(Wit)'Loofje' entrances the children

Chicory? Children often turn their noses up at it. That's why VLAM is seeking to change things with the help of Loofje, a new chicory hero. A fun campaign shows that this modern vegetable fits in brilliantly with the eating culture of families with children.

Loads of potential
The pride of Flanders is still little known to children, or perhaps they don't like it because it is bitter. Yet chicory is a versatile vegetable with loads of potential, including for kids. A fun promotional campaign presents chicory as a modern vegetable which offers lots of variety in the kitchen, and one that fits in with the eating culture of families with children. A new chicory hero, Loofje, is inviting children and their parents to try chicory. Trendy and accessible ideas and recipes are available to help them on their way.

Colour cookery book
The task is to find a playful way to get children eating chicory. One fun tool in this effort is Loofje's 'Lekker kleuren en koken met Loofje', a colour cookery book in a new visual style. Child-friendly recipes and great colour plates encourage kids to take their colour cookery book into the kitchen and get stuck in, as well as doing some colouring.

The chicory truck conquers Flanders
“The 'Lekker kleuren en koken met Loofje' colouring book was distributed during the Easter holidays by the new chicory hero. Loofje took the 'chicory truck' to five attractions that are popular with children”, explains Thaïs Mees, Assistant Product Manager fruits & vegetables. “Children could sample 'pizza with love' in places including Plopsa Indoor Hasselt, the Antwerp Zoo and some K3 shows in Ostend. The colouring book was also sent out to some blogging mums, with good results. We can look back on a successful action”, says Thaïs Mees.

Witloofvanbijons.be
At the same time, the campaign is being conducted via social media. For example, there are some fun posts with a link to witloofvanbijons.be. This new website offers a rich array of tasty recipes using chicory, and provides inspiration for cooks both young and old. The cookery ideas make it as easy as falling off a log for parents to get their little darlings to eat chicory. Parents get some interesting tips, such as giving chicory dishes attractive names, shopping together for the vegetables and then cooking them together, serving smaller portions to children, etc.

Online in the autumn
“We have deliberately decided, along with the sector, to launch the campaign in the spring, in order to do away with the persistent preconception of chicory as a winter vegetable. Chicory is actually a vegetable for all seasons”, explains Thaïs Mees. “In the autumn, the online campaign will be rolled out as a follow-up. More new recipes are being developed, which will be promoted via witloofvanbijons.be and Facebook.”

Info: Thaïs Mees, Assistant Product Manager fruits & vegetables; T +32 (0)2 552 80 39| M +32 (0)4 90 66 82 02 | www.vlam.be | thais.mees@vlam.be 

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

" Loofje " séduit les enfants

L'endive ? Généralement, les enfants la détestent. Le VLAM souhaite que cela change avec l'aide de " Loofje ", un nouveau héro endive. Une campagne ludique prouve que ce légume moderne a sa place sur les tables familiales et dans les assiettes des enfants.

Un grand potentiel
Notre fierté flamande reste relativement peu connue des enfants qui ne l'apprécient guère à cause de son amertume. Pourtant, ce légume polyvalent a un grand potentiel pour les petits. Une campagne promotionnelle ludique présente l'endive comme un légume moderne qui offre de très nombreuses possibilités de variations en cuisine et qui a sa place dans l'assiette des enfants. Un nouveau héro, " Loofje ", invite les enfants et leurs parents à utiliser l'endive. Des idées de plats tendance et faciles les aideront.

Un livre de cuisine à colorier
Un objectif : apprendre aux enfants à manger des endives de façon ludique. Le livre de recettes à colorier " Lekker kleuren en koken met Loofje " de Loofje au style visuel novateur est un bon outil pour y parvenir. Grâce aux recettes sympas pour les enfants et aux planches à colorier, les plus jeunes adoreront se mettre aux fourneaux.

Le camion aux couleurs de l'endive séduit la Flandre
Le livre " Lekker kleuren en koken met Loofje " a été distribué pendant les vacances de Pâques par le nouveau héro endive. " Loofje s'est arrêté dans cinq endroits populaires dans son camion aux couleurs de l'endive " explique Thaïs Mees, Assistant Product Manager fruits & vegetables. " Les enfants ont pu goûter des " pizza with love ", notamment à Plopsa Indoor Hasselt, au Zoo d'Anvers et lors de quelques shows K3 à Ostende. Le livre à colorier a également été envoyé à plusieurs mamans bloggeuses avec un beau résultat. Nous nous réjouissons du succès de cette action ", poursuit Thaïs Mees.

Chiconsdecheznous.be
Dans le même temps, une campagne a été menée sur les médias sociaux. Des posts sympas contenant des liens vers le site chiconsdecheznous.be ont été publiés. Ce nouveau site web propose de nombreuses recettes délicieuses à base d'endives. Il donne aussi de l'inspiration aux grands et aux petits. Grâce aux idées de recettes, c'est un jeu d'enfant pour les parents de faire apprécier les endives à leurs petits. Les parents reçoivent des conseils intéressants comme : donner de chouettes noms aux plats à base d'endive, acheter et préparer ensemble les légumes, donner de petites portions aux enfants, etc.

En ligne à la fin de l'année
" Nous avons résolument choisi, avec le secteur, de lancer la campagne au printemps, une façon de tordre le cou au préjugé qui a la vie dure selon lequel l'endive est un légume d'hiver. L'endive est un légume pour toutes les saisons ", explique Thaïs Mees. " La campagne connaîtra une suite en ligne à la fin de l'année. De nouvelles recettes seront élaborées, dont nous ferons la promotion sur le site witloofvanbijons.be et sur la page Facebook. "

Pour de plus amples informations : Thaïs Mees, Assistant Product Manager fruits & vegetables; T +32 (0)2 552 80 39| M +32 (0)4 90 66 82 02 | www.vlam.be | thais.mees@vlam.be 

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact