Plentiful 'royal' asparagus!

Asparagus remains the most popular of the early crops. Retailers can expect to find ample supplies available from the beginning of May. Flandria guarantees an outstanding product for your spring range. Why not plan some promotional deals to boost your sales in the festive month of May?

The season is underway!
Officially, the Belgian asparagus season does not start until the third Thursday in April. After all, the outside temperature is a crucial factor in getting outdoor production going. No real peaks in production are likely before the beginning of May, because conditions then start to stay warmer at night as well. The main season for the 'queen of Flemish vegetables' runs until 24 June, the feast day of St John the Baptist. The fact that availability is so limited, coupled with its very distinctive taste, makes asparagus into an exclusive delicacy.

Plentiful supplies available
Supplies during the festive period (Mother's Day, Ascension, Whit) will be sufficiently high. From the end of April/early May, the LAVA auctions are expecting substantial supplies. May is the prime month for Flandria asparagus, with growers delivering 200,000 to 250,000 kg/week in weeks 18-21. In weeks 22-23, production hovers between 150,000 and 200,000 kg/week. Growers and auctions work hard every day to ensure that the product, in every required packaging, quickly wings its way to the customers.

Superior Flandria
Thanks to the specific, labour-intensive harvesting method, asparagus is supplied to the auction on the day it is picked, wherever possible, six days out of seven. Refrigerated transport ensures that the asparagus is super-fresh when it reaches the auction. The growers strive constantly to meet the superior Flandria standards: a guarantee of quality and respect.

• fresh appearance
• absolutely white colour (no blue or pink tinge)
• the heads are firm and undamaged
• the stalks are nicely shaped and straight
• cut off to the same length
• minimum stalk length 18 cm
• the lower part is not woody, hollow or dry

More colours and tastes
Asparagus is sold under the Flandria label in white, green and purple versions. The LAVA auctions report that consumers go for the green variety first. This translates into higher production of green asparagus. While white asparagus grows under the ground and therefore retains its pearly white colour, the green type grows in the daylight. This means that it produces chlorophyll, which gives it that handsome green colour. It also tastes stronger and has a more robust texture.
A limited amount of purple asparagus is available under the Flandria label (packed in 500 g trays). Peeled, vacuum-packed asparagus is a popular product for the catering industry and is available only to order.

Strict grading criteria
Grading is important when preparing products for market, and it relies on quality, stalk diameter, colour and length of stalk.
In the case of white Flandria asparagus, the thickness is important:
+22 AA: 22 - 28 mm
+16 A: 16 - 22 mm
+12 B: 12 - 16 mm
Green asparagus is supplied under Flandria in the same sizes plus a finer size (C 8 to 12 mm).

Smaller packages are gaining ground
The choice of packaging is designed for various target groups:
• Loose in EPS-T 5 kg: for big consumers and catering.
• 5 kg boxes loose: for export.
• Trays (500 g) under film with big advantages for the retail trade: handsome presentation plus exceptional shelf life.
• Classic bundles of asparagus (500 g) tied in cotton in the middle grade.
• Limited amounts of Flandria green and purple asparagus in trays (500 g).

Pay attention to freshness
Flandria asparagus is a fantastic product in the greengrocery department! If you look after it properly, the quality and keeping properties are guaranteed.
• Present it in the original packaging.
• Do not display it in the sun or in a draught.
• Store at 1 to 5 °C and R.H. of 90-95% to prevent it drying out.
• A cover sheet will stop it drying out.

Storage tips for customers
Advise customers to eat their Flandria asparagus fresh for the unique flavour. After all, the freshest asparagus is always the tastiest! It will keep fresh for 3 to 4 days in the vegetable drawer in the fridge, if removed from its packaging and wrapped in a damp cloth. This will stop it drying out.
Focus also on the health benefits of asparagus. It is low in calories (± 25 kcal/100 g) and rich in fibre, potassium, phosphorus, magnesium, iron and zinc, and packed with vitamins. It is a good food for slimmers and also good for the skin. This makes it ideal for spring dishes.

Always different
Give your customers some tips for a festive table. The classic is of course 'asperges op z'n Vlaams', with melted butter, finely chopped parsley and hard-boiled egg. Canapés of marinated salmon and white/green asparagus tips are a culinary surprise. As well as being tasty when boiled, steamed, baked or grilled, asparagus is also great in a stir-fry. Green asparagus is perfect for a summery salad, with pasta and in delicious tarts. A tip for the customer is that green asparagus does not need to be peeled, because the skin is thinner than on white asparagus. Purple asparagus is perfect for salads and to garnish hot dishes.

The classic top spring vegetable!
Consumers are more and more in search of genuine quality products. Flandria asparagus is a super spring product in your greengrocery range, and a real star among vegetables: pretty on the plate, deliciously tasty and amazingly versatile.
The larger quantities available at the LAVA auctions coupled with the festive weekends ahead make a perfect match for promotional actions in store!

About LAVA
Products
News
Contact

Des asperges en tous points " royales " !

Les asperges restent le must des primeurs. Les commerçants peuvent s'attendre à recevoir des volumes importants dès le début du mois de mai. Flandria garantit un superbe produit pour votre assortiment printanier. Prévoyez des actions promotionnelles durant le mois de mai, mois de fête par excellence, et boostez ainsi vos ventes.

La saison est lancée !
Officiellement, la saison des asperges belges ne commence que le troisième jeudi d'avril. La température extérieure est en effet un facteur déterminant pour le lancement de la production de pleine terre. Le véritable sommet de la production est attendu pour le début du mois de mai seulement, quand les nuits se font plus chaudes. La haute saison de cette " reine des légumes flamands " se poursuit jusqu'au 24 juin, fête de la Saint-Jean. Leur disponibilité limitée et leur goût exceptionnel font que les asperges sont une délicatesse exclusive.

Disponible en quantité
L'offre sera suffisamment grande pendant les jours de fête (fête des mères, Ascension, Pentecôte). Dès la fin avril - début mai, les criées LAVA devraient recevoir des volumes importants. Mai est le mois des asperges Flandria par excellence. L'approvisionnement atteint 200 000 à 250 000 kg par semaine pendant les semaines 18-21. Pour les semaines 22 à 23, la production fluctuera entre 150 000 et 200 000 kg par semaine. Les producteurs et les criées veillent à ce que la production soit livrée chaque jour aux clients dans l'emballage de leur choix.

La qualité supérieure Flandria
Étant donné la méthode de récolte intensive en main-d'oeuvre, dans la mesure du possible, les asperges sont acheminées au jour le jour vers les criées, six jours sur sept. Le transport frigorifique conserve la fraîcheur optimale du produit. Les producteurs font des efforts permanents pour respecter les normes supérieures imposées par le label Flandria : une garantie de qualité et de grand respect du produit.

• Apparence fraîche.
• Couleur blanche parfaite (pas de teinte bleue ou rose).
• La tête doit être ferme et intacte.
• Les tiges sont bien formées et rectilignes.
• Coupées à égale longueur.
• Longueur minimale des tiges 18 cm.
• La partie inférieure de la tige ne peut être ligneuse, creuse ou sèche.

Des couleurs et des goûts plus variés
Le label Flandria propose des asperges blanches, des asperges vertes et des asperges violettes. Les criées LAVA attestent que le consommateur opte de temps à autre pour la variante verte. Cela se traduit par une augmentation de la production d'asperges vertes. Alors que les asperges blanches se développent sous la terre et conservent ainsi leur belle couleur nacrée, leurs cousines vertes poussent quant à elles à la lumière. C'est ainsi qu'elles produisent de la chlorophylle et qu'elles prennent une teinte verte. Elles développent aussi un goût plus marqué et une texture plus ferme.

Le label Flandria propose un volume limité d'asperges violettes (en raviers de 500 g). Les asperges épluchées, emballées sous vide, sont un produit apprécié des cuisines de collectivité. Elles sont disponibles sur commande uniquement.

Un calibrage strict
Le calibrage est une étape importante de la préparation à la commercialisation. Il se fait en fonction de la qualité, du diamètre et de la longueur des tiges, ainsi que de leur couleur.

Les asperges blanches Flandria sont disponibles en plusieurs calibres :
+22 AA : 22 - 28 mm
+16 A : 16 - 22 mm
+12 B : 12 - 16 mm

Les asperges vertes proposée sous le label Flandria sont présentées dans les mêmes calibres, auxquels s'ajoute une taille plus fine (C, de 8 à 12 mm). 

Les petits emballages gagnent du terrain
Le choix de l'emballage est harmonisé en fonction des divers groupes cibles.
• En vrac en EPS-T 5 kg : pour les gros utilisateurs et l'horeca.
• En caisses de 5 kg en vrac : pour l'exportation.
• Les barquettes (500 g) sous film offrent des atouts de taille pour le commerce de détail : belle présentation et excellente conservation.
• En bottes classiques (500 g), entourées d'un fil de coton en calibre moyen.
• Offre limitée d'asperges vertes et mauves Flandria en barquettes (500 g).

Soignez la fraîcheur
Les asperges Flandria, un magnifique produit dans le rayon des légumes ! Des soins attentifs en garantissent la qualité et la conservation.
• Présentez-les dans leur emballage d'origine.
• Ne les exposez jamais en plein soleil ou aux courants d'air.
• Pour éviter qu'elles ne se dessèchent, conservez-les à une température de 1 à 5 °C et dans une humidité relative de 90-95 %.
• Une feuille de protection préviendra le dessèchement.

Conseil de conservation à l'intention de vos clients
Conseillez à vos clients de manger les asperges Flandria quand elles sont bien fraîches, c'est ainsi qu'elles expriment pleinement leur goût unique. Les meilleures asperges sont les plus fraîches ! Elles se conservent 3 à 4 jours dans le tiroir à légume du réfrigérateur, hors de leur emballage, placées dans un tissu humide. Vous pouvez ainsi éviter le dessèchement.
Les asperges ont des effets bénéfiques pour la santé. Les asperges sont pauvres en calories (±25 kcal/100 g), mais riches en fibres, potassium, phosphore, magnésium, fer et zinc. Elles sont également riches en vitamines. Elles favorisent l'amaigrissement et sont bonnes pour la peau. Elles sont donc idéales pour les plats printaniers.

Toujours différente
Donnez de chouettes conseils à vos clients pour leurs tables de fête. Le classique par excellence est évidemment les " asperges à la flamande ", arrosées de beurre fondu, parsemées de persil finement haché et d'un oeuf dur émietté. Du saumon mariné aux asperges blanches/vertes fera une bouchée apéritive surprenante. En plus de la cuisson à l'eau, à la vapeur, sautée ou grillée, les asperges conviennent aussi aux préparations au wok. Les asperges vertes conviennent parfaitement aux salades estivales, aux pâtes et aux tartes salées généreuses. Conseils à l'intention de vos clients : il est inutile d'éplucher les asperges vertes, car leur peau est plus fine que celle des asperges blanches. Les asperges violettes conviennent tout particulièrement aux salades et en garniture de plats chauds.

Le légume printanier par excellence !
Les consommateurs recherchent de plus en plus de vrais produits de qualité. Les asperges Flandria sont un superbe produit printanier dans votre assortiment de légumes et un must absolu parmi les légumes : belles dans l'assiette, délicieuses au goût et extrêmement polyvalentes dans la cuisine.
Les volumes plus importants disponibles sur les criées LAVA et les week-ends de fête qui approchent sont deux excellentes raisons pour mener des actions promotionnelles en magasin !

Lava
Flandria
Nieuws
Contact