Flandria aubergines bring a ray of sunshine into the store!

Spring is (finally) here, and this is when southern fruiting vegetables provide a feast for the senses in the greengrocery department. Tell your customers that these 'home-grown exotics' are supplied fresh every day. The domestic aubergine season guarantees large quantities from week 18 onwards.

Our very own Provençal star
Aubergines are warmth-loving plants which are cultivated here in Belgium under protected conditions. They are a crop which demands a high level of professionalism. There is a sharp difference between fruiting vegetables which are grown here at home and the imported product. The plants here grow in a stable, optimal climate, as opposed to the sometimes extreme growing conditions in more southerly countries. So the quality is perfectly adjusted and controlled, and the production also goes on for longer than in the south.

Variety segmentation
Flandria growers have to abide by a variety list, and aubergine cultivation is also governed by a set of strict specifications. External, independent controls guarantee that Flandria aubergines meet high standards in terms of quality and environmental aspects. Every year, a decision is taken as to which varieties are admitted. The variety segmentation has the advantage that Flandria aubergines are always offered on the clock in a homogeneous block.

The first peak is approaching
Production has been increasing in recent years. This is largely to do with the growing popularity of Mediterranean cooking. The main season starts in May with decent quantities available. The first big peak comes around weeks 18-23, with 350,000 to 400,000 kg/week. The main season falls between May and August, with July and August being the very top months for supplies. The LAVA auctions can supply the trade with domestic products almost all year round. As well as being sold on the clock, aubergines are also traded via e-commerce, at a fixed price, in the packaging requested, with shipping by agreement.

Homogeneous top quality from Flandria
Only well developed, ripe fruits Can be harvested for Flandria. If an aubergine yields to gentle fingertip pressure, the growers can pick it. Given the delicate fruit wall, this is done very carefully.
Quality features:
• firm, dark purple fruit
• uniform colour and glossy
• well developed, regular fruit
• free of burns and other defects
• intact, fresh calyx
• short, fresh green stem cleanly cut
• for Flandria Extra (FLE), even higher quality standards are imposed

Super-fresh every day
Flandria aubergines are graded by weight, with a minimum weight of 100 g. They are divided into five sizes.
The main grade (+225 g) is supplied as standard in EPS-T 3 kg/crate with inlay card and cover sheet to prevent drying out and 5 kg covered aubergine boxes containing a uniform grade attractively presented. Other types of packaging are supplied on request from the trade. Flandria guarantees uniform quality in each pack.

What to look for on the greengrocery shelf
• Store aubergines at 10-13 °C, otherwise they go limp or the stalks shrivel.
• R.H. of 90 to 95% is desirable.
• Always cover them to reduce the risk of them drying out.
• Do not place near fruit and vegetables which give off ethylene, such as tomatoes.
• Leave them in the original packaging.
• Avoid extreme temperature variations.
• Never display in the sun.
Advise customers to store aubergines in a cool place at 15 °C, in other words not in the fridge. In a cool place, they will keep for a week.

Mediterranean taste experience
Anyone looking for a splash of sunshine on their table will revel in the outstanding and refined 'home-grown exotic'! Consumers who love Mediterranean-style cuisine will enjoy whipping up some surprising combinations to try. Dry-roasted, grilled, steamed, boiled, as a gratin, deep-fried ... this southern fruiting vegetable is surprisingly versatile in the kitchen. Aubergine lends itself brilliantly as a filling for other vegetables, in casseroles, with tapas, as a spread on little toasts, and more besides. It is the perfect vegetable to grill: easy to prepare, cheerfully coloured and simple to season. Help your customers to come up with ideas. Aubergines are light and healthy: this fruiting vegetable is packed with nutritional elements for a healthy, light diet: vitamins, minerals, fibre and antioxidants.

Benefits for the trade
This southern fruiting vegetable offers the trade all manner of benefits: constant supplies of a homogeneous product over a long period is guaranteed. Retailers can rely on premium quality, reliable deliveries and a product that is fresh every day, given the short distance between farm and fork. Tell your customers that Flandria fruiting vegetables are grown here in Belgium. They retain their fresh appearance for several days and are real best-sellers in store. Make yourself stand out from the competition with extra quality: Flandria top quality.

A feast for the senses
Give your greengrocery department a Mediterranean atmosphere by presenting Flandria aubergines along with other colourful fruiting vegetables such as peppers, courgettes, cucumbers and so on, to make a real feast for the senses. Tempt your customers with an array of different southern fruiting vegetables at a single attractive takeaway price.

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Les aubergines Flandria apportent le soleil dans les magasins !

Le printemps est (enfin) là et les légumes-fruits méridionaux sont une véritable fête pour les sens dans le rayon des légumes. Attirez l'attention de vos clients sur le fait que ces produits " exotiques bien de chez nous " sont livrés frais chaque jour. La saison des aubergines belges est synonyme de volumes importants dès la semaine 18.

Une star provençale de chez nous.
Les aubergines apprécient la chaleur que nous recréons chez nous dans des conditions protégées. Cette culture requiert une bonne dose de professionnalisme. Il existe une différence marquée entre les légumes-fruits cultivés chez nous et ceux qui sont importés. Chez nous, les plantes évoluent dans un climat stable et optimal, contrairement aux conditions de croissance parfois extrêmes qu'elles connaissent dans les pays méridionaux. La qualité est parfaitement surveillée et contrôlée et la période de production est plus longue que dans le sud.

Segmentation des variétés
Pour la culture des aubergines comme pour les autres, les producteurs Flandria sont tenus de cultiver les variétés consignées sur une liste de variétés et de respecter un cahier des charges strict. Un contrôle externe indépendant garantit que les aubergines Flandria respectent des exigences élevées, tant en termes de qualité que de respect de l'environnement. Une liste des variétés autorisées est établie annuellement. La segmentation des variétés a pour avantage que les aubergines Flandria sont toujours proposées au cadran en blocs homogènes.

Le premier sommet approche
Depuis quelques années, la production est en croissance. Cette augmentation est principalement due à la popularité grandissante de la cuisine méditerranéenne. La haute saison approche et les volumes seront considérables dès le mois de mai. Nous assisterons à un premier grand sommet aux environs des semaines 18 à 23, avec 350 000 à 400 000 kg par semaine. La haute saison des aubergines va de mai à août, juillet et août étant véritablement les mois d'approvisionnement les plus importants. Les criées LAVA sont à même d'approvisionner le commerce toute l'année en produits de notre terroir. Outre le cadran, les aubergines sont aussi proposées à la vente en e-commerce, à un prix fixé, dans l'emballage choisi par le client, avec un chargement à la demande.

La qualité supérieure homogène de Flandria
Seuls les fruits mûrs correctement développés sont récoltés pour Flandria. Les producteurs savent que le moment de la récolte est venu lorsque le fruit se donne légèrement sous une légère pression des doigts. Étant donné la délicatesse du fruit, la récolte se fait avec le plus grand soin.

Caractéristiques de qualité :
• un fruit ferme, violet foncé ;
• une couleur uniforme et brillante ;
• un fruit régulier, bien développé ;
• exempt de toute trace de brûlure et autres défauts ;
• calice intact et frais ;
• une tige vert tendre, courte à la coupure nette ;
• des exigences de qualités plus strictes encore sont appliquées au Flandria Extra (FLE).

Fraîches du jour, chaque jour
Le calibrage des aubergines Flandria se fait en fonction de leur poids, avec un poids minimum de 100 g. Cinq calibres différents sont proposés. 
Le calibre principal (+225 g) standard en caisses EPS-T de 3 kg avec une feuille de protection sur le fond et une sur les produits pour éviter le dessèchement. Elles sont également livrées en boîtes à aubergines de 5 kg avec couvercle, qui garantissent un tri uniforme et une belle présentation. D'autres emballages sont disponibles sur demande. Flandria garantit une même qualité dans chaque emballage.

Éléments importants pour la conservation dans le rayon des légumes
• Conservez les aubergines à 10-13 °C, sans quoi elles ramollissent ou leur tige s'étiole.
• Une humidité relative de l'air de 90 à 95 % est souhaitable.
• Recouvrez toujours ce légume de manière à réduire les risques de dessèchement.
• Ne le placez pas à côté de variétés de légumes qui dégagent de l'éthylène, par exemple les tomates.
• Présentez-les dans leur emballage d'origine.
• Évitez les grands écarts de température.
• Ne les exposez jamais en plein soleil.

Conseillez à vos clients de conserver les aubergines dans un endroit frais, à 15 °C, donc pas au réfrigérateur. Placées dans un espace frais, elles se conservent une semaine.

Une expérience gustative méditerranéenne
Ceux qui souhaitent apporter un rayon de soleil sur leur table adoreront ce légume " exotique de chez nous " parfait et raffiné. Les consommateurs qui apprécient la cuisine méditerranéenne auront la possibilité de réaliser des combinaisons audacieuses. Séchées, grillées, cuites à la vapeur, à l'eau, gratinées, frites, etc. Ce légume-fruit méridional étonne par sa polyvalence. L'aubergine convient parfaitement comme farce d'autres légumes, dans les plats au four, en tapas, en garniture sur des toasts, etc. C'est un légume parfait pour le grill : préparation aisée, couleur agréable et simple à assaisonner. Aidez vos clients en leur donnant des idées. Les aubergines sont à la fois légères et saines : ce légume-fruit déborde de substances nutritives idéales pour une alimentation saine et légère : vitamines, minéraux, fibres et antioxydants.

Un atout pour les commerçants
Ce légume-fruit méridional offre de nombreux atouts aux commerçants : l'approvisionnement constant d'un produit homogène pendant une longue période est garanti. Grâce aux courtes distances qui séparent les producteurs des utilisateurs finaux, les détaillants peuvent compter sur une qualité optimale, un approvisionnement fiable et un produit frais du jour. Signalez à vos clients que les légumes-fruits Flandria sont produits chez nous. Ils conservent leur belle apparence de fraîcheur pendant plusieurs jours et sont de véritables best-sellers dans les magasins. Distinguez-vous par une qualité parfaite : la qualité supérieure Flandria.

Une fête des sens
Donnez une ambiance méditerranéenne à votre rayon des légumes en présentant des aubergines Flandria avec d'autres légumes-fruits colorés comme les poivrons, les courgettes et les concombres, etc. Bref, créez une fête pour les sens. Séduisez vos clients en proposant plusieurs légumes-fruits méridionaux à un prix attrayant.

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact