Beans - summer superstars

Beans have been enjoying a real revival in recent years. It's no coincidence that the UN has declared 2016 International Legume Year. Tap into this hype and surprise your customers with top-quality Belgian beans marked Flandria! Plentiful supplies are expected until the end of September.

Variation in products
This season once again offers the trade an attractive degree of variety. Alongside the traditional (round/flat) green beans, wax beans and string beans (green and purple), the range available also includes some forgotten vegetables, such as broad beans, white beans and haricot beans. Haricot beans are a long, fleshy variation of the ordinary green beans.

The season is later but longer
Yellow wax beans and string beans have become increasingly popular in recent years. Growers looking for something unique are picking up on this trend. The area has expanded, and protected cultivation and harvest spreading are guaranteeing longer and more extensive production. This means that BelOrta and REO can offer bigger quantities of handsome, homogeneous product, for a longer period, all of which is good for the trade, and consumers are ready to snap it up! Increasing sales are guaranteed and various export markets are opening up: for example, Canada is a success story according to the LAVA auctions.

Decent supplies available until November
Production of wax beans and string beans in particular is booming. The poor weather has meant that the season has been slightly delayed, but since weeks 28/29 there have been ample supplies available. In August and September, the LAVA auctions are expecting decent supplies of wax beans. The season runs until week 39-40. The trade can rely on supplies of string beans grown in greenhouses until November.

Top quality
Flandria beans are harvested young
• evenly coloured (dark green/yellow depending on the variety)
• firm and crunchy
• uniform in shape
• no traces of damage or browning
• no fibres

Flandria string beans (green/purple)
• only greenhouse string beans
• young, tender and straight string beans
• wide, long pods
• deep green colour
• undamaged and with no visible seed formation

Flandria broad beans and white beans
• very good quality and well developed
• absolutely free of damage
• very good presentation and uniform grading

Hand-picked
Beans and string beans are delicate and are being increasingly grown under glass and carefully picked by hand. Grading is also carried out manually (sizes: fine - medium - coarse). Uniform grading guarantees a homogeneous product which is attractively presented in the packaging, a thoroughly Belgian product! On top of this, there are also ample supplies of mechanically harvested product.

Flandria string beans are graded by colour (green/purple) and length/width of the pod: Flandria Extra or double Extra.
+22 cm FL: 'very good quality' and uniform grading and careful presentation.
FL+: excellent quality, very careful presentation and very uniform grading.
Flandria white beans are classified by:
• type: white bean, regular or small
• method of processing: dry, peeled or soaked

More small packs
Marketing is via intermediation and on the clock.
The default arrangement on the clock:
• beans sold in batches of 3 kg loose in EPS-T with cover sheet;
• string beans sold in batches of 4 kg loose in EPS-T with cover sheet.
There is particular demand from the trade for small packs, which guarantee freshness and quality:
• wax beans: 400 g trays, flowpacked
• string beans: 500 g trays, flowpacked
Other types of packaging are available on request. Produce may be collected direct from the farm.

Cool storage is essential
The key thing when it comes to the quality of this product is to make sure it is as fresh as it possibly can be. The refrigeration chain is guaranteed from farm to point of sale. Optimum in-store quality requires a cool temperature: 5-6 °C and RH of 90-95%. In the shop, be sure not to stack them too close together, in order to avoid heating.
It is best to store Flandria white beans in cool, dark conditions at 2-5 °C.
Advise customers to keep these products cool when they get them home.

Culinary tips
There is a clear trend towards authenticity at the moment. Consumers want to eat differently, and cookery programmes are plugging beans as a very healthy vegetable. The various products offer endless variety. You can capitalise on this hype in your shop, by giving customers some culinary tips: maybe a potato and bean salad, or a feta salad with peppers, tomatoes and beans will make a tasty addition to the BBQ as well as being super-healthy. All legumes are a valuable source of protein, fibre, vitamins and good carbohydrates. Because they are so rich in nutrients, they are also perfect for anyone who fancies a meat-free day, as well as for vegetarians and vegans. They are also relatively low in calories, but they keep you feeling full for a long time. They really are the perfect vegetable for a healthy lifestyle.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Les haricots, un super légume estival

Depuis quelques années, les haricots connaissent une seconde jeunesse. Ce n'est pas un hasard si les Nations unies ont décrété que 2016 serait l'année des légumineuses. Réagissez à cette tendance et surprenez en proposant des haricots de qualité supérieure : Flandria ! De beaux volumes sont attendus jusque fin septembre.

Des produits variés
Comme les autres saisons, le commerce peut compter sur une belle variation. Outre les classiques princesses (rondes/plates), les haricots au beurre et les haricots sabre (verts/violets), la gamme compte des légumes oubliés tels que les fèves, les haricots blancs et les haricots communs. Les haricots communs sont une variante charnue, allongée, des princesses ordinaires.

Une saison tardive mais prolongée
Les haricots au beurre et les haricots sabre principalement ont largement gagné en popularité au cours des dernières années. Les producteurs qui cherchent un produit exclusif suivent cette tendance. L'extension de superficie, la culture protégée et l'étalement de la récolte garantissent une production plus importante et plus étendue. BelOrta et Veiling REO sont donc à même de proposer un volume plus important d'un beau produit, homogène, sur une plus longue période : intéressant pour le commerce, et le consommateur est prêt à les consommer ! Un chiffre d'affaires croissant est garanti et divers marchés s'ouvrent. Ainsi, le Canada par exemple, est l'histoire d'un succès, explique-t-on aux criées LAVA.

Des volumes importants jusqu'en novembre
Les haricots au beurre et sabre sont ceux dont la production connaît la plus forte progression. Les mauvaises conditions climatiques ont quelque peu retardé la saison, mais depuis la semaine 28/29, l'approvisionnement bat son plein. En août et septembre, les criées LAVA s'attendent à recevoir d'importants volumes de haricots au beurre. La saison se poursuit jusque pendant la semaine 39-40. Le commerce peut compter sur un approvisionnement de haricots sabre (culture en serre) jusqu'en novembre.

La meilleure qualité
Les haricots Flandria sont récoltés lorsqu'ils sont encore jeunes.
• Une couleur uniforme (vert foncé ou jaune selon la variété) ;
• fermes et croquant ;
• de forme régulière ;
• pas de traces de dommages ou de colorations brunes ;
• pas de fils. 

Haricots sabres Flandria (verts/violets)
• Uniquement produits en serre ;
• jeunes, tendres et droits ;
• des cosses larges et longues ;
• une belle couleur vert profond ;
• parfaits sans aucune formation de graines.

Fèves et haricots blancs Flandria
• Très bonne qualité, bien formés ;
• exempts de tout dommage ;
• très bonne présentation et calibrage uniforme.

Cueillette à la main
Les haricots princesses et sabre, un produit délicat, sont de plus en plus cultivés sous serre, et soigneusement cueillis à la main. Leur tri se fait également à la main (calibres : fins, moyens et gros). Un calibrage uniforme garantit un produit homogène et une belle présentation dans son emballage, un produit 100% belge !
Il existe également une offre étendue de produits récoltés mécaniquement.

Calibrage des haricots sabre Flandria selon la couleur (verts/violets) et la longueur/largeur de la cosse : Flandria Extra ou double Extra.
+22 cm FL : " très bonne qualité ", un calibrage uniforme et une présentation soignée.
FL+ : qualité excellente, présentation très soignée et calibrage très uniforme.

Les haricots blancs Flandria sont triés en fonction des critères suivants :
• type : haricots blancs, ordinaires ou petits
• mode de consommation : secs, épluchés ou trempés.

La commercialisation se fait à la négociation et au cadran.
Standard au cadran :
• princesses 3 kg en vrac en EPS-T avec feuille de protection ;
• haricots sabre 4 kg en vrac en EPS-T avec feuille de protection.
Le commerce est amplement demandeur de petits emballages, garantie de fraîcheur et de qualité :
• haricots au beurre : raviers de 400 g, entourés de flowpack ;
• haricots sabre : raviers de 500 g, entourés de flowpack.
Autres emballages à la demande. L'enlèvement direct dans l'entreprise est possible.

La conservation au frais, un must
La fraîcheur est indispensable pour proposer un produit qualitatif. Le respect de la chaîne du froid est garanti du producteur au point de vente. Pour une qualité optimale en magasin, la conservation au frais est un must : 5 - 6 °C et une humidité relative de 90-95 %. N'empilez pas les légumes trop serrés afin d'éviter l'échauffement par fermentation.
Les haricots blancs Flandria se conservent de préférence à une température de 2-5°C.
Conseillez au client de conserver également ces produits au frais.

Quelques idées culinaires...
La tendance est clairement à l'authenticité. Le consommateur veut manger différemment et les programmes culinaires n'hésitent pas à vanter les mérites des haricots. Les divers produits offrent des possibilités de variation infinies. Réagissez à cette mode dans votre magasin. Proposez de nouvelles idées à vos clients : une salade haricots-pommes de terre, une salade à la feta et aux poivrons, tomates et haricots sont autant d'accompagnements de choix de vos barbecues, très sains qui plus est ! Toutes les légumineuses sont une source de protéines importantes, mais aussi de fibres, de vitamines et de bons hydrates de carbone. Comme elles sont riches en substances nutritives, elles sont également idéales pour ceux qui souhaitent se passer de viande pendant une journée ou pour les végétariens et les vegans. Elles sont en outre relativement pauvres en calories, tout en assurant une sensation de satiété durable. Un légume qui convient à merveille à un style de vie sain.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact