des prix équilibrée.

Leur calibrage uniforme est un plus.
Le calibrage uniforme en fonction du poids et de la longueur du fruit est intéressant pour le commerce. Le vaste assortiment de 250 à >750 g garantit un concombre conforme aux souhaits des clients.
Cette année (en avril), le concombre de 500 g sera proposé dans un nouvel emballage. Par défaut, les concombres Flandria seront fournis dans les conditionnements suivants :
- EPSL en remplacement des EPSM actuels.
14 pièces avec  une feuille de protection Flandria.
- Caisses ouvertes de 60x40 au lieu de l'actuelle caisse fonds-couvercle.
16 pièces avec une feuille de protection sur le dessus. Les couches inférieures sont en papier paraffiné (cf. Méthode actuelle pour les caisses ouvertes de 350 et 400 g.
D'autres emballages sont disponibles sur demande.

Une longue durée de conservation
Les criées LAVA appliquent les critères les plus stricts pour présenter un beau produit dans le rayon des légumes. Le commerçant est assuré de proposer un produit printanier frais, de longue conservation. Une présentation soignée est un must. Les concombres sont sensibles à la température de conservation qui ne peut être trop fraîche. 15 °C et une humidité relative de 90 à 95 % conviennent idéalement en magasin. Ne les disposez pas avec des fruits qui produisent de l'éthylène (tomates, pommes, agrumes, etc.). Évitez de les présenter au soleil et recouvrez-les pour éviter qu'ils ne dessèchent.

Léger et rafraîchissant
Le concombre compte 8 kcals seulement par 100 grammes. Comme il contient aussi beaucoup d'eau, ce légume est idéal pour tous ceux qui surveillent leur ligne. Les concombres sont en outre riches en phosphore (24 mg) et en vitamine C (10 mg). C'est un légume de choix pour éliminer les kilos superflus accumulés en hiver : idéal dans les repas légers ou comme en-cas sain. Le smoothie de concombre est particulièrement désaltérant. Une garniture de concombre bien fraîche est délicieuse sur le pain pour le lunch, dans des salades ou en bouchées. Suggérez aux clients de réaliser une délicieuse soupe au concombre et donnez-leur des conseils pour réaliser de savoureux zakouski chauds au concombre qui apportent une note festive.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact