Large volumes of Flandria cucumbers for Easter

Retailers look forward every year to the start of the early crop season. Cucumbers are (already) getting the ball rolling as early as January! The ample supplies in March make this a perfect product for promotional deals around Easter. BelOrta and REO auctions market Flandria cucumbers together on the clock.

A traditional opener for the season
This year, once again, cucumbers are living up to their reputation as season openers. Friday 16 January saw the REO Auction selling the year's first cucumbers under the Flandria label. The early crop is achieved with due respect for sustainability: Responsibly Fresh. For example, heat recovery ensures not only lower heating costs, but also a better climate in the greenhouses, which all works to the benefit of the Flandria quality of the cucumbers.

Promotional deals in the festive period
From March onwards, the cucumber season will be getting firmly into its stride. By about week 10, the producers will already be supplying 1.5 million units. In the week before Easter (week 13), the trade can rely on large volumes - some 2.5 to 3 million units/week. This festive season is perfect for promotional deals on the shop floor. Supplies are at their peak between May and September inclusive.

Flexible sales system
To bolster their position on the European market, the LAVA auctions BelOrta and REO have for some years now been selling cucumbers together on the clock. The principle behind this is to make the combined supply under the Flandria quality label available at the same time on the BelOrta clock. This means the trade can concentrate on a single clock, which ensures uniform pricing. In order to send the supply and maintain a stable stock at both the auctions, it has been mutually agreed to position the product flexibly from one location to the other. Delivery is entirely to suit the buyer's wishes. The intention is to achieve the optimum match between supply at both market places and demand from the market. This product merger has definitely been yielding good results for some years now.

Flandria: an established presence in the greengrocery department
The traditional Flandria cucumber remains an established presence in the greengrocery department. The coloured label stands for a field-fresh quality product and optimum keeping properties. The specifications guarantee transparent food safety and sustainable cultivation.
Cucumbers qualifying for the Flandria quality label have the following features:
• Firm, fresh and undamaged
• Regular and straight in shape
• A fresh green colour with a nice shine
• Not pointed
• Careful presentation
• Cleanly cut with a short stem
• Optimum keeping properties

Uniform grading is a plus point
What is interesting for the trade is the uniform grading based on weight and fruit length.
The standard way of supplying cucumbers is packed in blue EPS crates:
• EPS-H 18 units/crate + 750 g
• EPS-M 18 to 24 units/crate 400/750 g
• EPS-T 12 to 14 units/crate 400/300 g
The attractive lidded Flandria cucumber boxes are also available in the 400-500 and 350-400 g grades, with 12 units/box. Other packaging options can be supplied at the trade's request.

Donna Midi is an attractive niche product
In the specialties range, the Donna Midi snack cucumber is once again available from BelOrta Auction. The quality standards and supply period are the same as for the traditional Flandria cucumbers. This specialty, with fruit weighing 150/250 g and about 15 cm long, is offered in EPS-T (20 units) on the clock. Supplies this year are set to increase slightly.
As a specialist shop, you can offer this attractive product as a handy convenience item for singles and small families. Boost your sales by putting Donna Midi on display as a 'healthy snack' alongside snack tomatoes in the greengrocery department.

Tips for the shopkeeper
• Cucumbers are sensitive to low storage temperatures.
• 15 °C and relative humidity of 90 to 95% are ideal on the shop floor.
• Do not display with fruits that produce ethylene, such as tomatoes, apples or citrus fruits.
• Cover to prevent drying out.
• Avoid displaying in the sun or warmth.
• Make sure that any cucumbers showing signs of damage are removed quickly, to prevent loss of quality.

A festive Easter table
This tasty vegetable is the perfect choice for slimmers. Cucumbers contain a lot of water and have only 8 kcal per 100 g, plus they contain lots of phosphorus (24 mg) and vitamin C (10 mg). The green colour is a clear indication of the health benefits inside: cucumbers are particularly good for bones, teeth and eyesight.
Fresh cucumber spread is a delicious filling for a lunchtime sandwich, in a salad or as a snack. Why not suggest that customers whip up a tasty cucumber soup. Give them some tips for warm cucumber canapés for a festive Easter table.

 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

D'importants volumes de concombres Flandria pour Pâques

Chaque année, les détaillants l'attendent avec impatience : le lancement de la saison des primeurs. En janvier, les concombres ouvrent (une fois de plus) le bal ! Avec un approvisionnement important en mars, ce produit convient parfaitement aux actions professionnelles aux environs de Pâques. Les criées BelOrta et REO commercialisent ensemble les concombres Flandria au cadran.

Traditionnellement le pionnier de la saison
Cette année encore, le concombre a fait honneur à sa réputation d'ouvreur de la saison. Le vendredi 16 janvier, les premiers concombres labellisés Flandria ont été vendus à la criée REO. La culture précoce est respectueuse de la durabilité : elle respecte les normes Responsibly Fresh. Ainsi la récupération de chaleur ne réduit pas seulement les frais de chauffage, elle assure aussi une meilleure climatisation dans les serres, ce qui est favorable à la qualité des concombres Flandria.

Actions promotionnelle en période festive
Dès le mois de mars, la saison des concombres est bien lancée. Aux environs de la semaine 10, les producteurs fourniront déjà 1,5 million de pièces. Pendant la semaine qui précède Pâques (semaine 13), le commerce peut compter sur des volumes importants, aux environs de 2,5 - 3 millions de pièces/semaine. Cette période festive convient parfaitement aux actions promotionnelles en magasin. L'approvisionnement atteint un sommet en mai, qui se poursuit jusqu'en septembre inclus.

Un système de vente flexible
Pour se positionner mieux encore sur le marché européen, depuis des années, les criées LAVA veilingen BelOrta et REO commercialisent les concombres ensemble au cadran. Le principe ? Présenter au même moment une offre conjointe sous le label de qualité Flandria au cadran de BelOrta. Le commerce peut ainsi se concentrer sur un cadran, ce qui garantit une formation des prix uniforme. Pour contrôler l'offre et maintenir un approvisionnement stable sur les deux criées, le produit est placé de l'une à l'autre criée, de commun accord et de façon flexible. La livraison se fait entièrement selon les souhaits de l'acheteur. L'objectif est d'harmoniser l'offre sur les deux marchés, de façon aussi optimale que possible, à la demande. Il est évident que cette fusion des produits porte ses fruits depuis plusieurs années.

Leur calibrage uniforme est un plus.
Le calibrage uniforme en fonction du poids et de la longueur du fruit est intéressant pour le commerce.
Par défaut, les concombres sont emballés dans des caisses EPS bleues :
• EPS-H 18 pièces/caisse + 750 g
• EPS-M 18 à 24 pièces/caisse 400/750 g
• EPS-T 12 à 14 pièces/caisse 400/300 g
Sans oublier les belles boîtes à concombres Flandria à couvercle pour les calibres 400-500 et 350-400 g, 12 pièces/boîte. D'autres emballages sont disponibles sur demande.

Flandria : une valeur sûre dans le rayon des fruits et légumes
Le concombre Flandria traditionnel est une valeur sûre du rayon des légumes. Le label garantit des produits de qualité, frais du jour, ainsi qu'une conservation optimale. Les cahiers des charges sont les garants d'une sécurité alimentaire transparente et d'une culture durable.
Les concombres de qualité Flandria répondent aux critères suivants :
• fermes, frais du jour et intacts ;
• réguliers, droits ;
• couleur vert tendre, belle brillance ;
• pas pointus ;
• présentation soignée ;
• proprement coupés, la tige est courte.
• conservation optimale.

Donna Midi, un produit de niche attrayant
Dans la gamme des spécialités, le concombre snack Donna Midi est de nouveau disponible à la criée BelOrta. Les normes de qualité et la période d'approvisionnement sont les mêmes que celles des concombres Flandria classiques. Cette spécialité dont le poids individuel est d'environ 150/250g pour une longueur approximative de 15 cm est proposé au cadran en boîtes eps-t (20 pièces). L'offre augmentera légèrement cette année.
En tant que commerce spécialisé, vous pouvez proposer ce produit attrayant comme un produit prêt à l'emploi pour les célibataires et les petites familles. Creez du chiffre d'affaires en proposant le Donna Midi comme un " en-cas bon pour la santé ", aux côtés des tomates snack dans le rayon des légumes.

Conseils à l'intention du commerçant
• Les concombres sont sensibles à la température de conservation qui ne peut être trop fraîche.
• 15 °C et une humidité relative de 90 à 95 % conviennent idéalement en magasin.
• Ne les disposez pas avec des fruits qui produisent de l'éthylène tels que les tomates, les pommes et les agrumes.
• Couvrez-les toujours pour qu'ils ne dessèchent pas.
• Évitez de les présenter au soleil ou à la chaleur.
• Ôtez en temps voulu les exemplaires endommagés pour contrer toute perte de qualité.

Une table festive pour Pâques
Ce légume au goût prononcé est idéal pour ceux qui surveillent leur ligne. Le concombre contient beaucoup d'eau et il n'affiche que 8 kcal aux 100 g. Il est aussi riche en phosphore (24 mg) et en vitamine C (10 mg). À elle seule, sa couleur verte en dit long sur ses avantages pour la santé : bons pour le squelette, les dents et la vue.
Une garniture de concombre bien fraîche est délicieuse sur le pain pour le lunch, dans des salades ou en bouchées. Suggérez à vos clients de préparer une délicieuse soupe aux concombres. Donnez-leur des conseils pour préparer des bouchées apéritives chaudes à base de concombre pour une table pascale festive.

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact