News roundup

Belgian fruit, vegetable and potato sector organises tomato conference
From 13 to 15 April 2016 inclusive, the Radisson Blu hotel in Antwerp is staging an international tomato conference on the topic of 'Tomatoes, trends towards 2020'. The conference aims to focus on tomatoes and current developments within the product group, and at the same time offer opportunities for networking.
The event starts on Wednesday 13 April 2016. The daily programme offers participants the choice between a scientific side and a commercial side. Both production and consumption of tomatoes for the global fresh market are on offer; as well as topics such as sustainability, innovation and trends. On Thursday 15 April, during the plenary slot, a trend watcher has the 'last' word. On Friday 16 April, there is a programme of visits to auctions, experimental centres and practical businesses.
The event is organised by: LAVA, VCBT, BelOrta, Hoogstraten Auction, REO Auction, Experimental Centre for Vegetable Cultivation in Sint-Katelijne-Waver and Hoogstraten Experimental Centre.

www.tomatoconference2016.be

New EU funding for VLAM export campaigns
The Flemish Agricultural and Fisheries Marketing Board (VLAM) can once again depend on European support as from 2016 for the development of a follow-up to its export programme for fresh fruit and vegetables. Under the cofinancing principle, Europe is to fund half, so that VLAM can claim a total of 2.45 million euro worth of subsidies. In this subsidy round, Europe was focusing on products affected by recent market problems. In addition to earlier destinations such as North America, Japan, Russia and the Middle East, the new VLAM programme over the next three years will also target Kazakhstan and India.

Agro-Expo Vlaanderen
From 23 to 25 January 2016, the Hallen van Roeselare will be playing host to the 17th Agro-Expo Vlaanderen, the biggest horticultural show in Flanders. The forthcoming event will see REO Auction concentrating on strawberries and carrots. Strawberries are the fourth most important product in terms of sales at REO; in the space of ten years, the total supply figure at the auction has more than doubled. A strawberry competition will reward the most innovative growers. Carrots - the second most popular vegetable among Belgian buyers - will also occupy one of the well-earned 'hot spots'.

Successful Fructura fruit show
After being held four times, Fructura has expanded into a top trade show for hard and soft fruit, an initiative organised by and for the Belgian fruit sector. For the 2015 event, the organisers attracted as many as 124 stand-holders from home and abroad, who took over the Ethias Arena in Hasselt from 27 to 29 November. Fructura's jubilee edition ensured a spacious framework, with specialist seminars and the very latest developments in the sector. Some 3,500 visitors flocked to this interesting forum for networking. BelOrta was in attendance with a show stand.

Trends for 2016: more vegetables and more eating occasions in the day
The British market researchers Technomic present a number of trends for the catering and kitchen sector in 2016. Vegetables take pride of place. A plate full of local or regional vegetables is being increasingly seen as a full meal, such as main dishes using superfoods like kale. The watchword here is: healthy and delicious. In addition, the researchers anticipate that the number of eating occasions in the day will increase. Consumers are looking for food service concepts which fit in seamlessly with their busy lives. Ready-to-eat, healthy snacks are becoming more and more popular.

Source: FoodService Instituut

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Nouvelles en bref

Le secteur belge des fruits et légumes organise une conférence sur la tomate
Du 13 au 15 avril 2016, une conférence internationale sur la tomate se tiendra à l'hôtel Radisson Blu d'Anvers sur le thème : 'Tomatoes, trends towards 2020'. Cette conférence a pour but de mettre en avant les tomates et les évolutions dans ce groupe de produits, tout en offrant des possibilités de réseautage.
Le congrès débutera le 13 avril 2016. Le programme de la journée donnera le choix aux participants entre un volet scientifique et une partie commerciale. Tant la production que la consommation de tomates destinées au marché du frais dans le monde seront abordées, ainsi que d'autres thèmes tels que la durabilité, l'innovation et les dernières tendances. Le jeudi 15 avril se clôturera par une séance plénière qui accueillera un observateur de tendance. Une visite aux criées, aux jardins expérimentaux et à des entreprises pratiques est inscrite au programme du vendredi 16 avril.
L'organisation est assurée par : LAVA, VCBT, BelOrta, Veiling Hoogstraten, REO Veiling, Proefstation voor de Groenteteelt à Sint-Katelijne-Waver et le Proefstation Hoogstraten.

www.tomatoconference2016.be

De nouveaux moyens européens pour les campagnes d'exportation du VLAM
Dès 2016, le Vlaams Centrum voor Agro- en Visserijmarketing (VLAM) pourra de nouveau compter sur l'aide de l'Europe pour élaborer une suite à son programme d'exportation de fruits et légumes frais. Selon le principe du co-financement, l'Europe finance la moitié, de sorte que le VLAM peut obtenir un total de 2,45 millions d'euros de subsides. Pour ce programme de subside, l'Europe a mis l'accent sur des produits touchés par les récents problèmes du marché. Outre les destinations d'exportation existantes comme l'Amérique du Nord, le Japon, la Russie et le Moyen-Orient, le nouveau programme du VLAM pour les trois prochaines années se concentrera aussi sur le Kazakhstan et l'Inde.

Agro-Expo Vlaanderen
Du 23 au 25 janvier 2016, les Halles de Roeselare accueilleront la 17e édition du salon Agro-Expo Vlaanderen, le plus grand salon des producteurs maraîchers de Flandre. Pour cette édition, Veiling REO mettra tout particulièrement les fraises et les carottes en évidence. Les fraises sont le quatrième produit, en termes de chiffre d'affaires, de REO. En dix ans, l'approvisionnement global de la criée a plus que doublé. Un concours de fraises doit couronner les producteurs les plus novateurs. Les carottes, deuxième légume le plus vendu en Belgique, bénéficieront aussi de l'attention qu'elle mérite.

Fructura, l'histoire d'une réussite
Après quatre éditions, le salon Fructura, créé par et pour le secteur belge des fruits, a su devenir un salon professionnel de premier ordre des petits fruits.  L'édition de 2015 qui se tenait à l'Ethias Arena de Hasselt du 27 au 29 novembre a rassemblé par moins de 124 stands tenus par des acteurs nationaux et étrangers. Pour cette édition, Fructura a assuré un encadrement important en proposant des séminaires axés sur les professionnels et en présentant les dernières évolutions du secteur. Près de 3500 visiteurs se sont regroupés dans ce forum intéressant pour le réseautage. BelOrta était présent avec un stand.

Les tendances 2016 : plus de légumes et plus de repas et en-cas par jour
Le bureau d'étude de marché britannique Technomic présente diverses tendances de l'horeca et de la cuisine pour 2016. Les légumes occupent une place centrale dans ces évolutions. Une assiette remplie de produits locaux ou de légumes cultivés dans la région est de plus en plus souvent considérée comme un repas complet, comme les plats principaux à base de super-aliments comme que le chou frisé ordinaire. Le mot d'ordre en la matière est : sain et délicieux. Les enquêteurs entrevoient également une augmentation du nombre de repas et de snacks par jour. Les consommateurs recherchent des concepts de services alimentaires qui s'intègrent parfaitement dans leur style de vie pressé. Les snacks sains et prêts à l'emploi sont de plus en plus populaires.

Source : Institut FoodService

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact