Newsflashes

The chicory sector: growing in line with the market
In order to get the chicory sector back out of the doldrums, the focus needs to be on quality and on production tailored to the market. Such was the message from the Inagro information centre to the chicory growers during the Chicory Event, organised by the research and information centre. “There needs to be a product that satisfies the consumer's wishes if they are to be tempted into stores to buy chicory”, ran the message. “After all, confidence in the freshness, quality and provenance of the product is an important driver behind purchasing.” Inagro wants to play its part in this story via research and information devoted to improved quality and better grower awareness. Producers need to think more about the versatility of their products and matching it to consumers' needs. The Chicory Event was staged with the support of REO Auction.

EC releases 150 million euro for fruit in schools
The EU's agriculture ministers have approved a proposal from the European Commission for a new combined programme of 250 million euro for milk and fruit in schools, with 150 million being earmarked for fruit and vegetables. There will also be subsidies for educational activities, including farm visits.
The new programme starts on 1 August 2017. Priority is being given to the distribution of fresh fruit, vegetables and milk to school children. There will be a major focus on educational measures to make children aware of healthy eating habits, as well as sustainability, the environment and food waste.
Source: European Commission/NOS.

Fruit and vegetable sector prospecting in Bulgaria
The Balkan region was until recently one of the few remaining prospecting markets within Europe. At the end of March, VLAM set off with 5 Belgian exporters and 3 auctions on a three-day visit to the Bulgarian capital, Sofia. The schedule included meetings with the major importers and shop chains, visits to stores and a tour of the biggest early-morning market, Slatina. The objective was to get more Belgian products on to the shelves in Bulgaria. There is still a market for Belgian fruit, as can be seen from the fact that in 2015, as much as 40,000 tonnes of apples were imported. There are still openings for summer vegetables, such as cucumbers, peppers and tomatoes. Bulgarian domestic production is heavily seasonal, and this means that the country is dependent on imports for out of season produce. Typical winter vegetables also score well in Bulgaria, with imports of 17,000 tonnes of cabbages and 15,000 tonnes of carrots and turnips.
Naturally, there was also a reception at the Belgian embassy. This provided the Belgian delegation with the opportunity to forge some contacts with Belgians who are already active in the Bulgarian food sector. There was also room for individual trade discussions. One positive discovery during the store visits was that the Kumato tomatoes from Hoogstraten Auction were available in various stores. The verdict from the participants was that this was a packed and successful mission.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Flash info

Le secteur de l'endive : cultiver en fonction du marché
Pour redonner un coup de fouet au secteur de l'endive, il convient de mettre l'accent sur la qualité et d'axer la production sur le marché. Tel est le message que le centre Voorlichtingscentrum Inagro a voulu faire passer aux producteurs d'endives à l'occasion du Witloofevent organisé par le centre d'étude et d'information. " Un produit qui répond aux souhaits des consommateurs est indispensable pour les décider à choisir des endives dans le rayon des magasins ", tel fut le message. " La confiance dans la fraîcheur, la qualité et l'origine du produit est un stimulant de taille pour l'achat. " Par ce message, Inagro veut jouer son rôle en mettant la recherche et l'information au service de l'amélioration de la qualité et de la prise de conscience des producteurs. Ces derniers doivent progressivement jouer sur la polyvalence de leur produit et l'harmoniser aux besoins du consommateur. Le Witloofevent a vu le jour avec le soutien de REO Veiling.

La Commission européenne libère 150 millions d'euros pour les fruits à l'école
Les ministres de l'Agriculture des États membres de l'UE ont donné leur accord sur une proposition de la Commission européenne en faveur d'un nouveau programme combiné de 250 millions d'euros pour la distribution de lait et de fruits dans les écoles, dont 150 millions pour les seuls fruits et légumes. Des subsides ont également été dégagés pour des activités éducatives, par exemple des visites à la ferme.
Le nouveau programme débutera le 1er août 2017. La priorité est donnée à la distribution de légumes, de fruits et de lait frais aux enfants des écoles. Ce programme met principalement l'accent sur des mesures éducatives destinées à faire prendre conscience aux enfants de l'importance d'adopter des habitudes alimentaires saines, mais aussi sur la durabilité, l'environnement et le gaspillage alimentaire.
Source : Commission européenne/NOS.

Le secteur des fruits et légumes prospecte en Bulgarie
Jusqu'il y a peu, la région des Balkans était l'un des rares marchés de prospection inexploré en Europe. À la fin du mois de mai, le VLAM s'est rendu dans la capitale de la Bulgarie, Sofia, en compagnie de 5 exportateurs belges et de représentants de 3 criées. Au programme : des rencontres avec les principaux importateurs et chaînes de magasins, des visites de magasin et du plus grand marché matinal, Slatina. Dans quel but ? Faire en sorte d'augmenter le nombre de produits belges disponibles dans les rayons bulgares. Il reste un marché pour le secteur belge des fruits. La preuve : en 2015, le pays a importé pas moins de 40 000 tonnes de pommes. Pour ce qui est des légumes, il reste des opportunités pour les légumes d'été tels que les concombres, les poivrons et les tomates. Leur propre production est fortement liée aux saisons, de sorte que le pays dépend des importations pour les autres maisons. Les légumes d'hiver traditionnels sont également appréciés en Bulgarie, avec un volume d'importation de 17 000 tonnes de choux et de 15 000 tonnes de carottes et de navets.
Une réception à l'ambassade de Belgique s'imposait. À cette occasion, la délégation belge a eu la possibilité d'établir des contacts avec des Belges déjà actifs dans le secteur alimentaire bulgare. Des entretiens commerciaux ont également été organisés. Une belle surprise attendait les participants qui se sont rendus dans des magasins : les tomates Kumato de Veiling Hoogstraten étaient disponibles dans plusieurs commerces. Une mission bien remplie qui fut un succès, selon les dires des participants.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact