Flandria chicory: quality and diversity are strong plus points

Colder temperatures make us want to buy more of our national pride and joy, chicory. Flandria offers quality and diversity, plus a healthy winter vegetable in the flu season: make sure you play up these assets on the shop floor. New packaging for TOP gourmet chicory will help this product to keep for longer, with less waste.

Plentiful supplies available
Flandria chicory is one of the spearheads of the LAVA auctions, and has been in the top five products in terms of supply and sales for many years. Flandria chicory growers continue to supply a top-quality product. Flandria chicory is symmetrical in shape and looks fresh. The head is firm, with unblemished leaves with no colour variations and with a nicely closed top. March is traditionally a month when ample supplies are still available: the volume fluctuates around 1.2 million kg per week.

Uniform batches
Belgium has a real chicory culture, and consumers here appreciate the ample supplies available. Five or six references is the norm for most big warehouses. It is a challenge for the LAVA auctions to guarantee that choice. Subject to long-term planning, and good agreements on price/volume, they can react to specific demands from the trade and deliver uniform batches in larger volumes. Depending on what the purchasers want, the most suitable type of chicory is supplied, according to size and weight.

The challenge of tailor-made supplies
Chicory is graded by head diameter and head length:
• KDIK FL (4-7 cm thick - 11-16 cm long)
• KDUN FL (3-5 cm thick - 11-16 cm long)
• DIK FL (4-7 cm thick - 12-18 cm long)
• K FL (3-5 cm thick - 9-12 cm long)
Within the standard block, Flandria chicory is supplied in EPS-T 5 kg, Flandria boxes or purchaser's own packaging. There is also the 5 kg Flandria mix box, and boxes of 2.5 kg of chicory in all grades.
Plentiful supplies are also available in small packs:
• 500 g trays or flowpack
• 500 g, 1 kg and 2 kg bags
• Mini chicory (chiconnettes) in 175 g trays
• Ifco or carton

The winter vegetable par excellence
Why not set up a display of freshness, quality and the extensive range of Flandria chicory in a cool corner on the shop floor in combination with other winter vegetables such as lamb's lettuce, carrots, parsnips and turnips for a handsome colour palette of Flandria quality. Healthy winter vegetables, low in calories and rich in fibre and minerals, help to build up an iron constitution, making them a good tip for customers in the flu season!
Do your customers need some inspiration for some winter dishes? Chicory is very versatile: it can be eaten raw, baked, steamed, boiled or as a gratin. Why not suggest a winter stir-fry of chicory, carrots, parsnips and apples for a surprise! Chicory soup will warm up a cold day, or customers might prefer to serve chicory in a fresh salad with apples and beetroot. Giving your customers some serving suggestions will definitely boost your sales.

Optimum storage
Growers and auctions work immensely hard to deliver the very best Flandria quality.
How can you as a shopkeeper preserve this top quality in the greengrocery department?
• Always present Flandria chicory in the original packaging.
• Correct storage in a chiller at 2-5 °C guarantees that it will keep for a long time.
• Never display Flandria chicory near fruit and vegetables that gives off ethylene.
• Put just a few handsome heads on display and keep the rest covered up under the blue cover sheet.

Innovation in packaging
BelOrta auction introduces in the TOP line a new type of packaging for Flandria gourmet chicory, which offers advantages above all for shopkeepers with lower chicory turnover rates: longer availability of an attractive product with less waste. The black box presentation remains, making it clear what is inside. Thanks to a special system in the lid, you do not need to remove the whole of it every time, you can just open part of it to take the product out of the box. This means that the chicory is not being constantly exposed to the light, and this keeps it looking better for longer. All sizes of chicory and all grades can be packed in these new boxes if customers so request.

 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

L'endive Flandria : la qualité et la diversité pour atouts

La chute des températures a réveillé la soif d'achat de notre fierté nationale, l'endive. La qualité Flandria, la diversité et les légumes d'hiver sains en des temps compliqués : jouez sur ces atouts dans votre magasin. Un nouvel emballage du TOP-endive du connaisseur garantit un beau produit pendant une plus longue période, tout en réduisant les déchets.

Disponible en quantité
L'endive est l'un des fers de lance des criées LAVA. Depuis des années déjà, ce légume est dans le top cinq de l'approvisionnement et du chiffre d'affaires. Les producteurs d'endives Flandria continuent de fournir un produit de qualité supérieure. L'endive Flandria a une forme symétrique et un aspect bien frais. Le légume est dense, ses feuilles sont intactes et leur couleur uniforme. Leur pointe est bien fermée. Traditionnellement, le mois de mars est synonyme d'approvisionnement important : le volume fluctue autour de 1,2 millions de kg par semaine.

Des lots uniformes
Il existe dans notre pays une véritable culture de l'endive et le consommateur apprécie l'offre étendue dont il dispose. Cinq, six références n'a rien d'anormal pour la plupart des grandes surfaces. Pour les criées LAVA, c'est un défi de garantir ce choix. Moyennant un planning à terme et de bons accords concernant le prix/volume, elles peuvent répondre aux demandes spécifiques du commerce et livrer des lots uniformes en plus grands volumes. En fonction des souhaits de l'acheteur, le type d'endives le plus adéquat est livré en fonction du calibre du poids.

Le travail sur mesure, un défi
Le calibrage se fait en fonction du diamètre et de la longueur du légume :
• KDIK FL (diamètre 4-7 cm - longueur 11-16 cm)
• KDUN FL (diamètre 3-5 cm - longueur 11-16 cm)
• DIK FL (diamètre 4-7 cm - longueur 12-18 cm)
• K FL (diamètre 3-5 cm - longueur 9-12 cm)
Dans le bloc standard, l'endive Flandria est livrée en caisses EPS-T de 5 kg ou dans les emballages du vendeur. Elles sont aussi proposées dans les boîtes mix Flandria de 5 kg. Il existe également des boîtes de 2,5 kg d'endives de tous les calibres.
L'offre de petits emballages ne laisse pas davantage à désirer :
• barquettes ou flowpack de 500 g ;
• sachets de 500 g, 1 kg et 2 kg ;
• chiconnetttes en barquettes de 175 g ;
• Ifco ou carton.

Un légume d'hiver par excellence
Mettez la fraîcheur, la qualité et la gamme d'endives Flandria en valeur dans un coin bien frais du magasin, associées à d'autres légumes d'hiver tels que la mâche, les carottes, le panais et les navets pour former une belle palette de couleurs de qualité Flandria. Des légumes d'hiver sains, pauvres en calories et riches en fibres et en minéraux, aident à développer une résistance hors pair ; un bon conseil pour vos clients en ces temps d'épidémie de grippe !
Vos clients ont besoin d'inspiration pour réaliser des plats d'hiver ? L'endive peut se consommer de diverses façons : crue, cuite à l'étuvée, à la vapeur, braisée ou gratinée. Suggérez-leur un wok hivernal aux endives, aux carottes, aux pannais et aux pommes, c'est la surprise assurée à table ! Les jours où il fait froid, proposez une soupe à l'endive ou une petite salade fraîche d'endives aux pommes et betteraves rouges. Donnez à vos clients des conseils sur les possibilités d'utilisation de l'endive, vous en ressentirez immédiatement l'effet sur les ventes.

Une conservation optimale
Les producteurs et les criées consentent des efforts importants pour fournir la qualité Flandria optimale.
Comment pouvez-vous conserver cette fraîcheur optimale dans votre rayon des légumes ?
• Présentez l'endive Flandria dans son emballage d'origine.
• Une conservation correcte dans l'espace frigorifique, à 2-5 °C, garantit une longue durée de conservation.
• Ne placez jamais les endives Flandria à côté de fruits et légumes qui produisent de l'éthylène.
• Placez quelques beaux exemplaires en évidence et couvrez les autres avec la feuille de protection bleue.

Des emballages novateurs
Dans la gamme TOP, la criée BelOrta lance un nouvel emballage pour les endives " Flandria pour les fins gourmets ", qui offrent principalement un avantage aux commerçants dont le débit est plus faible : une offre prolongée de produits attrayants et moins de déchets. La présentation de la boîte noire demeure, elle montre clairement son contenu. Grâce à un système spécial dans le couvercle, celui-ci ne doit pas systématiquement être totalement enlevé, mais il n'est que partiellement ouvert pour en ôter le produit. L'endive n'est donc pas toujours exposée à la lumière et elle conserve plus longtemps sa belle apparence. Toutes les dimensions et tous les calibres peuvent être emballés dans cette nouvelle boîte, à la demande du client.

 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact